We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomely fresh seafood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin Grill

Blue Marlin Grill
121 Bridge St, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2442
941-896-9737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Marlin Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tele: 914-896-9737. New Restaurant just open 3 weeks. Best food on Anna Marie Island.
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Awesomely fresh seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have a new local favorite for seafood. My wife and I went to the Blue Marlin Grill on a friend's recommendation. We were not disappointed. The thing that I really like is that they don't try to serve every fish that swims in the sea. They serve what is being caught right now. The fish comes fresh from the AP Bell fish house, which is across the inter-coastal waterway from Blue Marlin. When we went, they had black grouper and red snapper. My wife had the former and I the latter. She had pecan encrusted and I had the Fulford preparation. Both were served with rice and beans and were fantastic. Oh, almost forgot the tomato and peach salad, again fantastic. They do have a couple of items like shrimp and grits that are always on the menu, along with hamburgers and a steak, but why go to a seafood place for beef???? We had the orange pineapple bread pudding along with a pot of French press coffee for desert. All I can say is WOW! My only complaint, and it is minor, is the seating. I prefer chairs with a taller back rest for more support. But, that is not enough of a problem to keep me away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    89
    29
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great, casual atmosphere and excellent fresh fish! Sat outside which was really nice with live music.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

After reading all of the reviews I was expecting something special and I was sadly disappointed. The service was very slow and inattentive even though there were not many people there. The food was lack luster and the price was not cheap. I won't return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best steak sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I had the steak sandwich and it was great. Lots of flavor and done the way I liked it. Ate here twice, and cannot wait until we get back here next winter. Cool little street it is on. We loved this area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our current favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

As "locals" this is one of our favorite restaurants. They have great seafood - very fresh because the owner gets it form local fishermen. We've never had a bad meal or poor service. They have a good wine list too. Also appreciated is the fact they take reservations (unusual for around here) and they have a parking service when parking is scarce.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin Grill also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Blue Marlin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.