We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relaxation Defined” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bokeelia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, Bokeelia, FL 33945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bokeelia B&B and Inns
Darien, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rest and Relaxation Defined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Dollhouse Cottage for two nights in December and loved every minute of it. Besides the beautiful views, we found the privacy unique and just what we were looking for. One day, we rented one of the skiffs from the dock and boated out to Cayo Costa where we essentially had a private beach to relax on for the day. Other things to do on the island are rent kayaks and go hiking on their small nature trail. I will admit, there really isn't a lot to do on the island, but for us, that was the point. We were not looking for an excursion but rather just a place for some peace and quiet. Don't forget to pack snacks and beverages to bring with you. The restaurant has great food, but it can get pricy if you want alcohol or are eating all three meals there. Our cottage had a small refrigerator and was the perfect size for breakfast and lunch items. The staff at Cabbage Key was outstanding and really made us feel at home. I would most definitely visit again and encourage anyone who is looking for a relaxing private getaway to do the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at Cabbage Key. We love when our guests are able to relax and enjoy our "Old Florida" atmosphere. Sometimes people find it hard un-wind and let go of their cell phones, laptops, etc. But, after you go through your "detox" - you will find that you can relax and enjoy yourself without the internet, cable or cellphone! Thank you again for writing about your recent stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    44
    26
    16
    19
See reviews for
44
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Once you get there, it's breath taking!!! The menu is limited but all solid options! Go up the water tower and the views are incredible! Next trip I would like to stay a few nights in the cottages. It is a trek to get to Cabbage Key but the food, views, and service were well worth it!! Will visit again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are happy that you had a great trip to Cabbage Key! Definitely come back and stay with us - our cottages are great! We accomodate anywhere from 2 people in our Dollhouse Cottage (a 1 bedroom/1 bath on the water with a dock) to 8 people in the Harborview Cottage (3 bedroom/3bath on the water with a full kitchen and a dock). Our cottages are fully furnished, air conditioned (or heated) and we have daily housekeeping. Please keep us in mind for your next getaway and thanks again for choosing Cabbage Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch with our friends during our cruise from Captiva island. It is the only restaurant apparently here so we had not many options. The interior is famous for its 1000s of $s taped at walls and ceilings. Partially the $ hung from the ceiling, maybe somebody should fix this. It looked a little ugly. We ordered the Cheeseburger for which the place is known. The burger was ok but no really knew experience or even close. Bud beer in cans for 3.50$ or around, a glass would be nice instead drinking from a can. Staff was friendly and attentive. So overall nothing special that I would recommend to anybody as a must do here, but good to fill empty unplanned days.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Cabbage Key. We are a causal dining spot located 5 miles off of Pine Island in the Pine Island Sound - a great place to stop and eat & drink when you are out on the water. Our "Dollar Bill" Room (back porch) has more than $70,000.00 hanging on the walls - a tradition, started by sailors before they went to sea. The sailor would put his name on a dollar bill and hang it on the wall - so, if they came back from their trip and didn't make money on their catch they would still be able to get a beer. We also have seating in the front of the restaurant - an open-air (but screened), white-walled room which overlooks the Pine Island Sound. We do have outside seating on the patio as well - and this time of year the temperature is perfect for lunch outdoors! Thanks again for visiting our island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A beautiful day on tropic cruise ferry, dolphins alongside the boat were a beautiful sight , stopped at cabbage key for lunch and the surroundings and view were wonderful ,but the meal was very pot. My burger was so rare that the bun was soaked in blood and could not eat it. Key lime pie was ok but served frozen solid and could not even cut into it . The coke was so full of ice it was really only coloured water and the worst thing I had ever tasted. Glad I went for the view only.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Cabbage Key. I am sorry to hear that your lunch at Cabbage Key did not meet your (or our) expectations. I have shared your comments with our management team. Again, we appreciate you comments and hope that you will be able to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Today we arranged for a water taxi excursion with Doug (Jensen's Marina) to see some sights and have lunch at Cabbage Key. Blessed with dry air, perfect temperature, and sunny day. We ate outdoors and enjoyed the shrimp salad sandwich. Husband enjoyed black beans and rice with grilled chicken (also available blackened). The key lime pie was very good, just a tad bit more frozen than I would like. The only way to get to this place is by boat so we won't be able to eat lunch here every day.

Room Tip: Some marinas offer water taxi for 40-50 people so price is more budget friendly. On the other hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about your trip to Cabbage Key. From Captiva/Sanibel - Jensens Marina can take guests on a fishing/sightseeing trip and stop by Cabbage Key for lunch. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch on our patio overlooking the beautiful Pine Island Sound. We hope that you will be able to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Cabbage Key restaurant is very unique. I have been coming to this restaurant for years. It is definitely worth the experience once a year despite the crappy service. I feel as if the staff run around doing whatever with no manager or owner around. This place is so cool you would think whoever owns the place would put some effort into making some changes in the "who we are where we are going" department. The miserable prison that the staff are in eludes from every pore in their body. I don't care what non-sharable problems the staff has, this is not something I care to see when I am a paying customer! As for food, it is not amazing but it is not that bad at all. Plus you are paying for the ambiance not the food! Oh, and order the Cabbage Creeper! (alcohol) it is great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Cabbage Key. We take all reviews seriously and the management and staff have thouroughly discussed the observations you made from your visit. I hope that you come have another "Creeper" and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Cottage had alo that was needed. Peace cleanliness and relaxaton. Will stay again soon!

Bar drinks were pricey and small. Need to be addressed in my opinion.

Paradise now found with fisihng incredibly fun. Great

Room Tip: Living paradise for a short time is better than to not live it at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to Cabbage Key. We are happy that you enjoyed our paradise. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant

Address: Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, Bokeelia, FL 33945
Location: United States > Florida > Bokeelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bokeelia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabbage Key Inn And Restaurant Hotel Bokeelia
Cabbage Key Inn And Restaurant Florida/Bokeelia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabbage Key Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.