We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband's surprise birthday get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Gate Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Gate Resort to your Saves list
Queen's Gate Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“My husband's surprise birthday get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

When I started planning a surprise 60th birthday trip for my husband to AMI, I had a very difficult time finding a place to stay that did not require 1 weeks stay. I finally found the Queens Gate. After speaking and e-mailing Kathy at QG I made our reservations. We arrived and Kathy came to meet us. She gave me a tour of the grounds and our double efficiency. Kathy is the Queen of QG. Our room was just as the pictures I had seen on their website and here on Tripadvisor. It was very quiet too. My only issue was I could not connect with the free WiFi on my phone unless I was out of our room 4 and headed towards the office. The yellow exterior of the buildings was so "Florida".
Kathy knew it was my husbands birthday and while we were out celebrating, she put a birthday cake in our room for him with sweet note! Where have you ever experienced that kind of hospitality before??? This was so nice!
Our porch with rocking chairs looked out onto Gulf Ave and the beach access. The traffic can get heavy and loud.
The next time we vacation on AIM we will stay there again. A great small and friendly find on an island full of large impersonal rentals.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    28
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
45
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed two nights recently at Queen's Gate. I loved the pool, the location, the very close walk to the beach and the little deck/rockers right outside our room. Parking right in front of our room was nice too. We like the locally owned, Old Florida feel of this place. Improvements in A/C and mattresses would easily bump this place up to an excellent rating for a 'motor lodge'. Favorite restaurants while there: large 'tiki hut' restaurant across the street, Maria's (?) right down the street (crab cake eggs benedict!) and The Blue Marlin on Bridge Street! Also, the view from the two piers on Anna Maria were worth every bit of traffic head ache we experienced on a Saturday driving in! Soooo beautiful....

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from the road. Traffic noise is a little bad if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I just spent 4 nights at the resort. Kathy was great and made us feel welcomed. Room had 2 beds, small table and 2 chairs, dishes, toaster, microwave, small refrigerator, and coffee maker. It worked for us as we were able to have our breakfast before we started our day. Beach was across the street behind a row of apts. and etc. Great location for going to either Sarasota or Bradenton. We had the beach during the day and the theatre or shopping at night. Only problem we had was the traffic. It was always bumper to bumper on the island so you had to double your time to get anywhere. We will definitely come back here in the future, preferably when it's not peak season.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in the King cottage #10 for a week and a half in Jan/Feb. The cottage was perfect, it had a comfy King bed, nice beachy decor, updated bathroom and was very clean and fresh. It was right beside the pool with a nice patio. The pool was perfect temperature with a nice deck area with plenty of loungers, well kept grounds, a shuffleboard and the beach just a few steps away across the street.
Kathy and Tim and Lynn took great care of us, they are awesome friendly people and make you feel at home.
We spent a lot of time in the mornings and evenings sitting in the gazebo, it is very comfortable and a perfect spot to read and visit. The internet signal was a bit weak in the cottage but is great on the patio and in the gazebo. It was a little cool for a few days and as a student I had to take work with me, and Kathy made sure that there was fuel in the patio heaters there so I could do my homework in cozy comfort, that was soo appreciated!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Queen's Gate for our nephew's destination wedding and definitely recommend it. When we arrived a little early, Tim checked us in and made us feel very comfortable and welcome at the hotel. When we got into our room, it smelled like it was actually cleaned with cleaning products, not just a quick vacuum and sheet change between guests! We stayed in one of the poolside cottages and loved having the kitchen and extra bedroom and space. The beds were really comfortable. I'd recommend the cottages if you have more than 2 people in your room. Tim made sure we had everything we needed several times during our visit and was so nice to our kids. Kathy was very nice too. It is right across the street from the beach and there were plenty of towels, chairs and beach toys to borrow to take over to the beach. There were also pool toys for the kids to play with in the heated pool. There were a few other groups from the wedding also staying at the Queen's Gate and there was a nice gazebo we could sit under and visit and a grassy area for the kids to run around on. The free island shuttle stops across the street too. We thought it was a great beachy casual hotel for a fun island trip and are glad we picked the Queen's Gate to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We made a last-minute decision to take a New Year's trip to Anna Maria from Indy. Although we knew of the Queen's Gate Resort from previous trips, we had never stayed there. As others have noted, this place does not have the brassy décor and neatly-trimmed but off-putting hedgerows one finds on Longboat Key and further South. It is clean, compact, quaint, and friendly. Then there is Kathy--always ready to help with things forgotten. The pergola and pool are hidden gems in the back.

Room Tip: Try for the cottage. If you are getting a room, higher numbers are further from the road. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've been staying at the Queen's Gate each year since 2003 and have never been disappointed. Each year, we've found that the intimate resort retains its Old Florida charm while adding modern amenities and a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The King Cottage is particularly attractive, and the resort manager, Kathy Wooten, is always ready and willing to make the stay super-pleasant. The grounds are spacious (complete with a gazebo), the pool is heated, the beach is just across Gulf Drive, and the cottage itself is perfect: a great room with a king-size bed, a small bedroom with a queen-size bed, a fully stocked kitchen and dining area and a reserved parking space. And it's pet-friendly! If you're looking for the high-rise glitz of Sarasota and Longboat Key, you won't find it here. But if you want a relaxing, charming, super-friendly place that's convenient to wonderful restaurants, this is your spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Gate Resort

Address: 1101 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen's Gate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full of old world charm in a lush tropical setting, Queens Gate is reminiscent of barefoot days gone by. So very quaint and relaxing. Take a refreshing dip in our spacious, sparkling heated pool...Kick back, relax and barbecue your fresh catch from one of the island piers or charter boats in our beautifully furnished lighted and covered patio area. Laundry facilities are available. We welcome you for a relaxing getaway whether for a day, a week, or a month! Helping to make your beautiful memories possible, is our pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queen's Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Gate Hotel Bradenton Beach
Queens Gate Hotel
Queen's Gate Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Gate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.