We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a very poor place - I would never go back” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tradewinds Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bradenton Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a very poor place - I would never go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I visited the Tradewinds last December/January with my husband and daughter and would never go near the place again. I have read recent reviews and find the comments being made about rude staff so true. When I went last there were rats in the kitchen of our Cottage and we had to leave the resort and go to a much smaller aparttment/condo in a development owned by the Tradewinds. The staff were so rude and one in particular was just unbelievable. We were locked out of the cottage so we could not ask the health people to review the cottage and the staff at tradewinds threw all of our food and some belongings out into the rubbish. It was an absolute nightmare and to say I havent cried over our treatment is a massive understatement. I have been so distress by my visit that it is not funny. I love the USA and Anna Maria Island and will go back this Decemebr for our months vacation but will not be staying at the Tradewinds. Its dirty, unfriendly staff are everywhere so whatever you do dont make a complaint because you will get nowwhere. Rats in the Kitchen !!!!!!!!!!!!! Crazy

Room Tip: Dont choose the first cottage in on right as it is full of rodents
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katydemick, Manager at Tradewinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
This family checked into our Tradewinds Gulf Drive Villa on December 8, 2011. They departed on January 5, 2012. On December 27, 2011, after being in the unit for about 3 weeks, the guest called our after hours emergency number and reported seeing a rat in their unit. Our on-call maintenance person responded immediately. He arrived & set 2 traps. He offered to stay and see if anything were caught so he could dispose of it. The guest declined the offer. The guests were offered another room to which they could move for the night, which they also declined. The next morning they reported there were 2 rats that were caught. Again, the guests were offered to be moved to another 2 bedroom unit, which they accepted and moved to that unit on December 26, 2011. The Gulf Drive Villa was locked and taken off the booking schedule. The guest asked if they could have an environmentalist friend take readings in the unit and we said certainly; just let us know so we can unlock & accompany them in the unit. We waited to hear from the guest, and even asked what day they might be arriving, but we were never asked to allow entry into the unit for that purpose. Our
maintenance inspected the unit & found & repaired the entry hole.
After the hole was repaired, more traps were set in the unit and the attic to ensure there were no more rodents. After 24 hours observation and no additional problems, our pest control vendor was called. The vendor thoroughly investigated the unit. The report finding stated "Inspected Unit XX for rodent activity no droppings or smell in any rooms or closets throughout house, looked in attic too no visible evidence of rodents". Once the clearance was given, the unit was thoroughly cleaned & disinfected. We asked the guest what they would like for us to do with the food left in there and they said throw it away. We brought the other items out of the unit that had been left in there and stored them in the office until the guest gave us the ok to bring them to their unit. No non-food items were thrown away by our staff. We're very sorry this situation occurred to our valued guests; however, we think we responded very quickly & in a very positive & caring manner. Numerous visits were made with the guest to ensure they were comfortable in their new unit. And, since they didn't check out until January 5, 2012, we assume that, overall, they had a very pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    43
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
102
131
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a perfect week staying at Tradewinds. The resort is small and the cottage was clean comfortable and cosy. The resort was extremely well maintained, the location perfect, and the staff at both Tradewinds and the sister resort Tortuga were very friendly and informative.
The pool area was clean and secure and very relaxing.
The fishing pier was wonderful to watch sunrise and sunset. An array of local wildlife including osprey. pelican, dolphin and even a shark can be seen from the pier.
The beach is just a stride away and the water was a wonderful 86f whilst we were there. Very nice long walks along the beach either to the North or South, with friendly people along the way.
Everything you need is within walking distance once you have investigated the area. If you feel like a change of scene, the free trolley bus that stops right outside of the resort is so convenient and air conditioned.
We ate both in and out. Local fish and sea food was excellent. Beachhouse restaurant was a five minutes walk and a great place to eat with your feet in the sand to watch the spectacular sunsets.
Our holiday overall was one of the best ever, as the Island is a very laid back and relaxing place to be. We will return again for sure.
Thank you Tradewinds.

Room Tip: Cottage 2 was the place that was a little corner of paradise for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family and I was very pleased with our stay at tradewinds resort. My wife and my two kids enjoy the resort very much. The cottages are perfect and conftable and the staff keep the rooms and the area clean at all time, the pool was very clean, The staff at the office was wonderfull and profesional and very friendly. Love the laid back feelins of the resort. The cottage are collorf- and the garden and porches are very relasing and beautifull, this little :PARADISE: remind me when I was a little kid back in my birth island of cuba. The private beach at tradewinds really was beautifull and just steps away from the resort, the restaurant are also close to the resort and the trolley came right in front of the resort. This is the best location in annamaria island just like us cuban say( FANTASTICO) I will def-tell all my friends and family to stay here, we are already planing vacations with friends and familys for next year. I lived in miami and I love it but is way to croured, Thats why I need the peace went i travel, and I founded in the beauty of tradewind resort,Thank you and your place is #1 to us and is goin to be also for my family and friends.see you pronto" " GOD BLESS"

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifull clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Back to visit Anna Maria Island for our 5th time. We love Anna Maria and the people. Choose this resort on a recommendation. What a mistake. The staff are so rude , unhelpful and are very poor ambassadors for the property and the island as a whole. Can only advise potential guests to stay away.

