We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Bradenton Beach
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice staff !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Sara is Absolutely amazing ! She was very helpful in every aspect . The accommodations was nice ,very clean room ,short walk to the beach and they provide your beach chairs ... Only thing that would have made my stay nicer would have been for the pool to be a little more heated and to have some type of chairs to sit outside of your hotel room

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
39
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

It's a simple but perfect place. Nothing fancy about the accommodations but the kitchen is fully equipped and we were comfortable with 4 people in our room. (Queen bed plus murphy queen bed and 2 'chair' single beds.) They are across the street from their private beach - you get beach towels when you check in and on the beach you can get chaises for free. The staff was helpful and let us stay parked there after our checkout (there are parking passes provided at check in). The pool is very nice. It is convenient to all the shops and restaurants either by walking, car or the trolley. (Beware, parking is not easy in Bradenton Beach.) Yes, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and will come back to visit us. Make it soon, you can never get enough of the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Silver Surf. Clean & comfortable. Unbelievably comfortable bed (agree with an earlier reviewer - Hilton-like). Friendly & responsive staff. We walked to breakfast & dinner several times. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: A few rooms have 'turn around' bathrooms & therefore slightly lower prices. We chose on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you, we look forward to you visiting us again soon! Keep your eye out for our summer specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed four nights and found it to be a great experience, will stay again. Very clean, nice staff, free parking, walk to beach, didn't think we should pay for ice though, that should come with room price. Thank you for the nice time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Paris, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The atmosphere at Silver Surf was very laid back. Our room was not cleaned for 3 days in a row. We had to borrow TP and Towels from the neighboring room. It seemed like the staff had forgotten about our 1 room. We brought 8 guests to the resort at the same time, and I would think that we would have at least received the standard customer service. The Window mounted Air Conditioner left water on the deck where entry into the room was impossible without stepping in a puddle. The office does not open until 9 AM, so the advertised continental breakfast was unavailable until then. If we return to Bradenton Beach, we will seek better accomodations.

Room Tip: Great Beach Access is all this place has going for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Mr Robert I., I am sorry that you found our hotel to be less than expected. We do provide daily maid service (which includes making your beds, replacing towels, cleaning your dishes, the bathroom/vanity area and mopping of your floors) when we are allowed in the room by the guest. I have been able to successfully find your reservation based on your first name, last initial and city, state and it was noted on our housekeeping report that you did receive service your first day and then two of your three days with us, a young man in the room requested "towels only" one day and declined service the next day on your behalf. This will explain why everyone else in your group received maid service except for your room. Our complimentary "grab & go" continental breakfast is not meant to replace your early morning breakfast, although we find most people are using it as their breakfast and we are happy to see that many, many people appreciate this feature that, as of this time, cannot be found anywhere else on the island except at our sister hotel, Bridgewalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent one night here and truly enjoyed our visit and relaxed. The accommodation was fine and the beach and sun were right out the front door! The staff was most helpful and very friendly, and Sarah especially stood out. The beds were huge and comfy. Only one slight difficulty: once the hide-a-bed for our girls was open, it was very hard to walk between the front of the room and the back where the bathroom was. Otherwise, this was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Resort has a card with hotel rules. Hotel does not enforce the rules. We stayed in room 111. Room 110 cooked meals on a barbaque right outside the room. Easy to see. They also had unauthorized guests until 2AM two nights in a row.
The office does not have convenient hours.. I could not lodge a compliment or even chck out at 8 AM.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I am disappointed that this guest took his complaint to Trip Advisor without notifying our staff of any issues during his stay.

We do issue our "Family Friendly Conduct" and the information to contact a Manager (after the office closes), upon arrival. Our "Family Friendly Conduct" does outline expectations of our guests so to align with our desire to have a family friendly environment. The purpose of this is to also express to all our guests that they have a right to expect the same from the guests around them. Our property does have limited hours on our Front Desk, however, we do have Managers on call at all times to address issues day and night, just like you would have at any hotel with a Frontdesk clerk. If this same situation had happened in a hotel, staffed by a clerk on the Frontdesk, the expectation is that the guest would have to contact someone to notify them of the issue and it would be addressed immediately. We have the same process in place and we are confident in our process when it is used. I am sad that this guest didn't use the process so that we could make his stay more pleasurable. We are here to serve our guests and it is our primary goal to create fond memories of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort

Address: 1301 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new exterior renovation, to be completed in February 2014 will make this property one of the best values on Anna Maria Island. Silver Surf is located across the street from it's own private beach where you can simply read a book and view dolphins playing in the water, have a beach massage or rent a jet ski, kayak, paddle boards or catamaran!Catch the free trolley and view the island without having to drive your car, or walk one to one of the "locals" favorite places for breakfast, lunch, dinner and music.We look forward to welcoming you to Island Time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.