We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Post Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Post Motel to your Saves list
Pelican Post Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   202 First Street North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great base to explore the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Heading north from Naples we made a last minute decision to stop here for the night on our way home. We were originally supposed to spend a week in the area but due to family needs we had to cancel. We arrived tired and were not disappointed. The beds were very comfy and the sheets clean and crisp. We were in a small studio room with kitchenette and 2 double beds. The room was a very good size with plenty of room. Walk in shower and and window unit a/c that worked perfectly. We were very sorry to leave the next day mid-morning and were so please we were trying to figure out how we could stay longer. We loved the location. VERY easy walk to the gulf beach and restaurants. We explored the island a bit before heading home. I was trying to decide between 3 or 4 star and decided on 4 because of cleanliness, location and charm! Would definitely return to the Pelican Post.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Pelican Post. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. We liked the location (if not directly on the beach.) The room could have been stocked with more items. Not like a hotel where you get soap, shampoo, conditioner in case you left yours at home. We had to ask for a few other items (which were provided.) We had the King Deluxe and appreciated the separate bedroom and the kitchenette. There is only an air conditioner in the bedroom though so when the door is closed it get warm in the living area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I booked my brother, his wife and their young teen for a room for 3 nights at the Pelican Post so they could drive down from Gainesville to visit with our mom, who is elderly and was on the island for a stay in her trailer home nearby. Both my brother (not picky) and my sister-in-law (a bit picky) said they were very pleased with the stay. It's not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable and the owner/managers were friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and cool, and the small kitchen gave them a place to keep their drinks and snacks. The price was very affordable for the area and I will definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Let the reservation person know exactly who is in your party so they can recommend a room configurat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

When staying in Bradenton Beach the Pelican Post is a great place to stay, is clean, staff is friendly and will assist on anything, one block from town, close to the beach. Don't pass this by, it is a gem.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My family of 5 stayed in the "Cottage" a few weekends ago. It was perfect. It's definitely a taste of Old Florida, but it's clean and charming and situated in an amazing area. It's not really touristy, everyone is so laid back and friendly. You're a block away from Bridge street which has some amazing dining and shops. A 2 minute walk in one direction gets you to the beach, a 2 minute walk in the other direction gets you to the pier. If you are accustomed to really fancy hotels, leave those expectations at home. This is not the Ritz Carlton. But it has way more charm, and for my money, I'd rather stay in a place like Pelican Post.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and had a very nice stay.

We arrived late and although the office was closed there was a note left for us with where to park and showing us to our room. The rooms are fairly small and kitsch but very cute an clean, with everything you could need.

Our room had a (small)double bed and a single bed in the bedroom, with a living area/kitchenette in the front. The grassy area in front of the motel has seating and a bbq area which is very pleasant.

The location of the motel is excellent. In walking distance of the lovely beach and several bars/restaurants.

We would recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

For those of us who love the "old Florida" this is the place to be. Built in the 50's the Pelican retains the charm of the laid back days. Clean, comfortable, and perfect location. An easy walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. The owners are friendly and helpful and continue to make improvements on the property. We had a kitchen stocked with everything we needed, comfortable bed and a nice sitting area.
Anna Maria hasn't been overtaken by over building and still has the small town local atmosphere and the Pelican Post rests in the heart of it. Thank you for a great stay and we will return!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pelican Post Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Post Motel

Address: 202 First Street North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Post Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Post is just what you need for an easy, relaxed and affordable beach vacation! Just 150 steps from the gorgeous Gulf beach in the charming little town of Bradenton Beach on Anna Maria Island, you'll have a pleasant ground floor studio, apartment, or suite near not only the beach, but the fishing pier, and little shops and restaurants. You can count on a nice, clean, cozy room or apartment, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Post Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Post Hotel Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Motel Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Post Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.