We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterling was the best guide ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventures Kayaking

Adventures Kayaking
Estero Blvd, NE Corner of New Pass Bridge, Bonita Springs, FL 34135
239-601-6976
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Adventures Kayaking offers a wide variety of Tropical Kayaking Tours, Sightseeing Trips, Fishing Excursions and Kayak Rentals for all ages and skill levels.
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sterling was the best guide ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and my family had a lot of fun!!! We saw dolphins and although we didn't see any manatee we saw many different kinds of critters. Our guide Sterling was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable on estero bay, and all the wildlife and Native American culture that used to be there. I would highly recommend going on a tour with Adventures Kayaking!!! Can't wait to do it again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    13
    0
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Horrific experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had done a Lovers Key tour with this group previously and it was very good. Mike was a good guide. The second tour was awful. First, you shove in very far away from Lovers Key. Be prepared to paddle. We used the double kayak. The paddling was only made harder by the fact they failed to place the plug in the drainage hole on the kayak. After an hour or so, we were sinking in the Bay in deep water. Not fun. The group left us behind. After realizing we were no longer there, the guide came back. First they blamed us for tipping the kayak, then for being too heavy - neither true. After switching up with us and paddling a long way back to the exit point, they realized we were paddling a submarine. The kayak was almost completely filled with water. Once they determined they were at fault- they did nothing! Barely a sorry. We were at risk in the open bay, and we get blamed then ignored. Bad business strategy. I suggest renting a kayak within Lovers Key and doing it yourself!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience - you can't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We took two 16-yr.old girls and our 10-yr. old son kayaking for the first time with Adventures Kayaking. What an amazing experience for all of us! Sterling made everyone comfortable and I never doubted our safety for a moment. As a novice kayaker, I wasn't sure how I'd get along for a three-hour tour, but the pace was great, and we stopped and floated often so that Sterling could fill us in on an abundance of information about the things we were seeing. We floated among a dozen manatee for quite a while, watched dolphin playing and eating close-up, awed at floating through a mangrove island, and learned a ton of fascinating things about the ecosystem of Estero. We can't say enough great things about this tour. If there's an experience you want to take away from your Florida trip, you really want to consider this one!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a lot of fun but pack some water. Kids say it was a blast and really enjoyed it. We saw wild birds, pink flamingos, dolphins, leaping fish and lots more. The boats were very comfortable as they are the only rental company that has lumber support seating. The owners are friendly and knowledgable. Sterling has a remarkable salsa dance he can demonstrate. Worth the time and money!! Thanks

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
1 review
“Sterling was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great way to start the morning! The tour was very informative. I didn't even know most of Estero Bay is only a few feet deep. We searched for manatee, but unfortunately due to red tides (which Sterling explained to us) we did not get to see any. We did, however, get to see a some dolphin and get very close to them and get some nice pictures. The guide took pictures also. Sterling showed us all kinds of cool creatures like pipefish, starfish, sand dollars, he also showed us a upside down jellyfish that he grabbed with his barehand. The kayak was very comfortable with the backrest and paddling for 3 hours was no problem. I would recommend putting lots of sunscreen on your legs and arms!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures Kayaking also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bonita Springs, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Adventures Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventures Kayaking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Adventures Kayaking to your Saves list