We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelina's Ristorante

Angelina's Ristorante
24041 South Tamiami Trail, Bonita Springs, FL 34134
239 390 3187
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Angelina's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 163 Restaurants in Bonita Springs
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Across From The Ship
Nassau, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our new favorite...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

When we're in the Bonita Springs area our new favorite restaurant is Angelina's. We always eat at the bar and stay to listen to the piano player who is usually there Thurs-Sun. Although we don't chase happy hour deals, we have made it there in time for the half price bottles of wine once or twice. A word of caution... reservations are highly recommended in season. We prefer a hit or miss approach and twice we have reluctantly gone elsewhere when we couldn't find a seat at the bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear myravenhaven,

Thanks for your business and for taking the time to review your experience at Angelina's Ristorante. It is great to hear feedback when we meet and exceed guest expectations.
We look forward to seeing you at Happy Hour again soon!

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    57
    33
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Angelina's has a new chef with impressive credentials, so we arrived at the restaurant, an old favorite, with great expectations. Our party of four received prompt and friendly service from the valet. Our wait person was also courteous and helpful, informing us that black truffles were available, and only for three weeks. Being a fool for Italian black truffles, I decided to order a dinner-sized tagliatelle with lobster sauce, with an addition of truffles. I expected to relive my experience of savoring fresh slices of black truffles over a steaming plate of wide pasta, in Tuscany.
Things went downhill from the antipasti plate on. The primi took the longest time to come. The secondi even longer. When the plates arrived at our table they bore no resemblance to what the four of us ordered. Wrong table? We sent them back. More waiting. Finally, our entres were delivered.
My tagliatelle, which was touted as "home made," was not anywhere near al dente. It was limp and soft, in a thin, fishy ragu, with a few bits of rubbery lobsters. But the real disappointment was the purported black truffle shavings. There was no aroma at all to what looked like a little pile of grayish ants that sat on top of the lukewarm, overcooked pasta. All four of us had a nibble, and the thing was so tasteless that we all wondered if it was indeed truffle that we were tasting. Only the $45 additional charge convinced us that, yes, it must have been. Otherwise, in taste, smell, and presentation, it was unrecognizable.
My companion's pasta dish was also soft and unremarkable. Our two other dining companions had grouper and scallops, and were polite in their comments about the food. But it was a far cry from our previous visits. Clearly, all was not well in the kitchen.
A couple of other irritable things: At the time of reservation, we received a nice email rewarding Angelina's "eClub" members with a free appetizer. Although we presented this email and the waiter took it graciously, we were charged for the full price for the appetizer nonetheless. The two bottles of wine we picked were not available, so the house substituted another, without bothering to tell us that the substitutes were of a much higher price. But by the time we received the bill we were so disheartened by the whole disastrous experience that we could not wait to leave the restaurant. We did not have any energy left to engage the management for further unpleasantness. The evening was a disaster, and it would be a long time before we return to this restaurant, if ever.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Jdeppman,

Thanks for your business and feedback. We value both and are sorry to hear that your evening with us was not what you expected. We will pass your feedback along internally and hope that you allow us the chance to earn back you business.
Feel free to send any additional information/feedback to me: marie@epicfoodconcepts.com

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
“Menu Changes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

In three years of being a regular customer not one time have I ever looked at the menu. I always order the lasagna. Simply put, the lasagna was the best I have ever had. Tonight myself and my family headed over to find out that the entire menu was re-worked 7 days ago and the dishes that made this once fantastic establishment have been entirely removed. Five people in our party and $225.00 dollars later I feel like it was a waste. The food we did end up ordering was decent, but nowhere near the quality that I have encountered in years past. The portion sizes are lass than half of what they used to be and the lack of choices in the dinner menu is, by far, the strangest thing I have ever seen. You guys took perfection and reduced it to a little better than average overnight. It a shame.

Without a doubt, this was once the best Italian in SW Florida. In its current state in may be competitive with some of the larger chain restaurants in terms of quality, but certainly not worth 4X the price.

I now find myself looking for a new favorite Italian restaurant. In its current state, I will not return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Bryan T,

First and foremost, thank you for your business and for providing feedback on your recent experience at Angelina's. We are sorry to hear that your evening with us was not what you expected. We value the feedback and as you know we cannot improve if we are not aware of where we went wrong. Thanks for reaching out on Trip Advisor, your feedback will be passed along and addressed internally. We hope that you allow us the opportunity to earn back your business.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Angelina's Ristorante
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Four of us dined here based on word of mouth. Service and food exceeded our expectations! We shared the cheese and meat appetizer, which was perfetto. Each of us had a different entree and we thoroughly enjoyed every morsel. Very reasonably priced and we will definitely visit next time in Bonita Springs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Daria N,

Thank you for your business and for the kind words in your Trip Advisor review. We strive to maintain the highest standards in the industry and it is always great to hear when we meet and exceed expectations. We look forward to hosting you and your guests again soon.

Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best restaurant in Bonita Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Okay - we have tried them all. Trust me. We have been coming to Bonita Springs for three years and have been to just about every restaurant you'll read about. Angelina's gets it. Really lovely food served very nicely with a great wine selection to boot. Why not five full circles? It is pricey. One might say a tad too pricey at $32 for a small-ish bowl of pasta without any protein. But it was very good pasta!! The grouper entree at $34 was excellent. It's all about 15-20% more than you'd expect to pay in Boston or Providence or even NY (my points of reference). We did dinner at the bar and the service was great. Happy hour from 4-6 pm sounds great; 50% off a bunch of stuff. So go and have a lovely meal - you will not regret it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie W, Guest Relations Manager at Angelina's Ristorante, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Almon,

Thank you for your business and kind words. We strive to maintain the highest standards in the industry and it is always great to hear when we meet and exceed guest expectations. Your feedback regarding price and portions will be passed along and addressed internally.
Thanks again for your business and we look forward to hosting you and your guests again soon.


Respectfully,
Marie Wilda
Guest Relations
Angelina's Ristorante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelina's Ristorante also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Angelina's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelina's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.