We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin Grill

Blue Marlin Grill
121 Bridge St, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-2442
941-896-9737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Marlin Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tele: 914-896-9737. New Restaurant just open 3 weeks. Best food on Anna Marie Island.
homosassa,fl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Food was excellent but fish filet pricey. Grouper sandwich is great!Dessert of bread pudding excellent!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    89
    29
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our favorite spot of all restaurants we enjoyed on the island and we ate at some excellent ones. Every part was fantastic starting with the soybeans brought to our table instead of bread. I would never ordered them but I would have missed out on a treat. What a wonderful healthy start to the meal. Asked for a wine suggestion and we were given a sample until we found one that fit our taste to a T.
The fish was so fresh and were told it was caught daily .. I believe it. everyone was delighted with their selection and we all had something different. If you go out to one nice restaruant your whole stay this is the one I would recommended. I have no suggestions to make it better!
Most of the entrees in the the twenty to thirty dollar range although there were sandwiches and a kids menu. Our best experience on the island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A fun village grill by the sea.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Blue Marlin doesn't have much competition in the little seaside town of Bradenton Beach. The town is so small if you sneeze driving by you might miss the whole thing. That said, Blue Marlin is a welcome addition to the town which more often hosts ice cream parlors, sports bars, irish pubs and
fried platters on the fishing pier. It's a beach town and Blue Marlin is cutting its niche by offering local seafood with a touch of the gourmet.
Amongst the offerings are: Cortez Soup, ( daily cuts of fish and shrimp in a tomato herb and crab broth), Local caught fish (blackened or sauteed with lemon ), Shrimp and Grits. There are other land side dishes such as: Roasted chicken, tater soup and ribeye steak.
The restaurant has a seaside flavor, with whitewashed walls and mediterranean blue finishes
and fishing motifs, it compliments the sense of summer escape. There is a cute, albeit small bar in the middle of the restaurant (seats about 6). And on the left of the restaurant is an outdoor bar where local musicians perform and some diners wait to be seated.
It is a fun little place and a welcome addition to charming little Bradenton Beach.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty, great tropical atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a delight to find fresh tasty fish on the island. It's a block off the beach, but much better than the big name place on the beach there. Very cozy, comfortable, and decorated with a tropical beach decor. We had a nice bottle of bubbly that was decent and affordable. The entrees are in the $20s, but you can get a sandwich for less that includes the tasty rice and beans and small veg, also a nice red cabbage slaw. They get the fish daily from Cortez right across the bridge. We had the blackened grouper and snapper sandwiches prepared so well even the brown bread bun was fresh and tasty. They also brought out a complimentary edamame appetizer, so nice to see here.
We did not meet the owner who came from Zagat rated Beach Bistro, but the staff were friendly and anxious to please. Well done! Everyone, please go there . It's a keeper! Music on the weekends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We chose Ola based on other reviews and were not disappointed. It has a great vibe and atmosphere. Service was top notch and food was just amazing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin Grill also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Blue Marlin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.