We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my birthday 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 NW 19th Street, Boca Raton, FL 33431   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Boca Raton
loveland,colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“my birthday 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I enjoyed my birthday with my wonderful sister. I flew in and spent 2 days with her before going to Lakeland, Florida to see our mom. It was a beautiful place. We were very busy and did not get to enjoy the amenities but the room was very nice. We drove to see the ocean and found a nice restaurant looking out to the beach and the water. Thanks Sheila, I had a blast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaGM, General Manager at Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance for your Birthday celebration. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your positive comments about our associates. Hopefully the next time you are in the Boca Raton area you will visit with us again so you can enjoy all the wonderful amenities we have to offer.

Yours in Hospitality,

Bruce Siegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    159
    86
    33
    19
See reviews for
137
147
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I arrived at the hotel to find plenty of parking & a beautiful entrance. Swanky outdoor patio furniture, nicely lighted entrance (I arrived at night) & overall sense of checking in to a luxury boutique hotel. Once inside I was awed by the beautiful lobby. Clean design that is functional. An elegantly uniformed and properly groomed agent checked me in. Fresh green apples were on hand in a beautiful bowl for the taking. It was as if Martha Stewart herself had placed them there herself that morning.

But the buck stops there. I turned the corner to an outdated hallway and ugly elevator landing. The hallway themselves look more like that of a Howard Johnson in the 80's. The room was completely outdated, ugly, dark, not very clean and not functional. Outdated drapery that has "5" panels that don't overlap so that light comes in at 5 different intervals, old school wall A/C units that are quite noisy and blow the air in your face, a work station that has seen its day and phones that look like hey belong in Ronald Regans Limousine and not a modern day luxury hotel (Mine got stuck and became inoperative until the hotels GM explained to me how to fix the problem). My room had cables next to the wall that were popping out, a bathroom that has NO towel rack anywhere (just a hook on the door that's at the 6FT mark), and a moldy shower head. The bedding was somewhat plush. But these beds have seen there day. Prepare to wake up with back pain as the center of these beds will swallow you in like a crater. If you want to order room service, get ready to wait. As they did not have a menu in my room. The excuse ? - I was told they were printing and ran out.

The front desk staff is hit or miss. The agent that checked me in was wonderful. But the rest were terrible. The hotel hires eastern European staff that have an at times difficult to understand English. They were rude, arrogant & very nasty. I am still in shock at the attitude that I received.

I did speak to the GM of the property. She was very nice & did try to correct the situation. But she was more interested in offering me a free lunch. Then she was in truly rectifying the problem. I never got a call back, I never got any follow up and I doubt that she ever spoke to her staff or did anything about it. In fact. I was waiting to write this review in hopes that the GM would call me back to follow up. But she never did. I was very clear to her that I did no want or need a free lunch, but she insisted. What I wanted was proper coaching and feedback so that incidents like the ones that happened to me do not happen to anyone else again.

I was in Boca because a very dear relative was in the hospital in critical care. The staff knew this and still choose to treat me so poorly. These people have no heart, no courtesy and there is a reason why the hotel is so inexpensive vs. the other 4 star properties in this area.

My advise - Don't stay here. Don't be fooled by the lobby either, this is a great tale of deception once you get to your motel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaGM, General Manager at Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback and I apologize for all of the inconveniences you encountered and the inconsistency of service you should of received and desired. As the new General Manager I will personally investigate each item you mentioned and correct accordingly. I realize this does not correct what happened but hopefully shows you that Customer feedback is very important to us and will not be taken lightly. Hopefully in the future you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust in the Renaissance Boca Raton. Please call me personally to set up future renovations. Again I appreciate your feedback and detailed comments.

Yours in Hospitality,

Bruce Siegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We love this place. Only the pool bar/snack area was closed at 8:30PM (Sat Night) when we
were looking for a bite to eat outside with the ambiance. Great pool and Hot tub.
And when its open a great little pool bar with food.

Room Tip: .I've never been disappointed. We like close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaGM, General Manager at Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Boca Raton. I appreciate your positive feedback and will investigate why the Pool Bar closed early during your stay. Hopefully the next time you are in the Boca Raton area you will visit with us again so you can enjoy all the wonderful amenities we have to offer.

