We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort; gem off the path of 41. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Coconut Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Coconut Plantation to your Saves list
Hyatt Coconut Plantation
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11800 Coconut Plantation Drive, Bonita Springs, FL 34134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Bonita Springs
Certificate of Excellence
charlotte
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely resort; gem off the path of 41. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Easy to get to, awesome golf course. Good service and really a nice surprise for location. You feel like you are "somewhere else". Food was good too.
The security guard retrieved some items for me that I thought were lost and he was very courteous and helpful. I really liked the layout. Lots to do!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    72
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
170
66
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We bought here about five years ago and by far it is one of our favorite vacations. Whether you buy or just stay at time share--you will love it. If you're a single couple with no kids (which we were for many years) or a family--it suits everyone's needs. We've also stayed at the hotel which is very nice and upscale. The great thing about the time shares is you can use the hotel amenities and we love to mix it up and spend some time at the hotel and some at the plantation (time share) pools. You can cook out--they bbqs. The rooms are very nice and well appointed. The food is pretty good at both Coconut Platation--Tarpon Bay is one of the better ones. Good shopping across the street whether you need groceries or dine out. Naples is a 30 min drive. GREAT GREAT place for all. We've recommended to many and they all love it. If you're looking for beach vacation--don't go. This is more of a pool and hotel trip. The spa is beyond nice.

Room Tip: We like building 52. Right in the middle and two second walk to pool. Get a room that faces the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for a few days with my sons and their families. We had a two-bedroom unit that was very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. As we had small children in our group (aged 6, 3 and 2) and dined frequently in the room, we appreciated how nicely the kitchen was stocked with plates, glasses - even some non-breakable plastic ones! - silverware, and cooking utensils. I slept on the sofa bed, which, instead of having one of those skimpy, spring matresses which you normally get with a sofa bed, had a memory foam mattress. I slept just fine - and that's probably the only time I've ever said that about a sofa bed! The grounds were great. The pools were beautiful - loved taking my grandkids on the lazy river! The little ones enjoyed both of the other pools, with waterfalls and fountains galore. This place was definitely designed with families in mind, and they did a great job. They have a small playground, which we took the kids to. They had a cute general store that sold basics, and also served food made to order. Over the course of a few days, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner there and it was all pretty good. I personally loved the fish tacos! My sons were there for a conference at the Hyatt hotel a few minutes down the road. I know we could have used their facilities as well, but with the little ones, it was easy to just walk across the street and have everything you needed right there. Wish this place had been around when my kids were little! We all loved it and had a great stay. I've been to the Naples area many times, and sometimes I get a little frustrated with the traffic. With many dining options close be to this resort, that really wasn't an issue. Many things - stores, restaurants, grocery stores, miniature golf - are very close by, no more than 10 minutes. But this resort is an oasis of calm in a very busy area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

In town for a business trip, but squeezed in plenty of resort-style downtime! Multiple pools are great -- got in some lap-swimming without kids around, but also enjoyed the big pool with waterfall. Beautiful grounds very well planted. Rooms felt stylish and chic. Hotel operates a free shuttle boat out to the beach -- try to make time for the enjoyable ride, even if you stay onboard for the immediate return trip. Hope another conference gets scheduled here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Coconut plantation for 6 nights with my wife and three kids. The rooms are large and well appointed. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The one thing to be aware of is there are very few rooms so there isn't a ton of "action" at the pool. And speaking of the pool area, it is one of the best...plus you can use the Hyatt hotels pool about a mile away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esllera
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for a week in a two-bedroom condo at the Coconut Plantation in February of 2013.

The location of Bonita Springs has two faces. The first face, the one you see when first driving in, is one of tons of strip malls. They are pretty, and in fact Coconut Point is quite lovely for an outdoor mall, but really that is all you see at first. But once you drive towards the Hyatt, you become surrounded by palm trees and beautiful landscaping. Some shore-access streets are not so lovely, but the area is in a lot of development. Bonita Springs is located close to Naples, which is quite lovely as well.

