We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sand Pebble--A true island getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradenton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Island Inn
Save Saved
You added Anna Maria Island Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2218 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The Sand Pebble--A true island getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

Leave your hectic, complicated, pretentious world behind at the Sand Pebble Inn on Anna Maria Island, FL. Here, you will find the beautiful simple life away from it all. Many rooms are just steps away from the georgeous, unpopulated white sand beach. The clear-blue, crystalized ocean beckons Sand Pebble guests lounging on chaises or under tiki huts.

Beach Unit #7 is spacious, with a full kitchen, washer/dryer and One and a half baths. A nice glimpse of the ocean can be found in the upstairs bedroom. The tile floors and contemporary style of the living room provide an upbeat and sophisticated island feel. The unit's large front patio is welcoming, open, useful. The unit is a veritable roomy, livable apartment.

Owner/manager, Danny, "Court", is extremely friendly and accomodating.

Though the aura is seclusion, The Sand Pebble is within walking distance of all amenities, including the fantastic "Mr. Bones" BBQ restaurant just up the street. This is a lively place that serves a variety of ethnic ribs as well as great Indian and Mexican food!

We would return to the Sand Pebble!

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Need more frequent housekeeping
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    15
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

The location is great! We stayed ground level right on the beach. The apartment was updated with new appliances, tile, furniture and bedding.

The biggest problem was the sand. Normally, when you pay to stay somewhere, someone will come around and tend the room once a day: bring fresh towels, SWEEP the floors, etc. By the time we left (we stayed four days) it was like a sandbox. There was an envelope on the counter for "housekeeping tips." My tip: do something!"

Another problem: they shut the water off while my brother-in-law was in the shower. No one came to tell us. They said it would take ten minutes when we went and asked. More like an hour.

Outside, between the two units, there is a shower (worthless) and a large garbage can. This garbage can was overflowing upon our arrival (my husband had to carry it to the dumpster again after this). The shower is there to keep some of the sand out of the rooms, but if the patio is not swept up, you track wet sand instead of dry, actually making it worse.

The office sign said closed everytime I went to tell them about something, except about the water. Aside from all of these negatives, the beach was beautiful and we all had a blast. I would probably stay here again because of the location. I'll just be better prepared and bring a vaccuum.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

My family has just returned from a great week on Bradenton Beach. This was our first visit to Anna Maria Island and we were pleased with our choice. We were in unit #1 at the Sand Pebble. This is the upstairs unit. This condo is right on the beach. The unit was very comfortable and well furnished. Earlier reviews of this hotel complained about leaks and spartan furnishings, but we did just fine. The kitchen is not gourmet-chef ready, but was sufficient. Besides - who wants to cook on vacation! I wouldn't plan to have an adult sleep on the fold out all week, it is not comfortable. The new web site gives good pictures of the unit.


As for the island, we found food to be in the expensive range. The local Publix is well stocked, but crowded. Restaurants we tried included the Sunhouse (expensive but good food), Shell ( similar to Red Lobster - great service), Sharky's - (pub like atmosphere OK food) - Rotten Ralph's (very basic and overrated) - Hurricane Hank's (bar food, crowded atmosphere.)

One note - we booked a boat tour with Captain Kim and she was a no show. This messed up one day of the trip. I have not heard why she didn't show up and she didn't return my phone calls.

I have to say overall this is a charming place. Everyone we asked for assistance was helpful. I was impressed by how tolerant the locals were of all of us tourists descending on their little piece of heaven! Thanks for sharing!

  • Liked — Right on the beach/ could lie on the beach and come up to room easily as needed.
  • Disliked — Traffic noise from road in front..
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

This area is terrific. We spent 3 nights here, and were overall very happy with everything. Since we were there mid-week, we had the luxury of changing rooms, and did. The on-site manager was cheerful and helpful. The place we were upgraded to had lots of space on two levels, and had a view from the bedroom onto the beach. There was a full kitchen, living room with color/cable tv, and full bath with a washer and barely functioning dryer- not a major problem. Upstairs had a queensize bedroom with a tiny ensuite half bath- saved going downstairs in the night- and a smaller tv. All the ammenities were there, but the downside was that so much of the furniture was literally falling apart! A leg came off the coffee table, another off the footstool for the chair, and the kitchen table and chairs were all wobbly. We were in the same building as the office, on the beach side of the road. We found our place to be very clean, so that was the main thing. The free trolley around the island is great, and the area has a real "beach community" feel. Plenty of restaurants to choose from.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a bit shabby
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lutz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

sand pebble had a beautiful view of the gulf, restaraunts and shops are all within walking distance. great key lime pie martini shooters at bridge town bar and grill,nice white sand , and a beautiful sunset. What else could anyone ask for.

kelly

  • Liked — the walk on directly to the beach and the scenic view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

When we entered, our first impression was that there was only one room with a sofa-bed, which we were not happy with. There was a fully-equipped kitchen area, dining table and chairs and assumed that this was it. Then we saw a door facing. Through there we found the bedroom and bathroom - so we were happier! Then, we went through the back door and found a gorgeous garden with a lovely swimming pool - we were extatic!! I said to my husband ' Go and book a second night!'
Our apartment was across the road from the beach, there were others, slightly dearer, actually on the beach.
We will definitely stay at Sand Pebble Beach Motel again.
Elsie Hodgkiss
Farnworth
BL4 7SS
England
ElsieEntwistle@hotmail.co.uk

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

sense of peace, safety, relaxation, home, are just a few words that come to mind when i think of the sand pebble. i am a florida native/ resident. when i get time away, with or without my 3 small children, there is no where else i will stay...I am vowed to the sand pebble. for me i truly enjoy the fact that sand pebble is a place i can visit by myself but it is also a place that i love and can sahre with my kids. needless to say, the beach is beautiful and we always love watching the sun set and the dolphins jumping, but it is more than that at the sand pebble. the customer service, the down home charm and hosipality are what keep me coming back time and time again!!!!!!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Maria Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Inn

Address: 2218 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Maria Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Hotel Bradenton Beach
Anna Maria Island Inn Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.