We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tortuga Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Bradenton Beach
Ocala
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean & Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for our 10 year anniversary. My husband has Crohn's disease and has to cook his own food, so we needed a room with a full kitchen. The kitchen was well thought-out and very clean, plus Publix is just down the road. Overall the room was nice, and I felt comfortable enough to walk around barefoot - and I haven't felt that comfortable in many hotels. The hotel buildings are crammed onto the property, but every other hotel on the island looks just as jammed in. Being located on the Northern part of the island means you don't get caught in as many traffic backups, because Cortez Bridge is just down the road. One suggestion to the Tortuga Inn: secure your WiFi! When we checked in, the person at the front desk seemed proud that a password was not needed, but that meant EVERYONE got on the WiFi every night, and we got bumped off several times and sometimes frustratingly were not able to get back on.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the top floor to avoid hearing footsteps over our head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    91
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
239
219
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here spring break 2013 and had a great time! The folks at the desk were always in a good mood (they work at the beach though, so....) It's a very clean, beautiful, and well-kept property in a convenient location. They give the option of no housekeeping to save money. We did this but our youngest got sick the first night and they graciously changed out our bed sheets gratis. They have free laundry for guests so you can clean your own towels as needed (dryers are slow but what are you going to do?). You don't have to bring beach towels because they give you tokens for one set of beach towels each day.

The pool was heated and our daughters loved it. It can get a bit crowded with spring break but never unworkable. They have a bin of toys and a cabana boy standing by with cool drinks and towels. They only ran low on beach chairs once that I can recall because it was too cool and windy to go to the beach.

The resort is across the main road from the beach. This does have fairly constant traffic during spring break but cars stop to let you cross. There's a free bus running the length of the island and there's a bike lane on either side of the road. The beach is clean and the Inn provides plenty of lounge chairs (the poor staff has to drag them back near the road and stack them each night). The sand varies from soft flour to broken shells but its a lovely wide beach with a lot of shallow water and mild waves just big enough to give kids their first taste of body surfing. There is an outfit offering water toy rentals right there. Shelling isn't great but what was on offer got our 9 year old excited.

The island is small so the inn is convenient to most everything you could need. There's little need to leave the island and you're better off staying on it because during spring break the backups to cross the causeway are loooong.

The staff worked very hard to keep guests happy. We didn't have housekeeping but they were busy as bees everywhere else keeping things looking great. For some reason the TV (full cable) got stuck in the on position so they brought in a brand new TV the next day.

We did have a couple of minor complaints. For the first 3-4 days the wifi had a horribly weak signal, dropping constantly and basically unusable. Then i think someone realized a router/repeater was offline and it improved considerably. So if you have a bad signal check at the desk and see if it can be improved. The other issue is it got a bit hot at night for sleeping. We didn't get enough breeze and couldn't work out the cooling system, but it wasn't bad enough for us to try super hard, either!

All in all a great place, a great stay, and a lot of people working hard to ensure you have a happy and carefree time on vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in studio room 247A (a Friday through Wednesday). We made arrangements to pick up our key in the after hours box. The outside and stairwells were poorly lit making it difficult to read the map to our room. There were two deadbolts on the room door. Use the key on the bottom deadbolt to open the door. Once inside, you can lock both deadbolts. The door had painted glass windows and did not have a peep hole.The room was clean with a small kitchen, but did not have a good view. If you opened the blinds, guests walking by can see directly into your room. The mattress was firm with scratchy sheets. The bathroom had a small window to open, but without an exhaust fan, the entire hotel room became foggy when someone showered. The shower had awesome water pressure. There was also a bidet. I sent the housekeeper away on Sunday because she came before noon, but she did not return again until Tuesday afternoon! The French Cafe near the front office was nice for breakfast. The beach is located across a VERY busy street, but the hotel provides free beach chairs and umbrellas to guests. There are lots of seashells. There are also two trolley stops near the hotel where you can ride around parts of the island for free. We enjoyed our trip, but wish our room had a better view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I want to start by saying the deluxe apartments in the Tortuga inn are awesome. Now that that is said, i would not really count it as a normal hotel/motel. Think of it more like you are renting an apartment at a really nice location. The service is not designed to be a hands on effort. The pools are...not the best.
I love the concept, because I enjoy a restful undisturbed vacation and that is what i get every time i go. Its pretty close to everything and the beach is amazing. Not a resort but a very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Tortuga Inn and were very comfortable there. The apartment was very clean and well appointed. With two pools to choose from they were never crowded and were well maintained. Beautiful private beach right across the street and a French bistro. What more could you ask for? The quiet rules after 10 pm on Anna Maria made for a restful stay. Thank you David and Tim and all the staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at Tortuga Beach. It's not a fancy resort, but it's very clean, well-kept, friendly, and offers an ideal location just steps from the beach and walking distance from local eateries and activities. It's perfect for families. We were in the Palm Court 2 bed/1 bath rooms - stayed in both a top and bottom floor room during our stay and liked them both. The upstairs room had an ocean view and wonderful breeze. The staff at Tortuga was accommodating and friendly, and they really provide everything you need to be self-sufficient in your own little apartment - even free laundry and internet. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose the Palm Court or Gulf View rooms and ask for a room at least a few rooms away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in apt. adjacent to pool. Very noisy with loudly closing security gates slamming shut from 9am to 10 pm. Beds uncomfortable and sleep sofa had collapsed ( discovered first evening) and wouldn't open. Furniture very dated and uncomfortable - needs to be replaced. Maids often took old towels and did not bring new! Location okay but certainly not as charming as the old world feel of the Pine Street end of the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tortuga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Resort

Address: 1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuga Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beach-to-bay resort on Florida's unspoiled Ann Maria Island. Tortuga Beach Resort offers a wide range of truly fabulous vacation rentals, many with Gulf or Bay views, plus a private white sand beach just across the street, three heated pools, pet friendly, and a 14-slip boat dock. Enjoy our new Le Petit Cafe and Tortuga Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tortuga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Inn And Beach Resort
Tortuga Inn & Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tortuga Hotel Beach
Tortuga Motel Beach
Tortuga Inn Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.