We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Tortuga Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tortuga Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Bradenton Beach
Gibbsboro, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Tortuga Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Tortuga Inn Beach Resort in November 2012, for five days with our friends. This was our first time visiting Anna Maria Island. We had a 2 bedroom / 2 bath deluxe apt. with a partial bay view with a screened in porch. The apt. was in the Tortuga Garden Apartment building. The apartment was very tastefully decorated and very clean! It was nice that the cleaning staff came everyday and freshened up the bathrooms and brought clean towels. So even though we stayed in the apt., it was like staying in a hotel! The pool area was kept very nice and inviting. The weather was very cool when we were there, so we only used the pool once. The beach was across the street and they provided beach towels, and lounge chairs. It was a nice beach. Our condo unit had a washer & dryer right off the kitchen. Overall, we had a great time at the Tortuga Inn.

Room Tip: Our apt. was a corner unit so we had a nice bayview from our screened in porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    91
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
239
219
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bdrm deluxe in the Tortuga Garden building. It was a beautiful two bdrm, 2 bath condo that was nicely decorated and very clean. We have previously rented houses for the week while on vacation. This year we decided to spend alittle more & stay here. It was well worth it. It was nice to be able to have hotel ammenities like the two pools or just grab a towel from Tortuga and just walk accross the street to the beach. We were there in mid January and had no problems getting a beach chair. The dining/living room area was big enough for us to invite family that lived an hour away to come and have dinner with us. Our rooms didnt have the updated TV's, but hopefully by next year they will be there - that's the only improvement I would make. Be sure to take a boat ride with Captain Kim on her pontoon boat (if you have six or less people) - my son loved getting off on the sandbar with her and finding shells.

Room Tip: Tortuga Gardens 2 bdrm/2bath deluxe The deluxe rooms had a nice whirlpool bath tub and a larger din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The Tortuga Resort Inn is a Paradise within a Paradise ( Anna Maria Island)! Across the street from their private beach on the white sands of the Gulf, complete with lounge chairs, sand umbrellas, and beach towels, the Tortuga offers luxury 1 and 2 bedroom condos, as well as smaller suites. The pool area is beautifully maintained in a tropical landscape. This is our second consecutive year at Tortuga, 1 week in 1012 and the entire month of January in 2013. With great food, shopping, and miles of white sand beach to walk, the Tortuga is the perfect destination for ANYONE looking for Fun-in- Sun !
In addition to the wonderful surroundings, I am most impressed by the Staff. From the very helpful and lovely ladies and gentleman at the front desk, to the cleaning and maintenance folks on up to the managing partners, David and Liz. Everyone has a sincere desire to make your stay as pleasant as possible, from recommending eateries to faxing documents. This is a MUST stay when visiting Florida !
Thank you David, Liz, and the entire Tortuga Staff ! See you next year ! !
Chip, Marguerite, and Laura, from Rhode Island

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for three nights with my wife. Beautiful property with friendly staff. We found the rooms roomy and unique with built-in book cases and beautiful artwork. Most rooms an open air central courtyard with tropical plants, palm trees, and koi ponds. Feels like staying in Hemingway's house. Our room rate was very reasonable. There are more expensive suites that face the bay or gulf. The pool is heated and the pool area is quite nice. They have a private beach just across the road with chairs and umbrellas provided by the hotel. The road is only one lane in each direction, but since it's the only north-south road on that part of the island, it can be difficult to cross because of the stream of traffic. Breakfast is not included but there is a charming french cafe on the premises that serves breakfast and lunch. . Any number of good restaurants on the island for dinner, and the Bridge Street area can even be walked to from the hotel. All in all, a little bit of paradise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January in Room T220. Price was extremely resonable.... about $160 a night. The room is very well laid out and a lot of thought went into maximizing the small space. We had a balcony that looked over the Gulf, shared by two other rooms, but no one occupied the rooms so it was very private. The La Petit Cafe was one floor down, so every morning we ate breakfast on the little balcony.

The beach is right across the street and there are jet skiis and sailboats you can rent. There are bikes and scooters you can also rent right next door. Restaurants are within walking distance.

The only negative... and it is a small one.... is that the road is very noisy with lots of trucks. With the windows closed, though, it is quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband I are both pilots and travel frequently. We enjoy going out west but also like the west coast of Florida. We have been flying to Anna Maria Island for years and really enjoy it. We have always stayed at the Tortuga Beach Resort. We can not say enough great things about this location. Everything is always consistently wonderful! Rooms are impeccably clean, staff is friendly and knowledgeable, perfect location within walking distance to great restaurants and the beautiful beach, and reasonable priced. Over the years we have come to know some of the staff and truly appreciate the effort and attention they have afforded us in insuring our visit to the Island is perfect. Somehow too they always manage to provide plenty of sunshine! Anyone considering the west coast of Florida, do yourself a favor and stay at Tortuga. You will be pleased and wanting to return soon! Very well run organization with an exceptional staff!

Room Tip: Room 218 and 219 Gulf View 2nd floor are right across the street from the beach. Nice size room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed here many times now, in a wonderful studio room overlooking the bay. It has a wonderful bathroom and spectacular view of the water. The service was first class and the room very clean, comfortable and quiet. There are restaurants in walking distance, and the beach is just over the road. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Very quiet in rooms overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
Free internet...
Show More
3.0 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Beach, Budget...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#7 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Resort

Address: 1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuga Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beach-to-bay resort on Florida's unspoiled Ann Maria Island. Tortuga Beach Resort offers a wide range of truly fabulous vacation rentals, many with Gulf or Bay views, plus a private white sand beach just across the street, three heated pools, pet friendly, and a 14-slip boat dock. Enjoy our new Le Petit Cafe and Tortuga Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tortuga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Inn And Beach Resort
Tortuga Inn & Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tortuga Hotel Beach
Tortuga Motel Beach
Tortuga Inn Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.