Coconut Plantation itself is a quiet, secluded grouping of buildings just off the access road to the Hyatt hotel. It is surrounded by palm trees, golf courses, and contains numerous pretty ponds. The main building contains the bar with a basic restaurant menu with seating outside or deliveries to your pool chair. It also has a TV room/lounge, exercise room, huge lobby with fireplace and boards game tables, children's area/day care, and a small convenience store/market. This building is attractive and pleasant.

There are four main pools. The first is an adult-only pool that is small, heated, and on the upper level apart from the other pools. At dusk it becomes open to families. The second pool is a non-heated pool, with a mirror version of itself right next to it that is heated. Both pools have dramatic waterfall features and fun fountain jets. The forth pool is a very shallow child's pool with a fountain. Accessed between the pool waterfalls is a lazy river that takes swimmers on single or double inner tubes in a curvy path around palm trees and beautiful flowers to pleasant beach music tunes. Located near the child's pool is a small playground, and up a short path is a hot tub. To the left of all the pools is a gas fire pit.

What sets this location apart is its relative lack of excess development. Because buildings were planned but never built, there is a beautiful, completely undeveloped but pathed area right behind the pool area. It loops around another pond, and is quiet, grassy, and breathtaking. We strolled here every day, seeing a bald eagle (her nest is one of the reasons why this area is undeveloped - and it is a truly stunning nest), several blue heron, and two small alligators! At the end of this path, back at the main area, there is a basketball court and a beach volleyball court. Also, beyond the pools, tucked between the lazy river and the courts, there are a series of hammock-cabanas. Very cool.

For beach access, you take a little hotel shuttle that comes to the main building every hour and ride to the Hyatt hotel's boat harbor. There you catch a canopied boat to the private beach which is about 15 minutes away over the bay. The beach is small, but the sand is soft and there are bathrooms and concessions. Oh, and beach chairs. That was a huge plus.

Our rooms were very pleasant. The main area has sliding door access to a VERY wide, tiled outdoor area that extends the length of the unit and can also be accessed from the master. The view was of a quiet pond and one of the golf holes. The kitchen opens into the main area and is very convenient with a breakfast bar as well as a full dining table. Down a short hallway, where the bathroom and laundry is located, is the second bedroom with two full beds. Our dryer broke but was repaired the same day.

We traveled with our twin boys, and had two cribs and two high chairs provided. We did have some issues with this. First, the cribs provided at first looked like they came from a 1900s orphanage - tall rattly aluminum bars on wheels. Yuck. We requested different cribs and we had two playpen-style cribs delivered that day. The high chairs were wooden like in restaurants, but both were either broken or had missing parts - one didn't have the leg strap at all, and the other had only one half. These were not able to be replaced as there were no other options.

The staff is truly exceptional. Friendly, knowledgeable, unobtrusive, and efficient. One supervisor, Danyelle, was AMAZING. Really, if you need anything, ask for Danyelle. We were accosted by a staff member one day asking us if we wanted to buy a unit, but she had just started that week and probably didn't have a feel for her job yet. Like, don't stop me in the lobby and try to sell me a time share.

We were very happy with our vacation and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Building 5 - The Mangrove - Has direct views of the golf course and pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights.beds were fantasic.we had a nice view. Service was impeccable. Only problems were minor--kids pool a little littered, no washclothes or bathrobes. But when i called for a bathrobe, they were there in less than 5 minutes! The restaurant was great.there is a ferry to a private beach which was not really that private and kind of small, but we live near a beach and probably more sensitive to that issue.
Overall i loved it and plan to go back next year! Thanks hyatt for keeping your quality!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonita Springs
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#8 of 58 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
4.5 mi away
Trianon Bonita Bay
Trianon Bonita Bay
#8 of 15 in Bonita Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Bonita Springs
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Coconut Point
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bonita Springs Naples North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Coconut Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Coconut Plantation

Address: 11800 Coconut Plantation Drive, Bonita Springs, FL 34134
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Bonita Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bonita Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bonita Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Coconut Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Coconut Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Coconut Plantation Hotel Bonita Springs
Hyatt Bonita Springs
Hyatt Hotel Bonita Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Coconut Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.