We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5130 NW 8th Avenue, Boca Raton, FL 33487   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Boca Raton
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not bad will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Front desk night shift were very laid back and did not want to work, 1yonge lad was trying to pick up a guest and made me wait 15 min. For change for the laundry machines while at 1 am the hotel was not busy at all. Other than that it was very clean and the breakfast was your normal per cooked and frozen, just heat up in the microwave and serve. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Little expensive for the type of hotel but then all hotels are expensive in Boca Raton
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    29
    14
    4
See reviews for
53
37
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Normally stay at the Embassy Suites across the parking lot but this time decided to save a few(8) dollars and give it a try. Other business associates were staying there as well, so I thought this would be a good time. Also, it has the Marriot name. Wow, this is like a low end hotel. It was clean, quiet and nothing really bad, just very budget-looking. The free breakfast doesn't hold a candle to the Embassy one. No made-to-order, just pre-cooked buffet items. Also, no complementary happy hour like the Embassy. That was a deal breaker for me!
I plan to meet another co-worker that did book the Embassy for breakfast tomorrow and get my omelette.
No more penny pinching for me.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Hotel, and the room was very clean. Confortable and had everything we need. The location was great, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Free wifi. Everyone there was very friendly, efficient and very knowledgeable about our question of the shopping malls. Highly recommended. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at SpringHill Suites while visiting some of the nature parks in the area. The hotel is conveniently located, although you have to be careful about where to turn in. Check-in was quick and the staff friendly and courteous. It is next to the railroad tracks, but since we were on the top floor, the trains were just background noise. That would not be a factor in my decision about staying there again.

We found our room to be comfortable and clean enough, but not overly large for a "suite." We liked having two flatscreen TVs and comfortable chairs, one of which was a sleeper chair. The one thing we don't like is the division of the bath from the sink/counter area, which was across an alcove. I would prefer to be able to wash my hands after using the toilet before having to touch the door handle. Also there are no shelves in the bathroom to put your clothes on while bathing. Having never stayed at a SpringHill Suites, we did not realize that the hairdryers are put in drawstring bags and hung in the closet area with the ironing board. Why??? That seems like a complete waste of time. Just put the dryer on the wall where it's handy.

The breakfast had the usual fare and was good. Our check-out was fast and the bill correct.

The hotel was fine for what we needed, but in the future we would probably check out others in the area. Since we had never stayed at SpringHill Suites, we thought we'd give it a try. I don't think it was necessarily worth the price we paid since the night before we had a somewhat nicer hotel for a good bit less money but overall it was a pleasant visit.

Room Tip: We were on the back side overlooking the train tracks. Since we were on the top floor, we were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillSuitesBoca, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Good day lgtfan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we truly appreciate your feedback. We are excited about our newly renovated guest rooms and forthcoming renovation of our lobby this spring! It is great to hear that the trains weren't a bother; we went to great lengths to make sure our guests wouldn't be disturbed. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made your feel comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Boca Raton in the future.

Sincerely,
John Barone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week and found it to be excellent. The staff were welcoming and the hotel was very clean throughout. Our room was comfortable if a bit on the small side, but we had everything we needed for the two of us. I think it was renovated not too long ago as the windows were such that the noise from outside was non-existent.

I have a pet peeve in hotels; when the pillows have that 'used' smell, I'm ready to leave asap. But at this Springhill, the bed linens were as fresh as if they were new and we slept like babies.
The location was fine as was breakfast-the usual Springhill breakfast which allows for some healthy choices.

Room Tip: Not sure the floor matters but we had asked to be away from the interstate and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were very happy with our room, very comfortable king size bed, the room was clean, great shower, lot's of room to walk around. The location was great, easy to get to and breakfast was a nice bonus, lot's to choose from and lot's of seating. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating was that the walls were thin and we had some very inconsiderate people staying above us who let their children slam the door and run in the hallway until midnight. I finally had to call down and complain and they did send security up right away and the noise stopped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites for almost a week while we were in town visiting family. There were some good things about this hotel, but also some problems.

Pros:
- Free WiFi that worked great.
- Flat screen TVs.
- Bed was fine.
- Shower pressure was really good.
- Location was excellent (for those looking to be on the east side of Boca), right off I-95, very close to Federal Highway.
- Free, plentiful parking.
- Complimentary breakfast (although the quality of the food was not very good).
- Free boarding pass printing in the business center.
- Pretty big mini fridge and microwave, as well as a kitchen sink.

Cons:
- The hotel is tired. The carpeting is worn, there are lots of scratches and bruises on the elevator, walls/floors, furniture, appliances, etc. When you get beyond the lobby, the vibe of the hotel is more Motel Six than Marriott.
- There was a strong cleanser odor (like a hospital or school cafeteria) in the hallway on the first floor leading to the elevators. And the floor was the industrial type that gives the place a really low-rent feel.
- The hallway leading to our room had a strong odor I can't really describe, but it wasn't pleasant.
- The towels and bedding were subpar (thin).
- There was a stain (blood or makeup) on the sheet covering the blanket.
- They call the room a suite, but it's not. There is no door to a separate room. The room is kind of big, with the bed on one side and a kitchen/desk setup on the other. But it's not unusually big, and certainly not big enough to justify being called a suite without a door. To put it in perspective, I've stayed in many hotels with rooms of the same size that didn't call the room a suite. If you need two rooms, this is not the place for you.
- Among the worst service I've ever experienced at a hotel, and if you look at my other reviews, you will see that I'm neither demanding nor someone who generally stays in especially high-end places. For example, one day when we returned to the room, despite the fact that we had put the Do Not Disturb sign out, the staff had come into the room, removed the couch and replaced it with two chairs. This is the kind of thing that should have been done before we arrived or after we left, between customers, not while one is in the room. What if we were using the couch (which was, I believe, a pull-out) as a bed? We would have been out of luck. And in making the switch, the staff didn't bother to clean up the garbage that had fallen behind the couch (not from us, but from previous guests), and they moved around our stuff as well. When I called the front desk to complain, the clerk didn't really have much of an explanation, like he was out of the loop. It seemed like most of the workers were really inexperienced and part-time (I hardly ever saw the same person twice at the front desk in a six-day visit). Another request we made (something not to do, not something we wanted done) was ignored.

The bottom line is that while this is a perfectly acceptable place to stay, it's not as nice as it should/could be, and the customer service is lacking. And it certainly is not worth the price. Next visit, we will likely be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton

Address: 5130 NW 8th Avenue, Boca Raton, FL 33487
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boca Raton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Boca Raton Hotel Boca Raton
Boca Raton Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.