We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tradewinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tradewinds Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Auburndale, Florida
1 review
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've stayed at many of the resorts on Anna Maria Island and we enjoyed our stay here more than any of the others. The people are friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The property is well maintained. It's a great place. We've already booked to come back next year.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms close to the pool which overlooks Sarasota Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike313_814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I flew into Orlando from Detroit and spent two days at Universal, but wanted more of a relaxing vacation, which is exactly what Tradewinds gave us. I had been to the island many times before, but this was his first time and I wanted him to have the perfect island experience, which is why I chose Tradewinds. I had been to other hotels on the island, but none of them felt quite as authentic as Tradewinds. The cottages are clean, spacious (even the smallest ones), comfortable, and welcoming. The location is perfect, situated with the Gulf on one side and the bay on the other. The fishing docks here are the best in Bradenton. A short walk to The Beachhouse restaurant, pier, and docks. The trolley will take you anywhere you want to go on the island and stops are numerous. The pool was clean the whole time we were there and there were always more than enough lounge chairs for everyone. Plus side: they have lounge chairs on the beach, so if you're flying you don't have to bring your own. There is also jet ski, kayak, and catamaran rentals right beside Tradewinds' beach. The staff at the hotel are friendly, professional, and helpful. If you're looking for a relaxing, laid-back vacation with perfect sunsets, Tradewinds is the perfect hotel for you.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with room choice - I've had the chance to stay in almost every type of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose Tradewinds on it's great TA reviews and we were not disappointed.
The resort is small and runs across the island from bay to beach (almost) and the staff are all very friendly.
Our Gulf Drive Villa #35 comprised of kitchen, bathroom, lounge with sofabed ( DD said it was uncomfortable), sleeping area (separated by sliding doors) with lovely King size bed and separate BR with queen sized bed. The accomodation was spacious enough for our family of 4.There are plenty of closets and chest of drawers for storage and everything was immaculately clean with daily housekeeping.
There is a lovely small heated pool facing the bay and a little jetty from which we fished and watched the birds, fish, crabs and one day we could even see a dolphin swim past, a wonderful experience. At the beach opposite the Tortuga Inn (2 mins away) you can use free sun loungers and free towels and umbrella's are provided at reception. The resort was quiet although during the day the road in front of our unit was busy and noisy but at night time it was quiet and despite being light sleepers we were never disturbed by any cars.
A bonus is the free trolley that stops just outside the resort and runs all day at 20 min intervals- a great way to explore the Island. Publix and Walgreens are about 1 mile away and stock everything you could need.
Would we return? Definitely but I would try and reserve the 2 BR bayside appartement for the view of the amazing sunrise and the peace and quiet away from the road.

Room Tip: Rooms/Cottages at Bayside are quieter than near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We travelled from UK to see friends in Florida but wanted a few days relaxing on the Gulf Coast. Trade winds was everything we needed. A beautiful row of shutter boarded units running away from the road so quiet but convenient for the trolley bus. A pool at one end and the beach at the other was great. The units were well appointed and beautifully clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will come back when we've saved up the air fares!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora, In
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It is a very quiet place, yet close to the gulf. We get away from home simply to relax. We spend a lot of time walking the beach and watching the water. We are close enough to walk to several shopping areas. The restaurants are very good, most people are friendly. The cottage is clean and very comfortable. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We look forward to coming back to the Tradewinds.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I drove about an hour from the St. Pete area to "getaway" for a long weekend to celebrate our Anniversary. After much research, we settled on Tradewinds Beach Resort because of the reviews and quaint Key West style villas and its proximity to the most gorgeous beaches in Florida. We had a comfy king bed, separate living room and full kitchen well equipped for our needs. Although we ate every meal out, we fixed appetizers and cocktails and enjoyed the amenities on the property: the pool and scenic dock on the bayside. Each morning we'd grab a complimentary umbrella and towel to walk across the street about 500 yards to the private beach with supplied chairs. The morning water was perfect to rent and learn how to paddleboard! The hotel was easily within walking distance of cute shops, restaurants and beach bungalo bars to relax and celebrate. We truly had a wonderful time that we were happy to recommend to our friends after returning home. A real gem!

Room Tip: We chose a villa although the hotel has several types of accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A quaint & beautiful street of cottages on a quiet & comfortable beach. Each cottage has all the amenities you'll want or need and includes beach umbrellas and chairs. The landscaping is lush and tropical. Lovely restaurants and shops nearby. Easy public access transportation if you need it. Great vacation spot.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandysze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton Beach
0.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
2.9 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Resort
#1 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing