We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tradewinds Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Bradenton Beach
florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a great property. We stayed in the Gulf Villa, which can be either a 1 or 2 bedroom. It was very comfortable and had a great screened in porch. The bay side is also beautiful. There is a short walk down and across the street to the private beach. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    41
    14
    5
    10
See reviews for
93
121
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plant City,Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I had our 14th anniversary January 8th , and only having only 1 day and night to "get away" I actully stumbled across the Tradewinds Resort in Brandenton while looking through the hundreds of ...Snobby chains. :)
I have more of an Old Florida attitude, never being one for..actually Avoiding, the big name places and locations so I took the chance after reviewing the pictures on the Tradewinds Resort website.
Dont let the crowded location at the street fool you , this place is an amazing location , close to home , and although its sandwiched between all the others, the second you pull in the drive , you could never tell your in the middle of Bradenton Beaches Resort row !
Cottages ! Not Rooms or Cubicles,Amazingly clean and fully stocked with all the essentials, full size appliances ,Long front porches, chairs and BBQ areas, Beautiful landscaping, awesome heated pool ,and catch Monster speckled trout right from their private back dock overlooking Sarasota Bay ! Guld Beaches is right across the street with their own privte beach area reserved for guests, and some of the Friendliest, personable staff I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with !
I will Definately be going back when we get the rare chance to get away for a day or 2 !

Room Tip: If they are available , get one of the rooms on the End of the complex (East) , Beautiful views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we spent the Christmas week at Tradewinds although the weather did not cooperate the resort was great. Everyone was helpful and brought a bunch of extra blankets to keep the chill off. We have stayed before and it is a very quaint old time florida style cabins. We had a 1 bedroom that was perfect everything we needed was there and we fully enjoyed the peaceful time. We had our German Shepherd dog with us and she fully enjoyed people watching while there. Directly across from the beach and on the gulf you can watch the sun come up and the the sun go down. Very nice location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation in an 'Old Florida' setting then Tradewinds on Anna Maria Island is the perfect place to stay. Thoroughly recommended! Great value for money and superb location near stunning sandy beach and intra coastal waterway.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This area of Florida is rather old school, family oriented, and not a lot of development, maybe a few condo building over 4 floors on the island, otherwise, its cottages and small condo/villa buildings, and almost anywhere, is close to a great beach to relax, walk, fish, swim, and play all day..or night.

TradeWinds is a great little gem in the somewhat more sterile or modern lodging, as its very inviting and relaxing, small and intimate, both in the cottages, and also the pool, or the short walk across road to a great beach. They have chairs/umbrellas and towels for guest, as well you have the Tortuga Inn for more options, cafe, pool and laundry. I stayed there 4 years ago, and had a great stay too. My sister lives in Orlando area and she comes to Tradewinds with her teen daughter for a girls weekend, her husband for a romantic getaway, and sent my wife and I here for the NYE week after Xmas.

It has a great feel, the cottages are simple and refined, the kitchens are new, as are the baths, and atmosphere is one that makes you sad to leave it behind. They also have great BBQ areas next to the cottages, under flower covered porches and nice stone tables inlayed with spanish tiles.


I cant think of anything to say negative, we had a toilet bust, and the repair guy was there in minutes and was polite and took a few minutes and off he went with a smile. Its all good here.

One nice thing about this location is the access to many places for eating/drinking or food/grocery. Be sure to visit the Cortez Seafood Shack and fish market on 119th, and also the Rod n Reel, as well as Starfish, and Sand Dollar at sunset...

The parks are gorgeous, here, DeSoto National Memorial end of 75th is lovely to hike or day trip for a very raw beach in nature, the way it was before anything was built.

Room Tip: Stayed in #9, nice open kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Tradewinds Resort the last week of September 2012. We had an awesome stay. The resort was beautiful. Every member of the staff was accommodating and helpful. Definitely planning on returning to Tradewinds Resort in 2013. The feel of the resort was very inviting.

Room Tip: We stayed about halfway down. Easy to go across to beach or down to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This resort is situated on one of the narrowest part of the island.You have the bay right next to the heated pool at the back of the property,and the beach just across the street at the front.It is within walking distance to the Bridge Street area with many restaurants,bars,and shops.There is a lot of repeat guests who come here year after year.We met another couple from Ohio that own a beautiful resort at Kellys Island on Lake Erie (Venture Resort)and they keep coming to Tradewinds time after time.On the advice from the Tripadvisor Anna Maria Island travel forum regulars we found the little inlet across the bay on Palma Sola blvd.where manatee hang out and we got to watch about 6 of them up close.In the near future Tradewinds is supposed to install computerized flat screens (Activision)in both the living areas and bedrooms so that will be nice if the parents want to watch something different than the kids on a rare rainy day.Thank you for another perfect vacation Tradewinds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.