We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun discovery ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun discovery ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first time staying here and will definitely stay again. The location is fantastic. The staff was very nice. There are restaurants within walking distance. Very short walking distance, at that. Our room was impeccably clean. There were plenty of towels. Beach towels are also provided. They offer a light breakfast of take away foods which is so nice. The beach access is literally right across the road. There are great beach chairs provided right on the sand.

There is an ice machine but make sure to bring quarters because it's not free. The beds were comfy and large. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that our room had a
"stale-ish" smell to it. It wasn't a deal breaker but it definitely lingered.

Other than that I can't say enough about the place. We will return.

Give it a chance:)

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
smithville, ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 6 nights in January 2015. We had a room with a kitchenette. The room was spacious and clean! They offer a grab and go breakfast which you can eat on the patio or in your room. There is fresh coffee and tea available all day long. The pool is secluded and heated so can be enjoyed even if the weather isn't the warmest. We enjoyed the beach for long walks. This is a great place to stay. The staff is really friendly and go out of their way to help you. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 9 nights over Christmas and I would recommend it for excellent location and good value for money. Best of all, it was spotlessly clean with a constant supply of fluffy white towels. The bed was large and very comfy, although it was a wee bit disconcerting having the bed right next to the window while people are walking past outside!

Room Tip: The ground floor terraces get the sun, but look over into the parking bays. We had a top floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family of four stayed here for a week over new years. The room was clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was stocked with dishes and everything you need to make a light lunch during your day at the beach. The cleaning staff was great, they even did our dishes! The staff was so very kind and went out of their way to give us all the info. we needed to get around on the free trolly and enjoy every second of our vacation. The after hours check in was easy and conveneint. The grab-n-go breakfast had many options and made an easy start to each day. The beach is fantastic and just across the road, the drivers on the island are respectful of people crossing and stopped for us. You can rent wave runners, paddle boards, kayaks, right on the beach. We found it easiest to have cash on hand. The hotel supplies beach towels that you can exchange for clean ones anytime. There is a computer in the lobby to print coupons for parasailing or boarding passes, whatever. They have grills available so you don't have to eat out every day. The pool is heated and fun after dark when the ocean is too cold.
Everyone on the island was so nice and happy. This was a great vacation! My only suggestion for the room is that they add more towel racks for wet towels and suits. Other than that, I would recommend this place to my friends and fam!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Even though we had to move rooms 3x in eight nights ( once planned another due to a mix up) it was a enjoyable stay. For seven nights we stayed in the ocean front rooms. They were spacious, well equipped with plates, utensils, cooking ware ect. The motel is very clean ( thanks to the three tireless ladys who appear to work 7 days a week in housekeeping) the ocean front room is nice for the extra space but you can't open the glass doors to the patio facing the ocean due to the road noise. Wifi is also very weak in these rooms also.
On our last night we stayed in a regular room. It was small with a bar fridge and microwave but ok for a night.
The beach is across the rather busy road but it beautiful.
I would stay again

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Resort is located across road from beach. Great rooms in section 2 & 3. Section 1 is old. Rooms are large with every thing you would need. Very clean. Make your reservation directly through the resort for a better value in bldg 2 or 3. Heated pool. Great family resort.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify a room in building 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We stayed there for one night. The room was nicely decorated, very clean and just across the street from the beach. The beach is great - nice and wide, there are lots of birds, especially pelicans flying about and you can see porpoises right from the beach. The pool is adequate. The beds are comfortable! they are an absolutely smoke free motel and they do not have any handicap friendly rooms! Free breakfast and tables outside was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort

Address: 1301 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new exterior renovation, to be completed in February 2014 will make this property one of the best values on Anna Maria Island. Silver Surf is located across the street from it's own private beach where you can simply read a book and view dolphins playing in the water, have a beach massage or rent a jet ski, kayak, paddle boards or catamaran!Catch the free trolley and view the island without having to drive your car, or walk one to one of the "locals" favorite places for breakfast, lunch, dinner and music.We look forward to welcoming you to Island Time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.