We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach holiday, despite the weather!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Bamboo South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Club Bamboo South to your Saves list
Club Bamboo South
2412 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly Club Bamboo Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great beach holiday, despite the weather!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed in unit 221 for a week at the end of June. Unit was clean and small bathroom and kitchenette were perfectly adequate for our needs. One small criticism was that the a/c unit was within a couple of feet from the pillow on one side of the bed, and the noise and airflow too much to allow sleep if turned on; we Brits. not used to this problem! Only solution was to sleep with it off which made for some uncomfortably hot nights!
Tropical Storm Debby blew during most of our stay but we enjoyed the island's restaurants and read and also managed a few walks.
Met the owner, Michelle, who is lovely and very easy to deal with. All in all we found the resort ideal for a relaxing beach holiday, especially when the weather behaves as it normally does!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    9
    2
    10
See reviews for
21
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

They put us in an annex down the road near an empty strip mall (not on the beach). The room had NO phone and NO AT&T cell service and NO wireless access. Worse, we discoved the bathroom window didn't lock at about 7pm. Window was on first floor and opened into a neighborhood. Office was closed by about 5 pm and owner refused to guarantee another (safe) room. Still worse, owner has refused to refund our credit card thefull amont and told us it was a "safe neighborhood". Manager Ciindy lied in the response to our credit card company claiming we stayed until midnight. Checked into a lovely Comfort Inn about 8 pm - we have proof.

This place is a disaster - be warned.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you in the annex and check the locks. Beware of booking.com - there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Club Bamboo South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Sorry for all the confusion, please notice when you are booking rooms on Booking.com they have 2 rooms avaialble, 1 Overlooking and 1 King Studio across and down the street, there were no rooms available overlooking or you would have been moved immediately, Cancelation policy is no refunds, but we did refund some of your money, even though it against policy, and you were also offered to come back to one of the rooms Overlooking. The room was completely used, bed sheets were turned down, shower was used and towels were on the chairs and the floor. Microwave was also used and coffee pot still on. Sorry, if you had walked in and walked out we probably would not have any dispute. The window you are speaking of is only 2x4 only enough room to fight your head into, we did address all your concerns, and we are so sorry you were so angry. The Manager Cindy did not lie to any CC company, Booking.com policy - No refunds. The credit card company requested the confirmation paper that was sent to you. There is no Strip mall next to this property nothing is abandoned anywhere on the island. The property does not list having phone service or Wi-Fi, in any of the rooms Please do not confuse us with a hotel it is a condo with individual owners. Our office hours are posted Mon- Sat 9-6 and Sunday 10-5. Please consider reading every detail of the rooms before booking as this may help you from being so angry. some people to prefer those rooms. Hope all your vacations are better ones. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

this hotel was great! the staff were helpful and nice. the room itself was very clean and spacious which was great because it rained for our entire stay so we were in it alot. the location was beatiful right on the water. it had a great view of the gulf. my family and i already have plans on staying here again next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 9 day vacation in Bradenton Beach on Anna Maria island. We stayed in Unit 218. The Unit was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable. The kitchen area had stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. There was a full size fridge and microwave. The bathroom was not big, but was clean! Each Unit is individually owned and managed by a management company. The Office staff is very helpful and willing to answer your questions. The grounds are kept very clean, including the pool area, which was not at all crowded while we were staying there. The landscaping is also nice. The best part is that you are right on the beach, with Anna Maria's fine white sand and a beautiful view of the Gulf water!! We like to stay at different places, but would not hesitate to stay here again:-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in room 120 and it was discusting. The room was trashed. Stains all over the carpet, stains on the bedspread, a hole in the wall, a tampon left in the bathroom, tub all stained, tub drain didn't work, knobs missing from the bureau, just a horrible experience. They charge you a $50 service fee and then you are instructed to strip the bed and wash the dishes before leaving! We stayed ther 2 years ago and the place was wonderful - not this time. The pool area was nice and the view was great, but the room was not worth the money. There are better deals on the island. I would never stay here again or recommend anyone else stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Club Bamboo South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hi, I am so sorry you had a awfull room, we do not manage that unit 120 at Club Bamboo South, that is another rental company located across the street from our office, we hope you will return to Club Bamboo South in one of our rooms as it is unfair to judge all the rooms because of room 120. We are the onsite Rental company at Club Bamboo South, some of our rentals are 218, 221 that were mentioned in some of the other reviews. We want you to enjoy your stay please come back.Our number is 941-778-7800. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just left and it has a nice beach. The room was OK, the bed not so comfortable. The pool area was very over crowded and that was a little problematic. Found the beach very nice.

Room Tip: The pool was over run with people, ask when the mattress was changed last
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I just finished a 2 1/2 week stay in unit 221....and it was fantastic! A great room overlooking the heated pool and Gulf of Mexico. This unit is owned by Michelle who has a website for her three units in the building: http://mybeachfrontrentals.com I love that we got more than we expected! Michelle lives in the area and was a great at answering our questions about the unit prior to our arrival. The room has new appliances...stainless steel frig, stove and microwave. Includes a toaster, coffee pot and blender as well as all basic kitchen utensils, pots & pans, plates, bowls, glasses, etc., etc. Beautiful tile floors throughout and includes a vacuum cleaner, broom, etc. Also nice table on our balcony with four chairs. The property looks to have just been re-landscaped with a great patio deck around the swimming pool with lots of lounges and chairs and the whole area was hosed down and keep spanking clean. The beach at this location has very white sand and is very wide. There are two charcoal grills if you would like to barbeque. I would highly recommend this property and unit for anyone who wants an enjoyable, hassle free experience.

Room Tip: There are no bad room locations at this property. It only has about 6-8 rooms on each of the two fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Bamboo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bamboo South

Address: 2412 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217 (Formerly Club Bamboo Resorts)
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new managment.Club Bamboo South - Where relaxation and fun begin! We are located directly on the Gulf of Mexico on Anna Maria Island, Florida. We are in the village of Bradenton Beach, just a mile North of Longboat Key, and close to all that Sarasota and Bradenton have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Club Bamboo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bamboo Hotel Bradenton Beach
Econolodge Bradenton Beach
Club Bamboo South Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Bamboo South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.