However I would say that the island is fantastic, restaurants are the best with a couple in Long Boat Key like the Chart House a particular pleasure. Shopping is a bit far away but excellent when you get there.

The island has a couple of free buses and you can put your bike on the front and your suitcases if you are trying to get away from the Tradewinds !!

My buddy who recommended the Tradewinds is off my Xmas Card list for a while.

Room Tip: The cottages on the front are good as they are near the beech but the one on the right on the way in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katydemick, Manager at Tradewinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
This is to address the review "Strange place with very rude staff". This is a very "strange" review, as we have no record of anyone staying with us in July, or any other time, that is from San Francisco, Colombia. Not even sure where that place is. Sounds strange they reviewed only our office staff and had nothing to say about the resort itself; so what then is "strange" about Tradewinds? We always welcome reviews from our valued guests that truly have issues, as this gives us an opportunity to correct areas that need to be corrected. But this review gives no details, only generalities. The Tradewinds Resort has lovely pastel colored cottages that are well maintained inside & out. We have a wonderful office staff that does everything possible to make sure our guests every need is met. This review sounds strangely like a continuing attempt to discredit the Tradewinds Resort because of a loud, disrespectful group that was told they could no longer stay at the Tradewinds.
told they could no longer stay at the Tradewinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been coming to Tradewinds for a couple of years and we love it. I have not written a review before because the vast majority have been very positive. I felt compelled to send a review after reading so many negative responses from a group that stayed in August and found it unpleasant. Tradewinds did respond to the reviews, but unfortunately , their responses were removed. It seems that there was a group of a people that booked the resort and were eventually asked to leave due to their behavior. I must tell you , Tradewinds is a family oriented resort. It is not a spring break type with loud parties till dawn. It is a quaint cottage style resort that brings in a variety of people of all ages. It is very clean and well kept. The foliage is beautiful as it wraps around the porches and buildings, pergola style. There are patio areas between the cottages that provide a grill and cement patio table and seats. The beach is across the street, but only a few steps and you are enjoying white sand, dolphins, and sometimes the sight of manatees. The resort provides you with chairs, umbrellas, and other fun beach toys. At their sister resort, Tortugo, which is only two buildings down, they have a take out restaurant with excellent food and great coffee. They also have a convenient store where you can get most any necessity. The pool is toward the back of the resort with a view of the bay. You also have access to a huge pier for fishing and just enjoying the sites of the bay. Everything you need is within walking distances or you can take the trolley for free. The trolley stop is actually right out front. So, please don’t overlook the great qualities that Tradewinds has. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our family recently stayed at Tradewinds for the second year in a row and was extremely disappointed. Obviously we had returned because we enjoyed our first stay but this year it was quite the opposite.

- When we checked in and out the front office staff was less than friendly.

- The housekeeping staff speaks very little English and was rather difficult to communicate with.

- We placed our order for exchanging our linens per their instructions but did not receive them on time and had to actually go and ask for them.

- Dogs are welcomed and we are dog owners and lovers but there were dogs everywhere, many of them loud barkers.

- There was never any ice in the ice machine.

- The laundry room was broken and the trees around it were overgrown. They did offer up their washer and dryer in the front office but it was always in use washing towels.

- If you don't take advantage of the housekeeping (by paying an extra $200 in addition to your weekly rate) you have to provide your own toilet paper, really? They tell you there is a 20% discount with no housekeeping and then they tack on 10% at the end to clean the unit. Really, just wrap up all the costs into the price of the room per night and be done with it. It looks like it is reasonable but they nickel and dime for everything at the end.

- In the end, I just felt like customer service is really lacking at place and it just is really nothing special. There are plenty of resorts in the area. I would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katydemick, Manager at Tradewinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
In answer to "What a Disappointment", we have been able to establish,
through our records, that this individual was part of a large group
that was extremely disruptive while staying at Tradewinds Resort in August. We do not agree with the review, as we feel it is an attempt
to discredit Tradewinds Resort because we will not allow this group to
stay with us again. After their stay this year, they were told to
find someplace else to vacation next year as they were so disruptive
that we had numerous complaints from other guests; and even some of
them said they would never stay with us again because of the loud
dsrespectful group. This is simply unacceptable because we enforce
the "quiet enjoyment" policy. Our guests are our priority and their
comfort and well being while staying with us is of prime importance.
We are very proud of our resort and maintain it, inside & out, to a
very high standard. As a result of that, and our valued guests'
positive reviews, we have been awarded a TripAdvisor "Certificate of
Excellence".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Tradewinds is our favorite "getaway" location. The cottages are perfect and the staff keeps the area and rooms clean and the visit quiet and relaxing. The kitchen has everything you need for a long weekend. Shopping is close by, if you forget something. They provide beach stuff for kids and adults. Throw your suit in bag, grab some food and enjoy the beach, pool and local shopping. The trolley is right across the street and easy to catch. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We have two teens and find the South cottages are big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Beach Resort

Address: 1603 Gulf Dr N, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tradewinds Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private street of dreams in a charming old Florida beach resort. quaint Tradewinds Beach Resort, which shares the sweeping Tortuga beach, is quaint with pastel cottages that end at a fishing dock and a heated pool right on Sarasota Bay. We are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Tradewinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Bradenton Beach
Tradewinds Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.