Yours in Hospitality,

Bruce Siegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location in Boca just around the corner from the Boca Towne Center. This is between a 3 and 4 star property as far as facility appearance and service. The beds are becoming like hammocks. Giant depression in the middle when you lay down. It is way over time for those to be replaced. The A/C units are a little noisy. The Marriot Boca Towne Center has moved up slightly above this property in appearance and comfort level although I have to say their beds are also getting non supportive from age.

Room Tip: Try to avoid by the elevators. The check in staff put us right at the elevator for unclear reason--t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaGM, General Manager at Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Boca Raton. I appreciate your comments and I will definitely share with ownership on your concerns about our bedding and prioritize this concern for our future renovation. Hopefully in the future you will visit us again so we can re-gain your 100% satisfaction. Please call me personally so I can ensure that you have a room as far away from the elevator as you requested. Once again thank-you for your both positive and corrective feedback, it is appreciated.

Yours in Hospitality,

Bruce Siegel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived and were welcomed by very pleasant staff who were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean with nice size rooms. The pool area was not real big but very nice with a pool bar to sit and relax. Liked the hotel because it was not so big but had everything you would want and was convenient to interstate and shopping area. When we visit again we will most definitely stay here

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your wonderful comments regarding our team and the hotel with other travelers on Trip Advisor. I am also thrilled when I receive feedback from our guests.

I am so glad that you found our Oasis Pool bar and pool area welcoming and relaxing. Guests have shared that they feel like they are in a resort like atmosphere in a quaint but inviting area.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to our hotel in beautiful Boca Raton.

Make it a great day!

Sincerely,

Deb Saccavino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay and was pleasantly surprised. The Lobby looks newly renovated and the furnishings were in excellent shape. Our room on the 3rd. floor also was well maintained with a striking black marble tile bath area. But it was the staff that made the difference. They all were accommodating from the check in to breakfast to check out.
I have to say there were 2 negatives. No matter how cool the room got, I still felt damp. The other was the hallway carpet was starting to show some wear. Some may consider these major but the staff still made it an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your outstanding comments regarding our team here at the hotel. We pride ourselves on our excellent guest service. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for such a wonderful stay at our hotel.

I am pleased to share that we are in the beginning stages of a rooms and corridor renovation within the next year. I do not have an exact start time as of yet but will definitely update once I know more.

Again, thank you so much for your praise of my team. Service makes the difference and that is what makes the Renaissance the preferred hotel choice for those visiting the Boca Raton area.

Make it a great day!


Deb Saccavino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were disappointed. The other Renaissance Hotel we have stayed at were new and nice. The room was tired and worn. The rug was dirty, the chair in our room was stained and torn. Not particularly clean. This hotel needs a renovation. Bed was too soft--probably old.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking time to review our hotel here on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay. The hotel is currently planning our upcoming renovations. I do not have the schedule as of yet but I will be sure to inform you when I have more information regarding this.

Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at Debra.Saccavino@BocaRenaissance.com to reserve your future reservations and I would be more than happy to keep in contact with you regarding the details of our improvements.

Thank you again for your time and I look forward to meeting you should your travels bring you back to Boca Raton.

Sincerely,

Deb Saccavino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel

Address: 2000 NW 19th Street, Boca Raton, FL 33431
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boca Raton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boca Raton
#4 Family Hotel in Boca Raton
#6 Business Hotel in Boca Raton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, a resort style, boutique Marriott hotel located in the heart of Boca Raton, FL. Steps away from Boca Town Center Mall, home to high end anchor stores and Apple. Host hotel for the 2011 Allianz Life Golf Tournament. Just a few miles from the white sandy beaches of Boca Raton, home of the International USTA Tennis Championships. Local attractions include the Morikami Japanese Gardens, Gumbo Limbo Park & Nature Center. Boca Raton is a mecca for higher education, including Florida Atlantic University (FAU), Lynn University, St. Andrews and Pine Crest Preparatory schools as well as corporate business headquarters such as Tyco, Office Depot, Oce, Jarden, GEO Group. Our Spanish Mediterranean style design and waterfall, resort style pool and tiki bar create a true South Florida experience. This Boca Raton hotel's 15,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor venue space is perfect for meetings, conferences, weddings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boca Raton
Boca Raton Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.