We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Casual Place on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doc's Beach House Restaurant

Doc's Beach House Restaurant
27908 Hickory Blvd, Bonita Springs, FL 34134
(239) 992-6444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 158 restaurants in Bonita Springs
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Naples, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Casual Place on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I used to live close to it, which is the only reason that now I don't go often. It's great to sit outside on the beach and eat casual food. Very popular!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    82
    123
    101
    33
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best location on Bonita Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Doc's is a favorite of anyone who visits the area. They have the ONLY food and drink concession on the beach. Good wings, great views. They rent many different water toys. It is the center of all activity and great for chill in. Valet parking is free to customers. It is cheaper to buy a drink and get free parking to then to park next door.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlgren, IL, USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GREAT BEACH LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited on a Sunday night: it was super busy. We sat upstairs at one of the pub tables. The tables were so crowded, I had to get off my stool and move to another place at our table so that i wouldn't get knocked off my barstool! Service was ok, but you can't expect more from a beach bar that was totally full. I had steak;my husband had the grouper. Both were very good. We saw lots of people ordering Doc's pizza; if we had time to visit again, we were going to order pizza. It looked and smelled delicious! Great noisy evening out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location and the views are beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The upstairs outdoor seating is really beautiful. Restaurant serves beer and wine only. Staff was nice. Food was just average but overpriced. It felt like I was being charged more for the food because of the view. Atmosphere was nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end a sandy, sunny beach day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

First and foremost Doc's is a beach bar. It doesn't pretend to be anything else. While lots of people do go for dinner it wouldn't be my first choice because... well, because it's a beach bar. Why do I love it here? It really is a the perfect spot to wrap up your day on the beach whether you've been to Barefoot or are cruising back from Lover's Key. There are about 2 dozen tables outside (nestled under some palm trees) and plenty of indoor seating if you're so inclined. Downstairs there is an outside window to grab drinks and you can get anything on the menu to 'take out' to your table. Tables are all covered with umbrellas to provide relief if you're ready to get out of the sun for the day. There are some pretty kitchy things going on here in terms of decoration outside (upstairs inside is very sports themed) and while I think it just adds to the atmosphere, my husband wishes for a little less cheesiness. The Jerk Wings are really out of this world and there 's no better way to wrap up a beach day than with an ice cold beverage of your choice and a Doc's cheeseburger while watching the sun set over the Gulf. You'll end up dropping a few bucks here as they don't have drink specials. But seriously, try the wings.
N.B. The jetski and beach chair rentals are also in the same spot as this abuts a public beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc's Beach House Restaurant also viewed

Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc's Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc's Beach House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.