We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tortuga Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tortuga Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for three nights with my wife. Beautiful property with friendly staff. We found the rooms roomy and unique with built-in book cases and beautiful artwork. Most rooms an open air central courtyard with tropical plants, palm trees, and koi ponds. Feels like staying in Hemingway's house. Our room rate was very reasonable. There are more expensive suites that face the bay or gulf. The pool is heated and the pool area is quite nice. They have a private beach just across the road with chairs and umbrellas provided by the hotel. The road is only one lane in each direction, but since it's the only north-south road on that part of the island, it can be difficult to cross because of the stream of traffic. Breakfast is not included but there is a charming french cafe on the premises that serves breakfast and lunch. . Any number of good restaurants on the island for dinner, and the Bridge Street area can even be walked to from the hotel. All in all, a little bit of paradise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    94
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
248
230
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January in Room T220. Price was extremely resonable.... about $160 a night. The room is very well laid out and a lot of thought went into maximizing the small space. We had a balcony that looked over the Gulf, shared by two other rooms, but no one occupied the rooms so it was very private. The La Petit Cafe was one floor down, so every morning we ate breakfast on the little balcony.

The beach is right across the street and there are jet skiis and sailboats you can rent. There are bikes and scooters you can also rent right next door. Restaurants are within walking distance.

The only negative... and it is a small one.... is that the road is very noisy with lots of trucks. With the windows closed, though, it is quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband I are both pilots and travel frequently. We enjoy going out west but also like the west coast of Florida. We have been flying to Anna Maria Island for years and really enjoy it. We have always stayed at the Tortuga Beach Resort. We can not say enough great things about this location. Everything is always consistently wonderful! Rooms are impeccably clean, staff is friendly and knowledgeable, perfect location within walking distance to great restaurants and the beautiful beach, and reasonable priced. Over the years we have come to know some of the staff and truly appreciate the effort and attention they have afforded us in insuring our visit to the Island is perfect. Somehow too they always manage to provide plenty of sunshine! Anyone considering the west coast of Florida, do yourself a favor and stay at Tortuga. You will be pleased and wanting to return soon! Very well run organization with an exceptional staff!

Room Tip: Room 218 and 219 Gulf View 2nd floor are right across the street from the beach. Nice size room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed here many times now, in a wonderful studio room overlooking the bay. It has a wonderful bathroom and spectacular view of the water. The service was first class and the room very clean, comfortable and quiet. There are restaurants in walking distance, and the beach is just over the road. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Very quiet in rooms overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here over the New Years holiday and it was the perfect location. Short walk across the street to the ocean, we walked down the beach about 10 minutes to several restaurants, all excellent food and an ice cream shop as well as little souvenier shops. There is also a sidewalk all the way down, we always felt safe, and even a free trolly that will take you anywhere on the island. Our room was on the 2nd floor and gave a beautiful view of the very well kept landscaping. Really nice to open your door and see palms right there. The room itself was perfect, bigger than we expected (king size room) Everything was always clean and the decor was nice and comfy. All staff that we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful, always smiling :) It was a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My first experience staying on Anna Maria Island, I found a piece of heaven at The Torguga Resort. The view is amazing from my 2nd floor guf view studio, the room was beautiful, clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. I didn't want my vacation to end and can't wait t return again.

Room Tip: Nice pool, access to beach, resort provides beach towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. Conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Three nights in paradise for the New Year holiday. All was perfect and it was pet friendly for our two little ones. Quiet, clean and perfectly located. Boat slips are also available. Small French take out with great food also on premises.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Resort

Address: 1325 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tortuga Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beach-to-bay resort on Florida's unspoiled Ann Maria Island. Tortuga Beach Resort offers a wide range of truly fabulous vacation rentals, many with Gulf or Bay views, plus a private white sand beach just across the street, three heated pools, pet friendly, and a 14-slip boat dock. Enjoy our new Le Petit Cafe and Tortuga Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Tortuga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Inn & Beach Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tortuga Inn And Beach Resort
Tortuga Hotel Beach
Tortuga Motel Beach
Tortuga Inn Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.