We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, close to. Beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Bradenton Beach
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay, close to. Beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed four nights and found it to be a great experience, will stay again. Very clean, nice staff, free parking, walk to beach, didn't think we should pay for ice though, that should come with room price. Thank you for the nice time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    47
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
43
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Paris, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The atmosphere at Silver Surf was very laid back. Our room was not cleaned for 3 days in a row. We had to borrow TP and Towels from the neighboring room. It seemed like the staff had forgotten about our 1 room. We brought 8 guests to the resort at the same time, and I would think that we would have at least received the standard customer service. The Window mounted Air Conditioner left water on the deck where entry into the room was impossible without stepping in a puddle. The office does not open until 9 AM, so the advertised continental breakfast was unavailable until then. If we return to Bradenton Beach, we will seek better accomodations.

Room Tip: Great Beach Access is all this place has going for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Mr Robert I., I am sorry that you found our hotel to be less than expected. We do provide daily maid service (which includes making your beds, replacing towels, cleaning your dishes, the bathroom/vanity area and mopping of your floors) when we are allowed in the room by the guest. I have been able to successfully find your reservation based on your first name, last initial and city, state and it was noted on our housekeeping report that you did receive service your first day and then two of your three days with us, a young man in the room requested "towels only" one day and declined service the next day on your behalf. This will explain why everyone else in your group received maid service except for your room. Our complimentary "grab & go" continental breakfast is not meant to replace your early morning breakfast, although we find most people are using it as their breakfast and we are happy to see that many, many people appreciate this feature that, as of this time, cannot be found anywhere else on the island except at our sister hotel, Bridgewalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent one night here and truly enjoyed our visit and relaxed. The accommodation was fine and the beach and sun were right out the front door! The staff was most helpful and very friendly, and Sarah especially stood out. The beds were huge and comfy. Only one slight difficulty: once the hide-a-bed for our girls was open, it was very hard to walk between the front of the room and the back where the bathroom was. Otherwise, this was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Resort has a card with hotel rules. Hotel does not enforce the rules. We stayed in room 111. Room 110 cooked meals on a barbaque right outside the room. Easy to see. They also had unauthorized guests until 2AM two nights in a row.
The office does not have convenient hours.. I could not lodge a compliment or even chck out at 8 AM.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I am disappointed that this guest took his complaint to Trip Advisor without notifying our staff of any issues during his stay.

We do issue our "Family Friendly Conduct" and the information to contact a Manager (after the office closes), upon arrival. Our "Family Friendly Conduct" does outline expectations of our guests so to align with our desire to have a family friendly environment. The purpose of this is to also express to all our guests that they have a right to expect the same from the guests around them. Our property does have limited hours on our Front Desk, however, we do have Managers on call at all times to address issues day and night, just like you would have at any hotel with a Frontdesk clerk. If this same situation had happened in a hotel, staffed by a clerk on the Frontdesk, the expectation is that the guest would have to contact someone to notify them of the issue and it would be addressed immediately. We have the same process in place and we are confident in our process when it is used. I am sad that this guest didn't use the process so that we could make his stay more pleasurable. We are here to serve our guests and it is our primary goal to create fond memories of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We loved our stay at Silver Surf. Great location, which is a few minutes walk to shopping and restaurants. Ten minute walk to Bridge St and the main attractions. Also there is a private beach right across the street with free chairs, sunshades, and cabanas. The hotel also has a heated pool, which was clean and warm. And there is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel.

During our trip on the island, we heard frequently that the hotel had recently been remodeled. It seems the remodel was a success. The rooms are clean and updated.

Please note that we stayed in a standard non-upgrade room, and it was great. Our room had a king sized bed that was Hilton quality, super plush and comfortable, lots and lots of pillows. The room was also fashioned with full sized sofa, HD flat screen TV, new large tile flooring, a pullman kitchenette with microwave, mini-fridge, sink, and full set of dishes, glasses, flatware (that we didn't find at first, the dish set was in a lower cabinet). They also provided several extra sets of towels, so we didn't have to get room service everyday or run over to the front desk, which was nice. Wi-fi was a little slow sometimes, but worked for the most part.

Customer service was great; Angie was especially very helpful and pleasant. She seemed to genuinely care about the property and guests.

Tip: We didn't bring a vehicle and used the trolley and our own two feet for transportation, and that's all we needed. There are two trolleys that run the length of the entire island, and stops are timed approximately 20-30 minutes apart depending on the number of riders; the more riders, more the stops, the more stops, the longer the run. If you see the trolley pass your location, I would recommend timing it to 18 minutes for the next trolley, in case it is running early.(BIG TIP: The trolley will not stop unless you're standing at the stop. If you're between stops or even running toward the stop and waving your hands wildly, kiss that trolley goodbye.)

Room Tip: North building adjacent to the front desk is sunnier, which is a better representation of the weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for a destination wedding and it was truly awesome. The rooms were huge and most importantly SPOTLESS! They had a fridge, sink, counter area and microwave not to mention a great size bathroom with another mirror and counter area outside the bathroom. I also have to say they had the most comfortable mattresses I had ever slept on! The pool was great, the private beach right across the street was spectacular as well. Cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the building across from the main office on the 2nd floor! Just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are so pleased with your comments. Our housekeeping staff at Silver Surf is awesome. You made their day by reporting this to everyone who accesses our property on Trip Advisor. We know how incredibly important it is to maintain the cleanliness of our rooms and our property. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first tip to AMI and I spent a few weeks researching places to stay while we were here. I am happy I chose Silver Surf. They just finished updating the outside and it looks very nice, the room we were in was a studio with small kitchen with little dining table and chairs, 2 chairs a Queen bed and a murphy bed (we didn't use the MB) the bathroom was a stand up shower which was fine. The room was very clean and enough room for the 2 of us. Check in was fast and the staff was helpful with suggesting places to eat. The pool was clean and enough chairs , tables for people to sit at, we only went to the pool once. The private beach was awesome. They just finished a re nourishing project there and added about 100 feet of sand to shoreline, so the beach is huge. The water was beautiful and clean. Location of the hotel is good, middle of island and walking distance to Cortez bridge and Bridge street. The trolley pics up right in front of hotel also. When we return to this paradise Silver Surf will definitely be where we stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We look forward to your return. Great pics of the newly remodeled Silver Surf and the awesome, huge beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort

Address: 1301 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new exterior renovation, to be completed in February 2014 will make this property one of the best values on Anna Maria Island. Silver Surf is located across the street from it's own private beach where you can simply read a book and view dolphins playing in the water, have a beach massage or rent a jet ski, kayak, paddle boards or catamaran!Catch the free trolley and view the island without having to drive your car, or walk one to one of the "locals" favorite places for breakfast, lunch, dinner and music.We look forward to welcoming you to Island Time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.