We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill

Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill
103 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2448
+1 941-779-1930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are a small family owned and operated restaurant that specializes in fresh seafood, jerk chicken, ribs, fish tacos and some of the best curry and pasta dishes you will ever taste. we sell beer and wine along with our Banana Cabana specialty frozen cocktails and Cabanatinis. We are located across the street from the Gulf of Mexico and have a great beach and sunset view. The weekends offer live music on Fri and Sat from 7-10 and our Sunday Funday open mic from 3-6. Happy hour Mon to Fri from 3-5 $2.50 beers and drinks, $1 dogs / $5 burgers / .50 cent wings. So don't miss out, we take reservations and do take out!
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great lunch spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Return visits for us, great lunches! Friendly staff, fun local food choices, great hot dog and burgers!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks, you cant beat the lunch and happy hour deals...I think we are the best value on the island if you are looking for fun food and cheap drinks before 5 pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    58
    23
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Everything about this place was wonderful - the laid-back atmosphere, the live music, the delicious food and drinks. Excellent service. We sat at the bar and had lots of fun!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for getting it! We strive to be the most casual and fun experience on the island short of Skinny's you can't get more relaxed and casual than that. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The restaurant I had been searching for all week...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Banana Cabana was a welcome change after several days of eating cookie-cutter combinations of fish, steak, and french fries.
This restaurant is exactly what you think of when you picture a quirky little island dive. Very colorful murals on the walls, reggae music and food that is truly unique compared to the other restaurants on the island. I had a chimichanga with a side of plantains. It was quite simply the best food I had all week.
Tina, our bartender/waitress was very friendly and made good recommendations for things to do around the island. The restaurant has live music on Friday nights. I only wish I could have been able to make it on Friday, because I think I would have discovered the complete island experience I was searching for all week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for calling us a " quirky little island dive" can you let Guy Fierri know about us...diners, drive-ins and dives. That is exactly what we are going for and I appreciate the fact that you loved it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradenton, fl
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should've went some place else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Decided to go for lunch while enjoying a day at the beach. Man should we of went some place else. Surely not worth the price we paid. 2 different orders of onion rings...burnt. Fried grouper sandwich just okay, the cabana banana hamburger was alright The only thing good was the Jamaican beef patties (aka empanadas), but not worth coming back for. Will not be back that's for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for stopping in. it sounds like our chef was having a bad day and I apologize for that. I hope you will try us again and ask for Chris, I will be happy to make your next trip a 5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provincetown
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quick stop for happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Came in during the middle of the afternoon and were the only customers. We shared tacos and wings. The tacos were ok, at least the used braised meat, but didn't have to much flavor past that, I guess they really want you to use the myriad of hot sauces on the table. Wings were pretty good, and our service was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
What the heck...that is a $2 taco loaded with braised beef and served with lettuce, tomato and cheese along with our sauces....Really just OK.. that's the best deal on AMI...Thanks for stopping in ( just a little light humor ) I hope you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Cabana Caribbean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.