We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Gluten Free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Romano's Macaroni Grill
132 Brandon Town Center Dr., Brandon, FL 33511
(813) 685-6530
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 247 Restaurants in Brandon
Cuisines: Italian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Gluten Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice atmosphere, great gluten free and friendly server :) Took children and worked out fine, they have a rainbow of crayolas!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rivervie
1 review
“What Happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I used to love the ambiance at Macaroni Grill, and this location was no different. But it has been going down hill. Tonight I decided to give it a final shot and wish I hadn't. Macaroni Grill must be pinching pennies, because it shows, beginning with mismatched uniforms (jeans), dirty glassware, to the listless wait staff. We used to get pesto in olive oil with our bread, tonight we got pepper. No freshly grated cheese with our pasta either. I believe I saw a manager on the floor, but he did not bother to stop by the table to check in with us or any other guest that I noticed. This Macaroni Grill has lost its charm and eye for details - and this customer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One out of 3 in our party enjoyed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Long wait time, server was ok but food was not good. Husband is Celiac and has to have gluten free. One reason we chose them is gluten free pasta. The GF pasta was not cooked properly and somewhat unedible. Our granddaughter was anxious to go here for the alfredo sauce dishes. She was highly disappointed, too thick,etc. I had the chicken parm and have to say it is as good or better than Olive Garden. Although portions were small and prices were large. Having a vocalist singing was nice and also the fresh baked bread. It seems they could be great with a little work but not now.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the second time I have tried to eat here with friends while passing through the area (tfirst time the wait was an hour so we went somewhere else). This time the parking lot was empty but we still waited 10 minutes for a table. The food was the same as other Macaroni grills. Service was ok, but they great about explaining/handling the wait. Time from ordering to food delivery was slow. The menu lists "Regional Beers" (in addition to common brands) but the wait staff didnt know this option was on the menu and could only name Miller and Heineken as possible regional beers (not a big deal, but probably indicative of a bigger in staffing or menu options). Long and short of it, food is OK, but plan on an hour and a half minimum. If you dont have that, look somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The empty parking lot should have tipped us off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We thought the empty parking lot was because it was a Tuesday night at 9:00. Little did we know.

The server was polite and friendly, although sort of goofy. Too help her clear the table after appetizers and wine, she turned the wine glass upside down on the table paper, spilling wine onto the paper.

The non-pasta menu choices were limited.

The ledge above the booth was covered with dust.

The food quality and taste was poor at best.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.