We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Post Motel

Save Saved
You added Pelican Post Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Post Motel
202 First Street North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Bradenton Beach
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had read the reviews before going here with my son for a few days recently. It's low cost, but clean and the management is nice. The door sticks, the wifi rarely worked for me (despite near heroic efforts by the management. The only time it worked was when all of their computers were shut down for the night - no idea what that's about and if any readers have a clue, I am sure they would welcome your advice because they really are nice!)

Great location though - just off Cortez so it's easy on, easy off the island. I watched the traffic line crawl the entire time I was there but didn't have to be stuck in it. Bottom line - if you're a no frills type of person and just want to get away, it's fine. Not sure I would have gone there with anyone who has high standards though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair_7, Owner at Pelican Post Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I can confirm that we fixed the sticking door in #4 only to be confronted with #6 (identical door) doing exactly the same this morning! No problem though as I still have my drill in the truck.

As for the wi-fi – the techies say the problem is set to get worse. Guests are no longer happy logging on with their laptop. Today, everyone wants to connect with their ipad and their android phone as well, and the routers simply cannot cope....... But, we have a cunning plan…….. Also, many guests will immediately look toward the provider (in this case – us) instead of checking their security settings to ensure their device is receptive to an open access channel.

Also, thank you for telling other travelers that the Pelican Post has a great location and yes, the Pelican Post is functional. We look out, toward our ‘big bucks’ cousins at the Hilton, sigh wistfully and say, “maybe someday……” In the meantime, the Pelican Post is ‘comfy’ and cleanliness is still our priority, along with a ready smile and a very, warm welcome.


Alastair N Nicoll – Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a party of 5 - 4 adults & 1 child. We wanted somewhere in a great location as we were only there for 1 night. The Pelican Post does exactly what it says on the tin - it's very reasonably priced, clean, and has everything you may need. If you're after luxury then it probably isn't for you but if you want central location at a good rate then it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I liked it, but my husband did not care for it. He thought it was dated, but that didn't bother me. Cleanliness is my top priority and that it was. We were able to walk to play putt-putt and if you are a Moose Lodge member, there is a nice one on the beach, within walking distance. They serve food at the Moose, too and they also have wifi. We only stayed one night, but we did find not far away, a very nice bike/walking trail. We enjoyed it a lot and we got to see 3 pink flamingos! That was a first for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Across the road from the beach, this place was one of the coziest AND the least expensive place we found. It is a very nice area and safe. Loved the kitty cats that greeted us. We felt right at home at this place. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Nice homey atmosphere. Quiet. Friendly.would come back again. Kitchenette in room. Lounge chairs outside and bbq grill. Even a friendly visiting egret! Thank you. recommend visiting blue martini.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hubby & I needed a quiet weekend to ourselves but didn't want to go too far from home. Bradenton Beach on Ana Maria Island is only about an hour away and we had stayed at the Pelican Post a few years ago and decided to go back again. We were not disappointed we had a nice clean room,and of course great location from the pier to fish.The only con was could'nt figure out how to get wifi and no one was in office anytime we went by there. But that was ok because we were there to relax afterall. A big thumbs up to Pelican Post once again. Also there is free trolley on main road a block away that will take you all over Ana Maria Island, so you never have to use your car till you are ready to go home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My daughter & I needed a place that was economical, close to the beach and also to my parent's house. The Pelican Post is an older building, motel style, but kept up well and very clean. It is a nice quiet location and just a short walk to the beach and other places. If you are looking for super fancy, this is not for you, but if you are looking for an economical, quiet, charming place close to the beach, this place is for you! We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
Quiet, Beach, B...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Pool, Charming...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.5 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Beach, Budget...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#7 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Post Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Post Motel

Address: 202 First Street North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Post is just what you need for an easy, relaxed and affordable beach vacation! Just 150 steps from the gorgeous Gulf beach in the charming little town of Bradenton Beach on Anna Maria Island, you'll have a pleasant ground floor studio, apartment, or suite near not only the beach, but the fishing pier, and little shops and restaurants. You can count on a nice, clean, cozy room or apartment, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Pelican Post Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Post Hotel Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Bradenton Beach
Pelican Post Motel Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Post Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.