We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tortuga Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Bradenton Beach
Maple Grove, MN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in a garden condo. It was a 1 BR with a tiny view of the bay over the top of a bldg. The room was clean and had a washer/dryer. The bathroom is in the bedroom which we found inconvenient. We drove so got there at noon. Our room wasn't ready till exactly 4 pm which was a pain. Not being familiar with the area we had to find something to do for 4 hours. All we wanted to do was rest and shower but had to wait a long time. At Disney for example they ask the approximate time of your arrival and try to have a room ready for you at that time. We had to leave early due to a family illness and they were very understanding or I would rate a 3. It was so so for us. Room was over 400$ a night with tax. Not worth it in our opinion.

Room Tip: We would stay in a gulf view room if staying again but we like a room right on the beach so probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    90
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
238
219
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom/two bath on the Bayside with the semi-private hot tub. Loved the privacy and quiet side of the Bay which could be enjoyed from the patio area. Clean, friendly staff and neighbors. Kitchen adequate. Very convenient to see the area and just walk across the street to the beach! We would return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbsboro, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Tortuga Inn Beach Resort in November 2012, for five days with our friends. This was our first time visiting Anna Maria Island. We had a 2 bedroom / 2 bath deluxe apt. with a partial bay view with a screened in porch. The apt. was in the Tortuga Garden Apartment building. The apartment was very tastefully decorated and very clean! It was nice that the cleaning staff came everyday and freshened up the bathrooms and brought clean towels. So even though we stayed in the apt., it was like staying in a hotel! The pool area was kept very nice and inviting. The weather was very cool when we were there, so we only used the pool once. The beach was across the street and they provided beach towels, and lounge chairs. It was a nice beach. Our condo unit had a washer & dryer right off the kitchen. Overall, we had a great time at the Tortuga Inn.

Room Tip: Our apt. was a corner unit so we had a nice bayview from our screened in porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bdrm deluxe in the Tortuga Garden building. It was a beautiful two bdrm, 2 bath condo that was nicely decorated and very clean. We have previously rented houses for the week while on vacation. This year we decided to spend alittle more & stay here. It was well worth it. It was nice to be able to have hotel ammenities like the two pools or just grab a towel from Tortuga and just walk accross the street to the beach. We were there in mid January and had no problems getting a beach chair. The dining/living room area was big enough for us to invite family that lived an hour away to come and have dinner with us. Our rooms didnt have the updated TV's, but hopefully by next year they will be there - that's the only improvement I would make. Be sure to take a boat ride with Captain Kim on her pontoon boat (if you have six or less people) - my son loved getting off on the sandbar with her and finding shells.

Room Tip: Tortuga Gardens 2 bdrm/2bath deluxe The deluxe rooms had a nice whirlpool bath tub and a larger din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The Tortuga Resort Inn is a Paradise within a Paradise ( Anna Maria Island)! Across the street from their private beach on the white sands of the Gulf, complete with lounge chairs, sand umbrellas, and beach towels, the Tortuga offers luxury 1 and 2 bedroom condos, as well as smaller suites. The pool area is beautifully maintained in a tropical landscape. This is our second consecutive year at Tortuga, 1 week in 1012 and the entire month of January in 2013. With great food, shopping, and miles of white sand beach to walk, the Tortuga is the perfect destination for ANYONE looking for Fun-in- Sun !
In addition to the wonderful surroundings, I am most impressed by the Staff. From the very helpful and lovely ladies and gentleman at the front desk, to the cleaning and maintenance folks on up to the managing partners, David and Liz. Everyone has a sincere desire to make your stay as pleasant as possible, from recommending eateries to faxing documents. This is a MUST stay when visiting Florida !
Thank you David, Liz, and the entire Tortuga Staff ! See you next year ! !
Chip, Marguerite, and Laura, from Rhode Island

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for three nights with my wife. Beautiful property with friendly staff. We found the rooms roomy and unique with built-in book cases and beautiful artwork. Most rooms an open air central courtyard with tropical plants, palm trees, and koi ponds. Feels like staying in Hemingway's house. Our room rate was very reasonable. There are more expensive suites that face the bay or gulf. The pool is heated and the pool area is quite nice. They have a private beach just across the road with chairs and umbrellas provided by the hotel. The road is only one lane in each direction, but since it's the only north-south road on that part of the island, it can be difficult to cross because of the stream of traffic. Breakfast is not included but there is a charming french cafe on the premises that serves breakfast and lunch. . Any number of good restaurants on the island for dinner, and the Bridge Street area can even be walked to from the hotel. All in all, a little bit of paradise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January in Room T220. Price was extremely resonable.... about $160 a night. The room is very well laid out and a lot of thought went into maximizing the small space. We had a balcony that looked over the Gulf, shared by two other rooms, but no one occupied the rooms so it was very private. The La Petit Cafe was one floor down, so every morning we ate breakfast on the little balcony.

The beach is right across the street and there are jet skiis and sailboats you can rent. There are bikes and scooters you can also rent right next door. Restaurants are within walking distance.

The only negative... and it is a small one.... is that the road is very noisy with lots of trucks. With the windows closed, though, it is quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tortuga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Resort

Address: 1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuga Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beach-to-bay resort on Florida's unspoiled Ann Maria Island. Tortuga Beach Resort offers a wide range of truly fabulous vacation rentals, many with Gulf or Bay views, plus a private white sand beach just across the street, three heated pools, pet friendly, and a 14-slip boat dock. Enjoy our new Le Petit Cafe and Tortuga Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tortuga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Inn And Beach Resort
Tortuga Inn & Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tortuga Hotel Beach
Tortuga Motel Beach
Tortuga Inn Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.