We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradewinds Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tradewinds Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tradewinds Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tradewinds Beach Resort this past summer for a 4 day mini vacation and loved it. We would definitely go back. It was peaceful and quiet, nice pool, easy
beach access, clean rooms and very comfortable.
Pat, Summerfield, Fl.

Room Tip: Any room choice is good. They are like little cottages connected with porches. Not like a motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    42
    14
    5
    10
See reviews for
98
125
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Finally found a place that epitomizes what 'getting away' is all about. The Tradewinds is beautiful, well-maintained, and an all-around lovely stay with an even lovelier staff. Sarasota Bay is right out the window (in the apartment we stayed in) with 'jumping' fish and colorful sunrises. Right across the street is the beach on the Gulf of Mexico where beach chairs are always available (as well as the clearest, bluest water and loads of egrets and pelicans). A great all-around get-away vacation!

Room Tip: The Bay Villa rooms are right on the water with lovely porches
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We heard about this hotel through an AAA site. We spent a long weekend in April 2012 there. The cottage was very roomy and clean. It was charming and the outside areas were gorgeous with beautiful flowers. The pool was right there with plenty of chairs. It was fairly quiet the whole weekend, even considering there was some large group there. The beach was a 5 minute walk across the street. Every night there was a beautiful sunset at the beach. We had a nice relaxing long weekend. I highly recommend Tradewinds and the whole Anna Maria island vacation.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel so I would say they are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've stayed at many of the resorts on Anna Maria Island and we enjoyed our stay here more than any of the others. The people are friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The property is well maintained. It's a great place. We've already booked to come back next year.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms close to the pool which overlooks Sarasota Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I flew into Orlando from Detroit and spent two days at Universal, but wanted more of a relaxing vacation, which is exactly what Tradewinds gave us. I had been to the island many times before, but this was his first time and I wanted him to have the perfect island experience, which is why I chose Tradewinds. I had been to other hotels on the island, but none of them felt quite as authentic as Tradewinds. The cottages are clean, spacious (even the smallest ones), comfortable, and welcoming. The location is perfect, situated with the Gulf on one side and the bay on the other. The fishing docks here are the best in Bradenton. A short walk to The Beachhouse restaurant, pier, and docks. The trolley will take you anywhere you want to go on the island and stops are numerous. The pool was clean the whole time we were there and there were always more than enough lounge chairs for everyone. Plus side: they have lounge chairs on the beach, so if you're flying you don't have to bring your own. There is also jet ski, kayak, and catamaran rentals right beside Tradewinds' beach. The staff at the hotel are friendly, professional, and helpful. If you're looking for a relaxing, laid-back vacation with perfect sunsets, Tradewinds is the perfect hotel for you.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with room choice - I've had the chance to stay in almost every type of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose Tradewinds on it's great TA reviews and we were not disappointed.
The resort is small and runs across the island from bay to beach (almost) and the staff are all very friendly.
Our Gulf Drive Villa #35 comprised of kitchen, bathroom, lounge with sofabed ( DD said it was uncomfortable), sleeping area (separated by sliding doors) with lovely King size bed and separate BR with queen sized bed. The accomodation was spacious enough for our family of 4.There are plenty of closets and chest of drawers for storage and everything was immaculately clean with daily housekeeping.
There is a lovely small heated pool facing the bay and a little jetty from which we fished and watched the birds, fish, crabs and one day we could even see a dolphin swim past, a wonderful experience. At the beach opposite the Tortuga Inn (2 mins away) you can use free sun loungers and free towels and umbrella's are provided at reception. The resort was quiet although during the day the road in front of our unit was busy and noisy but at night time it was quiet and despite being light sleepers we were never disturbed by any cars.
A bonus is the free trolley that stops just outside the resort and runs all day at 20 min intervals- a great way to explore the Island. Publix and Walgreens are about 1 mile away and stock everything you could need.
Would we return? Definitely but I would try and reserve the 2 BR bayside appartement for the view of the amazing sunrise and the peace and quiet away from the road.

Room Tip: Rooms/Cottages at Bayside are quieter than near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We travelled from UK to see friends in Florida but wanted a few days relaxing on the Gulf Coast. Trade winds was everything we needed. A beautiful row of shutter boarded units running away from the road so quiet but convenient for the trolley bus. A pool at one end and the beach at the other was great. The units were well appointed and beautifully clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will come back when we've saved up the air fares!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.