We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the midrange” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 N Federal Hwy, Boca Raton, FL 33431   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Boca Raton
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very good value for the midrange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Got this hotel via Priceline for a 1-nighter in May. PL grades it at 2.5 stars, which I think is about right. The pool is a nice value-adding attraction, in that they have a bar and, on the weekends, entertainment. The pool is average size, but the 104-degree jacuzzi is comparable to what you see at 3 and 3.5-star places. Many guests appreciated just being able to hang out around the pool for hours, getting drinks and food there as well.

There's a single Internet terminal in the lobby, which is nice when your budget doesn't allow for laptops, wi-fi and all that. The room was well-kept and had a strong air-con. The bed, pillows and sheets were consistent with a 2.5-star place. Standardizing a frig and a microwave is a nice touch, especially with these things likely made inexpensively in China anyway these days.

Having an 11 AM checkout is a slight ding, IMO. Noon is better.

All in all it's one of the better "value" propositions I've seen in the area. Too many "legacy" places on U.S. 1 have lazy managements that stretch out renovations, let the places get tired, but still charge "market" rates based mostly on location. So you pay too much and get too little. This one, though, appears committed to delivering value in return, and for some travelers is a worthy alternative to paying a lot more to be on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites. We would also like to thank you for filling out this honest and kind review since it is important to us and the many TripAdvisor readers. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    178
    92
    59
    41
See reviews for
180
173
89
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Babson Park, FL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The Boca Raton Plaza had clean rooms, comfy beds, and had all the ameneties we needed for our weekend getaway. The restaurant had wonderful food and there was even live entertainment out at the pool! The hotel was close to other restaurants as well. One down-side was they did not have any complimentary shuttle service to the beach or to the rail station. Another thing that was a bit unfortunate, but I realize they cannot control, was the loud screaming kid in the room next to us at 11:00 at night. I guess the walls are not soundproof and you have to realize that when you travel stuff like that does happen. One final difficulty was the a/c did not seem to cool well. The thermostat said 60 but it felt more like 80. I was wishing I could just keep the fan on to drown out the sound of the kid next door crying but that was not possible. Overall we would stay here again and would recommend to others who would like a clean, friendly hotel with a bar, restaurant, and nice location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2009
Thank you for your nice and understanding review. You're feedback is important to us and the many TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad that you're an understanding traveler and we hope to see you again soon. We always want to make sure that our guests leave satisfied. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth england
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

found our room very dank and musty, bed linen not as described on web site neither was the bathroom, couldnt wait to check out. Didn't fancy trying the pool or restaurant because of the state of the room

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plaza1richard, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites. I would also like to thank you for filling out this review since your feedback is important to us. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have a very nice property with all different kinds of amenities for guests to enjoy. We wished we could've moved you to another room if you felt the one you had was not satisfactory. Hate is a strong word.. We want all of our guests to have a pleasant experience with us. Maybe next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We booked this hotel as an alternative to expensive Fort Lauderdale and the Rough Guide to Florida painted a good picture of the town, which was true. But this hotel lets down the town. It is, as we expected, a motel and this was good because we wanted to bring in all our suitcases on our last night of a 4 week trip in order to sort them out for the flight the next day. However, our room was very tired indeed and did not appear to have been thoroughly cleaned for some time. It had a nasty feel about it. I do not like bathrooms that only have a lavatory and bath/shower in them, and then you have to come through a door before you can wash your hands, leaving all the germs on the door handle. Because of an extended happy hour, the Tiki Bar was a loud and noisy place. The web site that I booked through said that the restaurant had tablecloths and served such delicacies as red snapper. In truth it is simply a bar, with no tablecloths, serving adequate bar food which involved different specials on different nights ie every Thursday has the same specials. My chicken was perfectly tasty but when I requested a potato instead of pasta, I was told I would be charged an extra dollar. Fair enough, but a bit petty I though. Like all the hotels in Florida, I found this place to be very overpriced for what we got - in the UK we would pay half of the price - and we certainly enjoyed the standards and prices in Texas to Florida. The room had obviously not been checked thoroughly before use, otherwise the squeaking door etc would have been noticed. I reported this at reception when we left, but staff should be trained to look out for this sort of thing. There was no plug for the sink, so it would have been easy to have dropped something down there. All in all, not a pleasant experience for our last night in the US.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2009
Thank you for filling out this review. Unfortunately, everyone is different and we cannot make everyone happy. I'm sorry this guest thought we were overpriced and thus maybe the bad comments. Most of our guests enjoy our rooms, our bathrooms with a door (for privacy, not germs) , and the great food and service that you will find in the hotel bar and restaurant. The tiki bar has always been a great asset to the hotel and people do seem to enjoy it as they sit poolside. Some people think it's great and very few think it's loud or annoying. I guess that all depends if you want to enjoy the hotel amenities or just stay in your room and pack. Most reviews do mention the tiki bar and restaurant but all have been positive. Read next review. All in all, we are sorry this guest did not have a good stay and we wished we could've worked a better rate for them since that seemed to be the bigger issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

