We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for the casual traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Gate Resort

Save Saved
You added Queen's Gate Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Gate Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Bradenton Beach
South Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great choice for the casual traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Queens Gate is not a 5 start resort or high end lodging in an way. It's a cute, conveniently located old Florida property thats pretty well maintained and has great staff.

We're in a poolside cottage with a full kitchen. It's old, quirky, reasonably clean. Very nice shower. Has everything you'd need but the room really isnt why you're here in the first place.

The pool area is immaculate, inviting and cute, pool is sparkling clean. Theres a great yard and covered sitting area too. Beach towels are provided for treks across the street.

The beach is right across the street and fantastic restaurants nearby (don't miss The Beach House for dinner). There's a number of little shops and restaurants right around Queens gate and it's not nearly as congested as the main touristy area up north in Anna Maria (Holmes Beach).

Staff here is very friendly, make you feel right at home. Kathy the manager and Tim the clerk have been pleasures to deal with.

Only nit I have is the canned air freshener they opened in the room prior to our arrival; it was very strong and smelled like they were trying to hide bad odors. I threw away the freshener and the air cleared up nicely, room smells perfectly clean (except the trash can, that could use a little attention).

There must be a lot of places in this area like Queens Gate but I'm happy here and you will be too. Price was right, room is OK, grounds are very nice, good staff, great location. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    24
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
40
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have stayed at Queen's Gate resort the past 7 years. We go every summer and are never disappointed. The service and staff are excellent and they go out of their way to accommodate us. The newer pavilion is nice for gatherings and we love the pool.

Room Tip: Cottages are great if you need a kitchen and extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The room was cute, but not what we needed. There was a fridge, but only one sink for bathroom and efficiency area. It was not a deep sink, too shallow to wash dishes in, so we had to get things at the store that were prepackaged. It became frustrating after a couple of days.

The bathroom was cramped; no bath mat was provided. The pool was very clean, but some of the chairs were dirty. The beach is across the street, and it is really nice. The trolley stop was just past the motel, in a pretty good location.

The AC was cold when on and warm when not, and we could not get a comfortable steady temp setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just returned from spending two nights at Queen's Gate. We reserved the queen efficiency room, and it was fine for our needs. Great location, just across the street from the beach. The pool and gazebo were very nice. We forgot to bring beach towels and were happy to see they were provided in the laundry area, along with beach chairs and umbrellas, should you need them. This place could be even better with a few upgrades to the rooms. The decor is really dated, and our room had a definite moldy smell (which is probably hard to avoid at the beach, but still unpleasant). But overall I would definitely recommend this for a beach getaway!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wonderful room with all kitchen conveniences and appliances; comfortable bed. Pool right outside the door and beach across the street. Restaurants within blocks, including a great place for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We just returned from staying a week at Queen's gate on Anna Maria island. There were two families with a total of 13. The pool was a great get-away and convenience for our group. The additional gazebo gave a perfect place for our families to do some bbq'ing and a place to chill. Tim was awesome at making sure we had everything we needed and went out of his way to help us feel at home. He gave great restaurant selections, fishing tips, and a pleasure to talk to. We made some great memories on Anna Maria island and Queen's Gate was a big part of that!
Always and adventure,
The Garrett Smith Family
(Byron Center, MI)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

When I started planning a surprise 60th birthday trip for my husband to AMI, I had a very difficult time finding a place to stay that did not require 1 weeks stay. I finally found the Queens Gate. After speaking and e-mailing Kathy at QG I made our reservations. We arrived and Kathy came to meet us. She gave me a tour of the grounds and our double efficiency. Kathy is the Queen of QG. Our room was just as the pictures I had seen on their website and here on Tripadvisor. It was very quiet too. My only issue was I could not connect with the free WiFi on my phone unless I was out of our room 4 and headed towards the office. The yellow exterior of the buildings was so "Florida".
Kathy knew it was my husbands birthday and while we were out celebrating, she put a birthday cake in our room for him with sweet note! Where have you ever experienced that kind of hospitality before??? This was so nice!
Our porch with rocking chairs looked out onto Gulf Ave and the beach access. The traffic can get heavy and loud.
The next time we vacation on AIM we will stay there again. A great small and friendly find on an island full of large impersonal rentals.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Gate Resort

Address: 1101 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen's Gate Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full of old world charm in a lush tropical setting, Queens Gate is reminiscent of barefoot days gone by. So very quaint and relaxing. Take a refreshing dip in our spacious, sparkling heated pool...Kick back, relax and barbecue your fresh catch from one of the island piers or charter boats in our beautifully furnished lighted and covered patio area. Laundry facilities are available. We welcome you for a relaxing getaway whether for a day, a week, or a month! Helping to make your beautiful memories possible, is our pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Queen's Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Gate Hotel Bradenton Beach
Queens Gate Hotel
Queen's Gate Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Gate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.