We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for our destination wedding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Gate Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Gate Resort to your Saves list
Queen's Gate Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Longwood, Florida
1 review
“Stayed here for our destination wedding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Queen's Gate Resort is a wonderful place to stay in Bradenton Beach. We stayed there during our destination wedding and we couldn't have been happier. Great value, clean rooms, accomadating staff, etc. Kathy, the property manager, was absolutely awesome! She went out of her way on several occasions to make our stay perfect. We will definitely be coming back for our anniversaries. Thanks Kathy and Queen's Gate!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    28
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
45
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We've never been to AMI other than the summer months, so we decided on a whim to take a quick getaway mid-November. And boy were we blessed ! It started lightly raining the moment we arrived @ Queen's Gate & continued for about 2 hrs. Although we were a little bummed & ready to start enjoying the island life, it was kinda seren & calming to start out our week, by unwinding. We had a driver, Phil (great guy), booked by the Mgr., Kathy, pick us up @ Sarasota airport, since we'd not rented a car & planned to walk & use the trolley, uring our stay (which worked out very well, by the way.) The driver charges $35.00 one way. Very nice option to have, if you don't drive to AMI. We stayed in deck room #6. Very nice (as all the rooms we'ved stayed in are.) They include the House, deck #1, deck #6 & cottage 11. Met some great people from IN, WI, & UK @ QG. No kids this time of year...all in school. Even tho the island never seems crowed to me, it was even less this trip. Ocean was quite cool...making the heated pool feel even better ! Thnx Kathy/Mario ! Speaking of which, we got to meet Marion (owner) for the 1st time, since he's not in the state in the summer, when we're usually there. Nice guy. =) Tim was cordial as always. Sand castle building constest being put on down the road from us @ Cafe on the Beach. We saw the same stingray 2 days in a row off our beach (he had a small cut on his back is how we knew), many dolphin & had a very friendly heron who walked up to us 2 days in a row & just just by us for 1-2 hrs. Still LOVE everything about AMI & QG...will continue to come back ! Thanks Kathy, you're a doll ! Say hi to Rob. ((( hugs ))) Kevin & Luann (Indiana)

Room Tip: see my post
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay area, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The room pool and area were clean and the grounds were nice. The pool was outside our back door. It was close to the beach and in walking distance of restaurants and some shopping. It is a nice area.
The cons- Our room was not ready even though we arrived at 4pm and check in was 3pm. The beds were not made and it was discovered after taking us to the room. We waited while the beds were made. Then we had to wait for the key which he forgot to return to us and we had to search for the gentleman. All in all it was more than an hour. The futon cover was old and worn and uncomforable. The 2nd "bedroom" was more like a closed in porch and did not have separate air or airvents. Not a place to be in the middle of summer! The pool was close, but noisy until the kids checked out. They were working on some rooms and are had fixed up the bathroom, the shower was nice, but only one small bathroom for the six people they said could stay. We were told if we wanted the new towels to leave them out the back door at night and they would replace in the morning. However, no one there at night and no one replaced the towels after they were picked up. We had to ask. Love the area, not sure would return to Queen's Gate, not a good value for the price, even in off season.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just returned from a mother-daughter stay and we LOVE the Queen's Gate. Very cute, clean and comfortable poolside cottage! The location is fabulous, the grounds and pool are beautiful! Very easy access to beach. Kathy, Tim, and the owner Mario could NOT have been nicer! They went out of their way to be accomodating and helpful. It was my mother's birthday and Tim even got her a sign and a card! Where else would you find that!!?? We not only found the best place to stay on AMI(and will return), but more importantly we found new friends!! Got a great restaurant recommendation from Kathy: Hurricane Hank's! Very good food and terrific service!!

Room Tip: Really like the poolside cottages. Very roomy and comfortable, nice kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed for the weekend and looking forward to returning. Kathy was friendly and a wonderful hostess. The room was clean and totally remodeled with a quiet air conditioner. Right across the street from the beach and a short walk to dining and a Tiki Bar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I recently stayed at Queen’s Gate for 3 nights prior to Labor Day. My wife, daughter, and I were in town for a wedding and this resort was extremely close to where the reception was. I called months in advance and got a very good rate and a 10% military discount (truly appreciated).

As we pulled up, Queens’s gate is right across the street from the beach (so convenient). The backside is by the bay. We checked in with Kathy and she led us about 30 feet down the road to Cottage #9. A cute little 2 bedroom (kind of – separate bedroom has door and walls and leads outside, but walking through the main room is necessary to use the bathroom) cottage. Ample parking for 2 cars outside the room. Room is fairly large with a queen bed and pull out futon couch. Full set of dishes/stove/and table in the kitchen. Nice bathroom (lacks overhead fan though).

The resort is walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants, and everything you really need for a beach vacation.

I was a little disappointed in the service. Had to walk down to ask for fresh towels. No maid service for the three days (floors got a little sandy) and the trash would get full daily. I am not sure if I was supposed to ask for new towels or service. I wasn’t told anything when we checked in. I assumed it would be cleaned, swept, and beds made daily…..but it wasn’t so.
The other thing that irritated me, when I attempted to check out at 7 AM Sunday morning, the office was closed. A phone number was listed, but I received no call back. I had to leave the key in the room, and not get a final bill. They had no problem running my credit card without me present to settle the bill. How is it possible that someone isn’t there for you to check out, or if an issue arises? What if I locked myself out at 3 AM Sunday….how do I get back in?

Overall, with the exception of the Sunday incident and the maid service….it’s a nice place. I’d consider staying there again if my travels ever take me back to Anna Maria Island.

Room Tip: Cottage over regualr room any day of the week!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

had a great stay at this hotel. We stayed in the Kings Cottage. This included a main room with a King sized bed and a futon and a small secondary room with a double. There was also a full kitchen with a fridge, microwave, stove, sink, and small table. It was not fancy, but we weren't looking for fancy. The rooms and bathroom were clean. The pool was clean. The staff and owners were more than accomadating to our needs! We were able to have a late check out on the day that we left. It was nice to not have to pack and leave first thing in the am like you have to do in most chain hotels.
It is a very short walk to the beach, right across the street. The beach was beautiful with white sand and gorgeous sunsets.
We loved our stay with our three kids at the Queen's Gate Resort, and we can't wait to get back and spend more time there!
thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Gate Resort

Address: 1101 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen's Gate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full of old world charm in a lush tropical setting, Queens Gate is reminiscent of barefoot days gone by. So very quaint and relaxing. Take a refreshing dip in our spacious, sparkling heated pool...Kick back, relax and barbecue your fresh catch from one of the island piers or charter boats in our beautifully furnished lighted and covered patio area. Laundry facilities are available. We welcome you for a relaxing getaway whether for a day, a week, or a month! Helping to make your beautiful memories possible, is our pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Queen's Gate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Gate Hotel Bradenton Beach
Queens Gate Hotel
Queen's Gate Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Gate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.