We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST resort on Anna Maria Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tradewinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tradewinds Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
“The BEST resort on Anna Maria Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Tradewinds Resort on Anna Maria Island is a 5 Star resort. The service is excellent. The Ambiance is Excellent. The staff is excellent. This resort is is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Island. The location is central to all of the shops and restaurants. It is located on the beach. The facility is immaculate and the staff is there to please. It is the perfect place to relax.

My husband and I stay at the Tradewinds Resort every year for our Anniversary. We would not think of staying anyplace else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenaq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Centerville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We enjoyed our three-day stay at the Tradewinds. The staff was friendly and helpful; the room was clean, comfortable and well appointed; loved the front porch and view of the bay. Hope to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kensal411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

My sister-in-law went for a overnight getaway to the beach. I found Tradewinds Resort while looking for places in Bradenton Beach. What first drew me to Tradewinds were the pictures of the cottages. They were all beachy colors, like key lime, mango, pineapple and sea blue. I just thought they were so cute. Tradewinds was also one of the few in the area that did not have a 3 night minimum stay. They allowed us to come early and enjoy their beach amenities and we were allowed to check in early as our rooms were clean. The room was very clean and so cute. Tradewinds was actually prettier than the pictures on their website. The staff from check in to check out were very helpful and just all around nice people. I would recommend Tradewinds to all my friends and am looking forward to my next visit. Linda Reeves

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgaylereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Tradewinds Resort is by far one of the best vacation resorts I have had the pleasure of visiting. The intimate cottage setting was the perfect romantic getaway.

Our experience was one of exceptionally friendly staff and beautifully appointed accomodations reminicent of the Florida Keys. The beautiful and quiet surroundings made for a perfect vacation.

I loved our stay at the Tradewinds Resort. We will be back...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbreit054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

This was our first trip to Anna Maria Island and we loved our week stay at the Tradewinds Resort. These Old-Florida effiency units are neatly disguised as a Key-West style bungelows. Well equipped both inside and out. We were impressed by the daily beach towel exchange, use of beach umbrellas, washer and dryers on site, nicely heated pool and lounge chairs on the beach. The cottage was on the small side and the pull out could have been more comfy for the children but it was Clean and Comfy!
I would suggest a 2-bedroom for 4 adults. The staff both in the office and on the grounds were extremely helpful and pleasant. Not one complaint. We would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwoood, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

My sister stumbled across this little gem on Google when we were searching places to stay in the area. Everything about this hotel is perfect. The location was ideal as it was situated on the bay but across the street from the ocean. We were able to walk to our favorite beach bar, The Beach House and enjoy the lanai in our unit upon our return. It was so peaceful and traquil here that I cannot wait to return with my husband!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missliss_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

The description of the Pelican Cottage on Annamaria.com is misleading and embellished, and I really let my family down by booking this property for our Spring Break. This unit is so small that when you unfold the sofa bed, it nearly touches the wicker chest of drawers that holds the one and only small TV set in the living room. My husband estimated the unit to be about 300 sq. ft. total.

The Pelican is NOT A PRIVATE COTTAGE, as the picture may indicate. The left side of the cottage is #33 "Pelican" and the right side of the cottage is unit #34. Did you know that "The Pelican" is part of the TRADEWINDS Resort, but just under separate management? That meant that all of the other neighbors had daily housekeeping and fresh beach towels, but we did not. The laundry facilities are shared by all of the Tradewinds units (located beside the main office at the front of the drive) and you have to pay $1.00 in coins for each load. Two of the dryers were out of order, and the other two always had clothes inside, so we spent the week with damp, sandy towels and clothes.

Other specifics you should know:
1.) To get to the beach "a few steps across" meant we had to jay-walk with my kids across the main drag of Gulf Drive.
2.)There is no dishwasher - you could see where they put cabinet facing in where it should have been.
3.)ZERO privacy - The outdoor "al fresco" dining as advertised on Annamaria.com was actually the gravel parking space between the cottages with a picnic table and charcoal grill set out on it. And, the front "veranda" is tiny, too - and it faces the street and the other cottages.
4.) Tropical gardens? Nope.
5.) The kitchen/living area is really, really snug/small
6.) Wireless Internet not strong enough to get a good signal - my husband had to get in the car and drive around to find a signal so that he could send work emails.

The first few days of our spring break were cold and rainy, and we had to spend these days either eating out or staying in this little place huddled together on the couch watching March Madness basketball on a 19" TV. On the warmer days, it was better because we could enjoy being outside.

Good points: The pool was warm and the pier was nice for fishing.

Honestly, I cried myself to sleep and felt a heaviness inside for spending $1280 ($1455 w/tax & fees) to be trapped here for the week. Based on this, I will not trust annamaria.com for any of their other property descriptions.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SpringBreak3272010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katydemick, General Manager at Tradewinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Our Tradewinds Resort on beautiful Anna Maria Island is currently #1 on TripAdvisor as the Bradenton Beach destination of choice. All our 35 condominium apartments are owned by individuals. What is known as Pelican Cottage (Unit #33) is owned by a new owner that has chosen to manage the unit herself rather than using our management company.


This owner lives out of state, advertises and rents the unit online & through another rental agent. As a result, we cannot enforce standards of excellence for the interior, cleanliness and amenities of the unit. This also puts our office staff in a difficult position of not being able to assist Pelican Cottage guests with issues regarding the unit as they arise. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause guests that rent this particular unit.


Barbara Baker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
2.9 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort
#1 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing