We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep returning year after year - that about says it all!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kabetogama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting
12723 Northern Lights Rd., Kabetogama, MN 56669   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CABIN & BOAT PACKAGE DEAL
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kabetogama
Minneapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We keep returning year after year - that about says it all!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The breathtaking and panoramic views of God's creation here are surpassed only by the friendly, outgoing, catering personalities of the staff. They make you feel at home the minute you arrive. Fishing is better in spring and fall but as a family, we enjoy the many water activities that the resort and the lake have to offer. We have been coming here for at least 6 years and wouldn't trade one minute of it. On a few occasions, we have even been able to witness the magnificent northern lights! Our kids our older now, but they do offer activities for smaller children to give parents a break. If you're looking for quiet, serene setting with good fishing possibilities, this is your place. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Have stayed at the Northern Lights Resort three years running for a weekend in the fall.
Beautiful resort, all the amenities, The managers Heidi and Harlan do such a spectacular job that we always have them to the cabin for a big meal. How often does that happen anywhere else? The owners Pat and Tom Ossell are definitely top shelf and go way above what is necessary to insure a fabulous stay. Usually we like to try different resorts but are so enamered with NLO that we reserved the biggest cabin they have for next summer and are inviting our children and grandchildren to share our unforgettable experiences. We surely will have stories for the holiday get togethers from the trip. Maybe we can get Tom to sleep with the little ones in the tree fort. Love this place and have recommended it to all of our friends and family.

Dave and JoAnne Ebnet
Hoyt Lakes, MN

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Amazing location, beautiful site, fabulous hosts and comfortable cabins - beautifully appointed. A REAL get-a-way. Not to be missed !

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Our family, My brother in-law, wife and son along with the five of us, sent a wonderful week long family vaction at Nothern Lights Resort. Upon arrival, you could just tell that alot of work and tender care was put into the entire resort by the owners and staff: not a thing was out of place: grass was freshly mowed, fresh firewood was placed in the pits, boats were all spotless and the reck hall, playground, cool diving tower & water trampoline were all welcome sights for our kids (and us adults too...but our eyes were brightened by the dock-side sauna!). Our cabin was in perfect for all of us, clean and well maintained with welcoming decore and furnishings with a "up north" theme. The week was sent enjoying all the amenities, but most of all the time with family was priceless and many memories were made! Thank you NLR...we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Northern Lights Resort is a great get away when traveling in Northern Minnesota. The cabins are clean, the views are breath taking and our Hosts (Heidi and Harlan), Yes they made sure we knew them by name, will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. There's something for everyone in your family to enjoy; Fishing, blueberry picking, swimming, hiking, ATVing or just sitting by the lake with a book. (And a glass of wine) Northern Lights has become a family tradition we look foward to every year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have experienced Lake Kabetogama for the past 18 years. The last 16 years we have stayed at Northern Lights. Through this time there was an ownership change, and Tom & Pat continued the traditions we came to lovewith the previous ownership. They hired Harlan & Heidi, who are excellent managers, and keep everyone well satisfied. Each year we see updates to the cabins--some cabins this year, and others the next. The resort is always clean, and well staffed. The harbor, and dock system keeps our boat safe from any weather. The amenities in each cabin are exactly what is needed, and if not, Harlan and Heidi will see that you are satisfied. The cabins are also very clean, and just what you need. We will be back for our time in "heaven" in 2010, and many years thereafter!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Searching for a new experience, my wife and I work camped at Northern Lights for the summers of 2008 and 2009. Harlan and Heidi, the managers, each year improve the cabins and maintain them throughout the summer to assure the guests have a trouble free vacation experience. The comments we heard both summers included the following: The seclusion and peacefulness of the lake and woods provided a wonderful family time. The availability of fishing equipment and knowledgeable guide service made the fishing very rewarding. Children had toys and bicycles available and could ride them free of any traffic. The tapes and DVDs entertained at night while the days were spent with families reconnecting with each other. The lodge allowed families to play and share with each other. We met a number of families and friends who return each year to renew acquaintances or family bonds. Two wedding parties booked several cabins for their wedding. The sandy beach provided a great space for toddlers. The sauna was used by teenagers after they enjoyed the big blowup water toys. The grills and fire pits by each cabin were used most every night. Within driving distance was a bear sanctuary and an underground iron mine tour.
Being at that resort was a rejuvenating experience not only for all the guests with whom we interacted but also for us. It was a pleasure to see the families enjoy each other and be reluctant to leave. We found the northern woods and community friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting

Address: 12723 Northern Lights Rd., Kabetogama, MN 56669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Kabetogama
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kabetogama
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Outfitting

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting to your Saves list