We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - has a great view of Lake Kabetogama” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kabetogama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting
Save Saved
You added Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting to your Saves list
12723 Northern Lights Rd., Kabetogama, MN 56669   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kabetogama
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location - has a great view of Lake Kabetogama”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort located near the north end of Lake Kabetogama. Nice setting. Beds are not very good, too soft. Staff is not very helpful or friendly. Maybe they are tired after a long summer. We have stayed at other resorts at Voyageurs with much better service. The Moose cabin is nicely located on the resort property

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McMurray, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We lived in northern MN on the Iron Range for a time and did alot of fishing and camping. We've been back several times since moving and I have to say this was our best experience. Kabetogama is always our choice because we know we will catch fish.

We stayed in the newly remodeled Teton Cabin at the Northern Lights Resort. The cabin had an open floorplan for the living room, dining area and kitchen, 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, a screen porch and deck. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a Saturday barbeque for a charity donation and a Sunday night ice cream social. The dock was staffed from 7am to 8pm with help getting into and out from the dock and someone to clean your fish. Anything you needed in the way of bait or ice was self help and charged to your cabin.

The weather was surprisingly hot for northern MN, high 80's and into the 90's, for the end of August. Fishing started out slow but it was steady all week. Caught some big northerns and walleyes and enough smaller walleye and sauger to have a fish fry.

Had a great time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Resort has wifi but don't count on a cell signal until you are out on the main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Moose cabin at Northern Lights Resort. It has a fabulous view of Lake Kabetogama. If you are tall be prepared for your feet to hang off the edge of the twin beds, they seemed a bit short. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils. The only thing they didn't have that we needed was a colander. Bring a towel for the floor because the second bathroom has an odd shaped shower and water tended to sneak out from under the shower curtain - or just use the shower in the first bathroom that has a tub connected to it. We really liked the cabin. We rented a pontoon boat while we were there. They helped us dock it at the lodge area or we could dock the boat on our small dock in front of our cabin during the day. They offered to clean any fish we caught. Unfortunately we didn't catch anything. We had kids ages 8, 10, 11 and 15 with us. They participated in the Kids Quest programs and enjoyed them. They have a library of VHS and DVD's that you can check out for free so if the weather or bugs keep you inside you have plenty of choices of what to watch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a lot of water activities for the kids - hydro bikes, canoes, etc. Unfortunately the temps were high 60's/low 70's so the kids didn't go in the lake to test out all the equipment. Sure looked like fun though. Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somonauk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at NLRO for the 2nd yr. in a row and it was just as lovely as before! The first few days were rainy but the last few made up for it! We did catch a few more fish than last year but not as many as we thought we would (might have a little to do w/a 4 yr. old being on the boat?) but it is such a peaceful place to be and enjoy! We stayed in the Northern cabin this yr.as the Muskie wasn't available. Very clean and nice!! The queen bed in the one bedroom was a little uncomfortable for me and I slept in the twin instead. The chipmunks were a big hit again and the girls(4&13) even got to see a turtle laying it's eggs. The Eagles are my favorite and we saw one eating a seagull. Never knew they would eat a gull but now I do!! Also caught my first Walleye it was 18 inc. so we had to release it but it was fun to catch! We had a great trip and it went way to fast again. Still no time to hike but maybe next year. Thanks to all who are there and run the place for another great vacation!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

When we drive 5 hours up to the northern country, we do so for a variety of reasons. Some folks like to get up early and fish, some like to commune with nature and spend time swimming and hiking, and some folks just like to sleep in.

Well, 2 out of three isn't bad.

We enjoyed our cabin at Northern Lights, and most of the staff we met were SO helpful and kind, but the retreat is setup for folks to spend a week there, and if you deviate from this by - oh, wanting to stay over on Saturday - you'll pay with loud mowers and leaf blowers outside your window at 7am.

Apparently 7am on Saturday is the only time they can do the mowing and leaf blowing, or so I was told by one staff member who replied to my low-key complaint, "I shall direct your comments to our management..." in an 'offended concierge' accent which was meant to relay his contempt for the slovenliness of down-stater city folk who can't get with the 7am lawn manicure program.

We had a great time, but it's pretty sad when our busy street in St. Paul city proper is quieter than Voyageurs National Park (and has less gas-fueled noise, at that!)

Room Tip: The Bass Cabin is on the direct road to the boat ramp, so expect a LOT of trailers going by early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somonauk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

What a great time we had at Northern Lights! All of the staff was wonderful and friendly. The cabin was beautiful and clean. All the comforts of home except a/c which we only really needed one or two nights but there were fans so it wasn't unbearable. Over all we had a wonderful vacation we wished we had another week to stay as the lake is so big it took a couple days to explore and find good honey holes to fish, but we had fun seeing the wild life and had chipmunks that would eat out of our hand come to the deck of our cabin. Our two girls (12& 3) loved it!! The water tower was fun for our 12 year old and our 3 year old had fun on the beach, I was looking forward to going on a hike but never made it as we stayed on the water so much. Just one more reason to go back!!! So glad we went !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Although I've been fishing "Kab" for nearly 30 years, this is the first time I've stayed at NLRO. My oldest son took advantage of the Iraq/Afgan veterans discount and he, his younger brother and I spent a great week with great people (Heidi & Harlan), superb weather each day, beautiful scenery to enjoy and FANTASTIC walleye fishing. I would recommend Northern Lights to anyone interested in enjoying what "God's Country" is all about. Our thanks to the owners and managers who made this trip possible. Definitely coming back SOON !

Steve, Jeff & Scott Peasley

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting

Address: 12723 Northern Lights Rd., Kabetogama, MN 56669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Kabetogama
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kabetogama
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Outfitting

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Lights Resort & Outfitting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.