This was our second stay at the Boca Raton Plaza, and it will certainly continue to be one of our regular stops during our annual winter pilgrimage to south Florida from frosty upstate New York. Our room was comfortable and clean. Contrary to what's been said in some other reviews, we never heard any noise from the adjoining rooms. Our room was quiet, and the television worked great. We even rented a pay-per-view movie. The private balcony was a plus - what a great way to enjoy the morning sunshine. The hotel is in a great location - not far from the beach and right on Highway 1 which is a direct route to many fine restaurants north and south of the hotel. This is a great central location for many of the south Florida attractions - Fort Lauderdale/Las Olas Blvd., Palm Beach, Peanut Island, Hard Rock Casino, and, of course, Miami, which is less than an hour away. All of the staff at the hotel were friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Housekeepers Hailie and Geri were eager to help when we needed more towels. Manager Otto was friendly and cordial and made us feel welcome. We ate dinner in the on-site restaurant one night, and we weren't disappointed - the roast beef sandwich (apparently their specialty) was quite tasty and the macaroni salad was one of the best I've tasted. The pool was clean and at a perfect temperature and the surrounding area was clean. The pool-side Tiki bar was fun and convenient. Overall, this hotel is a great value and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to our friends and fellow travelers.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 9, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites. Thank you for filling out this review since your feedback is important to us and the many TripAdvisor readers. We appreciate the honest and detailed review of the hotel and surrounding area. Hope to see you for a 3rd time and many more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Our room had old polyester bedspreads, a fiberglass enclosed shower and a carpet that had not been cleaned recently. When we first entered the room we were greeted with the overwhelming smell of cheap room deodorizer. I cannot comment on the pool since we did not use it. Our strategy was to spend as little time at the hotel as possible during our two night stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2009
Sorry we couldn't meet the standards of this guest. We have designer bedspreads in every room and use the latest in dedorizing and cleaning chemicals for the comfort of our guests. We have a beautiful pool area with heated pool, spa, and poolside tiki bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. We had to pay for breakfast in their restaurant but it was good and the price was reasonable.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaRatonOtto, Manager at Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites. I would also like to thank you for taking time to fill out this review with TripAdvisor since your feedback is important to us as well as the many readers that use TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here as well as the service and food in the restaurant. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boca Raton hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boca Raton
Hilton Garden Inn Boca Raton
#2 of 26 in Boca Raton
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boca Beach Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Boca Raton Hotel
Wyndham Boca Raton Hotel
#11 of 26 in Boca Raton
4.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Waterstone Resort & Marina Boca Raton - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#7 of 26 in Boca Raton
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
3.0 mi away
Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel
Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel
#5 of 26 in Boca Raton
4.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 2901 N Federal Hwy, Boca Raton, FL 33431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boca Raton
#12 Business Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites is a lush, tropical oasis nestled in the heart of exclusive Boca Raton. Completely renovated and re-opened in 2003, the Plaza offers luxury resort exclusivity at surprisingly affordable rates. The Boca Raton Plaza Hotel & Suites is a short distance from many favorite Boca Raton and South Florida attractions and things-to-do. Florida Atlantic University and Mizner Park are ONLY 1 1/2 miles away! If your passion is world class shopping, golf, performing arts or just relaxing on a pristine beach, you will find that and much more only minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel Boca Raton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.