We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big Al's Steaks

Big Al's Steaks
1000 N Congress Ave, Suite 100, Boynton Beach, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 270 Restaurants in Boynton Beach
Cuisines: American
Description: They have a sister franchise in Coconut Creek FL that is already listed on your site.
Restaurant details
Description: They have a sister franchise in Coconut Creek FL that is already listed on your site.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If Big Al's philly cheese steaks are authentic I have no idea what the attraction is. The steak was chewy and tasteless. Kind of flat. Apparently not seasoned properly. Sandwich was soggy, and skimpy on onions and in particular the cheese. The mushrooms were also light, too limp and clearly overcooked. They resmbled dead leaches. I would recommend at least light toasting the bread. They are MUCH better at Jersey Mikes and even Miami Subs. All in all very disappointing. No desire to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“philly steak here in florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Do you want fresh bread , great steak and cheese like Philly. Here is the place - Friews are great, love the service and food

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Philly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was in the mood for a great cheesesteak and decided to pop in. It was an average sandwich, nothing special about it. I have had better at places that don't claim they have the best Philly in town.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent but not in Philly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good cheesesteak - probably one of the closest to Philly here in Palm Beach County but not quite
up to snuff. It may be the bread is not as good - but I would eat here again when I get a craving for this kind of stuff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ok but had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I may be a little over critical but I have standards on Philly cheesesteak and this one is just ok, nothing spectacular. Prices are reasonable and service good but just misses a higher rating

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Big Al's Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Al's Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.