We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT GOOD!!! Never AGAIN!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Grand Regency Blvd, Brandon, FL 33510 (Formerly Homestead Tampa / Brandon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Brandon
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“NOT GOOD!!! Never AGAIN!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

my first experience at this chain, Extended Stay America, was not a good one. I sure the other locations are different(better or worse), but this location in Brandon(Tampa), Florida had outside entry room doors(like a motel). rooms were average size, average clean, average bedding!!
for $60.00/a night, I have stayed in ALOT BETTER!! for me, this is a $39.99 truckers special. speaking of trucks, both mornings I was awakened by a diesel semi-truck coming thru the parking lot. the average patron is a construction worker/foreman with average age of 50. I saw no women staying here. don't blame them, especially with the outside room door entry.
I ran into one gentleman(for lack of another word) who barely had his jeans zippered, which is pertinent since this was the only clothing he had on. and yes, he went into the hotel office(the office door was barely on its hinges) in this attire. NEVER AGAIN!!!
(the rooms did have a full-size refrigerator, coffee maker and stove for extended stays).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate that you mentioned our fully equipped kitchen and hope you used this amenity towards your advantage. We sincerely apologize that you had to experience such noise during you stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, we are going to designate a certain area for truck drivers to park, this way other guests just as yourself would not be disturbed.

We really thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at bnd@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    3
    14
    15
See reviews for
14
11
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed twice when my son came to town for a visit. Rooms have always been clean. Love the kitchenettes. They even provide a few pots and pans and plates. Very happy with both stays. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Carla - Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms as we strive to provide 100% satisfaction for all our guests. We are also glad to hear that you found our fully quipped kitchens useful and enjoyable.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

hallways smell like straight hp urine. hallways are unkept and nasty. inside of the room is ok. strange odor but not bad. its livable. the manager looked good tbough so thats about it ................................................................

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Mike - I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We sincerely apologize for your experience while walking down our hallways, the smell you described is truly unacceptable. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am working with the staff to ensure our common areas are well kept and odorless moving forward

I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at bnd@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very upset with this purchase thru Priceline!!!! First you bid one price for a room for myself, my husband & our 2 1/2 year old daughter...... but you get to the hotel and they give you one Full size bed.... no way are all going to fit.... of course, for 2 beds (not much bigger!) it's another $10 per night! No longer a deal!!!
Only the beginning........... Beds are hard as a ROCK!!!! We had bugs and lizards running around the room! NOT at all clean! It has a kitchen, with one cup and one mug, one cracked and Dirty!!!
The shower would not stop running.... nothing like hearing that all night, but it did blend in with all the other noises we heard all night. Never had my daughter wake up so much during the night because she was scared!!!
If we weren't a family on a budget, we would have definitely left!!! So very sorry we wasted our $$ and vacation on this hotel. :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I would like to apologize for any confusion that may have occurred with Priceline. When a reservation is made through Priceline, the room type given includes a queen size bed. If this is not a good fit for our guests, we do offer an upgrade for a small fee as a convenience to our guests. I would also like to apologize that there were cleanliness and maintenance issues with your room. It is not our practice to rent rooms that are not in line with our company's high standards. To prevent this from happening again, I am reviewing our cleaning practices with the entire staff and reinforcing our standards as well as policies. I am also placing extra stress on my staff to report any maintenance issues so every room can be given the proper attention.

I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please contact me, at bnd@extendedstay.com, if you would like to discuss this further. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Living locally and loving the area I live in, I mistakenly assumed this hotel would live up to my standards .It did not. Overall, it was fairly clean but there were roaches in the room (in the kitchen area, in the air conditioner and in the bathroom). Did I stay?? NO WAY!!!

Room Tip: my tip.... Choose ANOTHER hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Diana - I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The situation you described regarding the level of cleanliness in your room is truly unacceptable. In response to your feedback, I am going to address these issues with the staff and will work directly with them to improve our cleaning procedures as well as inspection policies moving forward.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I would be happy to speak with you further. If you would like, please contact me directly, at BND@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I reserved this room through a third-party hotel site (think Priceline, Hotwire) and was clearly lured by the extremely low rate offered and the fact that I would be staying longer-term. This is yet another case of getting what you pay for. While I can honestly say that I got what I paid for, it wasn't much. Biggest complaint? Housekeeping. You typically see this with studio-type properties designed for longer-term stays, but it's very clear that there's virtually no attention to detail when it comes to cleaning in between guests. The first thing I did (and I recommend you do this too, if you happen to stay here) is to strip off the bedspread and replace it with a blanket of my own. Throughout my stay I continued to find trash that did not belong to me, and I'm sure the floor was absolutely filthy. Be aware rooms are only serviced ONCE per WEEK during your stay, so be prepared to do some cleaning of your own. The nearest convenience store is a mile away, and the nearest grocery store is nearly two miles away. Think long and hard before staying here--even though the price might be right.

Room Tip: This hotel backs directly up onto Interstate 75. Rooms closer to the front office will be quieter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Pat - I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am so disappointed that you were not happy with your stay. Please accept my apology. Your comments were reviewed by the staff and we held a meeting based on those comments and highlighted the fact that the small details can not be overlooked. We strive for cleanliness and I want to make sure your experience is not repeated. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I would be happy to speak with you further. If you would like, please contact me directly, at BND@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

the staff is awesome and very sincere. i had to clean the room as it appeared to be just a quick run threw. Vacuum cleaner was a must and i stripped the bedding for fresh with no questions. They need to renovate badly. I really wished they would have had more discount for extended length of stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. We appreciate you acknowledging our wonderful staff as they make us very proud. Please accept our apologies that you experienced some minor problems with your room. We are working towards a complete renovation on our hotel this year, giving us a fresh new look.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon

Address: 330 Grand Regency Blvd, Brandon, FL 33510 (Formerly Homestead Tampa / Brandon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brandon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Tampa / Brandon Hotel Brandon
Extended Stay America Brandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Tampa - Brandon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.