We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sh! Let's keep this place our secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradenton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Island Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   2218 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sh! Let's keep this place our secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Thought twice about writing anything - since I had been able to call a on a moments notice and get an ocean front room for 5 days over the holidays - if the place got too popular we may not be able to get in. But then I thought, that is absurd and decided to post.

This is a small cinder block hotel - it old, but the love and care they have put into the place with paint, decorations and upgrades creates a tropical, warm and friendly haven for your time on the beach. It is clean, everyone I ran into was helpful and courteous.

We stayed in Room #6. We could watch the ocean from our small table by the window or from our king sized bed.

We loved the location, took the free trolley one way and then the other. Spent a day at the Myakka River State Park which was an hour away and fabulous. Visited the Robinson Preserve which was a 10 minute drive away. Ate at the Seafood Shack - and want to go back!

Woke up Christmas morning and walked the Gulf beach. Santa had left me a sand dollar on the shore.

If you are looking for a safe,clean place to relax on the beach this is it. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Anna Maria island inn made our family vacation one to remember!! The unit we stayed in gave us beachfront views and sand in our toes just a few steps from the sliding glass door! BBQ, tiki hut table, patio table...all on the sand over looking the beautiful gulf made for a relaxing vacation setting! Every sunset was enjoyed outside either BBQing or lounging on the lounge chairs. The unit felt like our own individual beach house even though it was 1 of 4 units. After a not so pleasant stay at a motel up the street, Anna Maria island inn went above and beyond to ensure or stay was comfortable and enjoyed by all! They deserve to be recognized and you deserve to know how wonderful this little gem is!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

There seems to be a Jekyll and Hyde quality to the reviews of the Anna Maria Island Inn - most say its lovely, and some folks really don't enjoy it at all. I think in part it comes down to expectations. It's not the Ritz Carlton (THANK G-D!) but it is lovely in its own way: a beachy pleasant escape from reality with the prettiest sunsets in the world.

The location is very pleasant, and the unit we had was right on the beach - one of the pictures I posted was taken basically from the doorway of the unit. The unit wasn't huge but was plenty big enough, and had a shower, closet, and a large bedroom. Just outside was a picnic table and charcoal grill.

Check-in was easy and very laid back - along the lines of 'here's the keys, let me know if you need anything'. The property's free Wi-Fi password was the only thing we needed, and as simply as that we were established in the room, which had a toaster oven and a hotplate for cooking (I just used the outdoor grill each night though), plus a full size fridge and freezer.

Overall, I couldn't ask for another thing from the Anna Maria Island Inn. It was clean, safe, and right on the sand, nestled up behind a smallish sand dune. Yes, some of the rooms are on the other side of the road, but you know which one you have at the time of booking, and they're priced accordingly. It's not full of whiz-bang mod-cons, it doesn't have room service, and the property - at least the room we had - has clearly been converted for its new role, but I feel 20 years younger for bobbing around in the water, watching the sun set, and burning burgers on the grill. If you want fancy, go elsewhere. If you just want to unwind, it's hard (perhaps impossible!) to beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larksville, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying here in the last 4 years, we always stay in Unit 1 and stay for 10 days.
We absolutely love it and would not stay anywhere else on the island. We have encouraged friends from home to also stay here. It has everything that we desire in a vacation rental. It has an awsome view of the beach with fabulous sunsets from the deck. The unit is clean, has a up to date kitchen and is very comfortable. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I rented one of the 1st floor 2 bdr apartments on the beachfront. This was a great experience, for all my family, from my 2 year old to my 65 year old parents. Wonderful sunset view at night, dinners and bbq outside on the beach, this is the perfect place to relax. The apartment is very clean and spacious, with an up to date kitchen. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

.My wife and I celebrated our 32 anniversary here. The private pool with gated backyard was great for our Yorkie, however, everything else was substandard. The biggest problem was the bi-levels or multi levels changing from one room to another the worse was the bathroom in C1 which set up on a platform, toilet and shower. In C the second room the toilet was so cramped that the shower and toilet were something you might see in an RV not a good one either. The light in the shower similar to what a third world country has a long string that you pull and it turns on in the shower. It makes me wonder if that is dangerous not installed properly. The toilet is situated in such a manner that a tall person's legs hit the wall. I found it uncomfortable and cramped.
Rust everywhere and dirt on baseboards. Not a little but filth.
We received a phone call from Danny stating that the beach front rooms were updated. He was going to speak to Court about our staying there for compensations. We will give this Inn a second chance. Yet I stick to what I said "this C and C1 are lawsuits waiting to happen. The Bi levels especially for the very young and elderly are dangerous. When one takes a trip to the bathroom at night you expect it to be on the same level as bedroom. At these prices and paying in full ahead of time one expects better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited in aug for 5 days..but extended it for 2 more. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in 7. The beach is just feet away, and its very quaint. The staff is very helpful. We had everything we needed. Our yorkies enjoyed their stay too. I can never get tierd of this place. We actually have visited twice this year. Yes we will be back.

Room Tip: Take the tour on line at the website and ask questions about your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anna Maria Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Island Inn

Address: 2218 Gulf Drive North, Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Bradenton Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bradenton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anna Maria Island Inn 3.5*
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Island Hotel Bradenton Beach
Anna Maria Island Inn Bradenton Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anna Maria Island Inn to your Saves list