We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Surf assessment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Bradenton Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Silver Surf assessment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Resort has a card with hotel rules. Hotel does not enforce the rules. We stayed in room 111. Room 110 cooked meals on a barbaque right outside the room. Easy to see. They also had unauthorized guests until 2AM two nights in a row.
The office does not have convenient hours.. I could not lodge a compliment or even chck out at 8 AM.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I am disappointed that this guest took his complaint to Trip Advisor without notifying our staff of any issues during his stay.

We do issue our "Family Friendly Conduct" and the information to contact a Manager (after the office closes), upon arrival. Our "Family Friendly Conduct" does outline expectations of our guests so to align with our desire to have a family friendly environment. The purpose of this is to also express to all our guests that they have a right to expect the same from the guests around them. Our property does have limited hours on our Front Desk, however, we do have Managers on call at all times to address issues day and night, just like you would have at any hotel with a Frontdesk clerk. If this same situation had happened in a hotel, staffed by a clerk on the Frontdesk, the expectation is that the guest would have to contact someone to notify them of the issue and it would be addressed immediately. We have the same process in place and we are confident in our process when it is used. I am sad that this guest didn't use the process so that we could make his stay more pleasurable. We are here to serve our guests and it is our primary goal to create fond memories of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We loved our stay at Silver Surf. Great location, which is a few minutes walk to shopping and restaurants. Ten minute walk to Bridge St and the main attractions. Also there is a private beach right across the street with free chairs, sunshades, and cabanas. The hotel also has a heated pool, which was clean and warm. And there is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel.

During our trip on the island, we heard frequently that the hotel had recently been remodeled. It seems the remodel was a success. The rooms are clean and updated.

Please note that we stayed in a standard non-upgrade room, and it was great. Our room had a king sized bed that was Hilton quality, super plush and comfortable, lots and lots of pillows. The room was also fashioned with full sized sofa, HD flat screen TV, new large tile flooring, a pullman kitchenette with microwave, mini-fridge, sink, and full set of dishes, glasses, flatware (that we didn't find at first, the dish set was in a lower cabinet). They also provided several extra sets of towels, so we didn't have to get room service everyday or run over to the front desk, which was nice. Wi-fi was a little slow sometimes, but worked for the most part.

Customer service was great; Angie was especially very helpful and pleasant. She seemed to genuinely care about the property and guests.

Tip: We didn't bring a vehicle and used the trolley and our own two feet for transportation, and that's all we needed. There are two trolleys that run the length of the entire island, and stops are timed approximately 20-30 minutes apart depending on the number of riders; the more riders, more the stops, the more stops, the longer the run. If you see the trolley pass your location, I would recommend timing it to 18 minutes for the next trolley, in case it is running early.(BIG TIP: The trolley will not stop unless you're standing at the stop. If you're between stops or even running toward the stop and waving your hands wildly, kiss that trolley goodbye.)

Room Tip: North building adjacent to the front desk is sunnier, which is a better representation of the weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for a destination wedding and it was truly awesome. The rooms were huge and most importantly SPOTLESS! They had a fridge, sink, counter area and microwave not to mention a great size bathroom with another mirror and counter area outside the bathroom. I also have to say they had the most comfortable mattresses I had ever slept on! The pool was great, the private beach right across the street was spectacular as well. Cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the building across from the main office on the 2nd floor! Just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are so pleased with your comments. Our housekeeping staff at Silver Surf is awesome. You made their day by reporting this to everyone who accesses our property on Trip Advisor. We know how incredibly important it is to maintain the cleanliness of our rooms and our property. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first tip to AMI and I spent a few weeks researching places to stay while we were here. I am happy I chose Silver Surf. They just finished updating the outside and it looks very nice, the room we were in was a studio with small kitchen with little dining table and chairs, 2 chairs a Queen bed and a murphy bed (we didn't use the MB) the bathroom was a stand up shower which was fine. The room was very clean and enough room for the 2 of us. Check in was fast and the staff was helpful with suggesting places to eat. The pool was clean and enough chairs , tables for people to sit at, we only went to the pool once. The private beach was awesome. They just finished a re nourishing project there and added about 100 feet of sand to shoreline, so the beach is huge. The water was beautiful and clean. Location of the hotel is good, middle of island and walking distance to Cortez bridge and Bridge street. The trolley pics up right in front of hotel also. When we return to this paradise Silver Surf will definitely be where we stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We look forward to your return. Great pics of the newly remodeled Silver Surf and the awesome, huge beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelleys Island, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Silver Surf Resort three times now, and in one week it will be our fourth. The staff at Silver Surf, from the desk staff and management to the housekeepers are always pleasant and wonderful. We always have a fabulous time!
The rooms are very clean, but basic. Sure the bathrooms are a little small, but how much time do you really want to spend in the bathroom while on vacation. The mini fridge is perfect for some snacks and drinks. They provide a small amount of silver ware and plate, which is nice. There is a 12 cup coffee pot, which is important to me as I am a major coffee drinker! The suites we stay in have a wonderful little patio where I like to drink coffee in the morning and a cocktail in the evening. The pool is always clean and beautiful! The beach access couldn't be any more convenient!
In comparison to some of the other resorts in the area, the Silver Surf is very reasonably priced and fair. The office has limited hours, yes, but so do most if not all of the resorts on Anna Maria. There used to be no breakfast (which I understand there is now, yay!) but there isn't at most of the other resorts. If you do your research, you will find the location of Silver Surf is perfect on the island, and that it really is one of the best spots!
Just remember as with most things in life, you get what you pay for. Again, Silver Surf is very reasonable for what they provide. You can pay more money for a bigger room, a bigger bathroom, a bigger resort. But my advice is this. You are on vacation. Go outside and enjoy the beach, the pool, go for a walk to Bridge Street and go in the little shops. Stop somewhere and sit outside and have a drink (alcoholic or not). Go parasailing. Go do something and stop worrying about the size of the bathroom!!! We love this place and we love the island!! Can't wait to be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Our sincere gratitude for your post and support of our property! We love our guests and we want nothing more than for all of our guests to feel the way you do about Silver Surf, and we strive for this every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Was very disappointed in our room at this resort...you could hear the people talking in the next room as well as the TV. Parts have been remodeled, but the bathroom needed some work. I felt the price was high for the room we stayed in. The person at the front desk who made the reservation for us was wonderful!, however there is no one at the front desk after 6:30pm until 9:00am. We would have liked breakfast, but it wasn't available until 900am and we needed to leave at 8.

Room Tip: No restaurant or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelarBradenton, General Manager at Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We did just finish an extensive exterior renovation and we updated the interior of the rooms with the exception of the bathroom. We do have short hours at the hotel as most of the island hotels here on Anna Maria Island do. I am sorry that you missed the complimentary "grab and go" breakfast in the lobby. It is an amenity that is common to flagship hotels, however I believe we may be the only property on Anna Maria Island that offers this free of charge. I hope you were able to enjoy the heated pool and the private beach during your stay and that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort

Address: 1301 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new exterior renovation, to be completed in February 2014 will make this property one of the best values on Anna Maria Island. Silver Surf is located across the street from it's own private beach where you can simply read a book and view dolphins playing in the water, have a beach massage or rent a jet ski, kayak, paddle boards or catamaran!Catch the free trolley and view the island without having to drive your car, or walk one to one of the "locals" favorite places for breakfast, lunch, dinner and music.We look forward to welcoming you to Island Time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.