We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Florida Turnpike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8144 Glades Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #19 of 26 hotels in Boca Raton
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Convenient to Florida Turnpike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed overnight here on our way to Key West from Orlando. It's about what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn so there's nothing much to say except that it is a good value. A bit worn around the edges but clean and comfortable. If you're staying awhile there is a pool. And breakfast. Best feature - super close to the turnpike.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk if you prefer a balcony. We thought all the rooms had one and so didn't ask. Onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond while enjoying your Florida vacation. We believe we ARE the perfect spot for travelers headed to the Keys from areas North of here. Our location is prime for the Florida Turnpike and we do get many guests traveling in and out of the Keys. We wish you safe travels and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    22
    5
    9
See reviews for
34
13
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As in other reviews, yes the grumpy old man and woman was at the check in and the property, inside and up needs updating. Breakfast was ok.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The water in the shower was hot and the water pressure was good. That is a big plus. I have been in some very nice hotels and the water be barely warm and the water trickles out of the shower head.

The location was convenient and easy to get in and out of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We do appreciate your time and your comments. We look forward to seeing you again and until then, have the greatest of days and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for the first time in March, 2013. We paid in advance so got a good rate. The rugs and hallways need a bit of updating, but overall was in a convenient location. The staff was friendly enough. I would stay here again as the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your response. We do take pride in our hotel and we do look forward to your return visit. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had to come into Boca at the last minute, and of the hotels with decent reviews, this one had the cheapest rate.The cranky old man & woman must have been off duty; everyone at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The room & bathroom were clean. The bathroom was a bit dated and had some cracked tile. Great water pressure in the shower. Shampoo, conditioner, & lotion were provided, as well as a refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, and ironing board. The bed was comfortable and offered both soft & firm pillows (marked as such on the pillowcases). The air conditioner was noisy; I chose to leave it off for the night, but it did have other settings such as fan only.

The included breakfast was an excellent value and very substantial, including fresh coffee, eggs, cereal, yogurt, and pastries. There is a small vending area in the lobby, so you can purchase drinks, snacks, and some frozen items 24/7. There are also a computer & printer in the lobby, which you can use to print boarding passes for free. It does not work for Jet Blue, though, as we tried several times and the man at the desk ultimately confirmed he's never seen it work.

I was on the ground floor facing the parking lot, which means the sliding door opens right into the parking lot. Obviously I did not want the curtains open all the time, and when they were closed, it was a bit dark. We had reserved two of the same room, but my parents' room next door had a desk, while mine did not. If you plan to do work while at the hotel, you may have to request a room with a desk. Also, I could understand some people feeling unsafe with the sliding door opening directly onto the parking lot rather than any sort of private area.

The location was good, right at the edge of a strip mall with shops (Marshall's) and some restaurants. It was a little difficult to spot from the road, as it's next to a medical diagnostic facility and the Holiday Inn sign is not huge.

I am pretty picky with hotels, and this was fine for me for the night. I would not want to spend an extended time there, as I couldn't call it luxurious, but I would be content to book again for a brief stay.

Room Tip: Room 116 is very close to the lobby & breakfast area but sliding door opens directly onto the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. If you were traveling in the last few months you might have noticed that we were quite busy. We have rooms overlooking the pool area which are a little quieter and have no sliding doors to the outside. We take pride in the property and are always concerned with our guests responses. Our repeat customers love us and the afternoon cookies, so when we get a guest who takes the time to write a lengthy review, I will personally print and share it with the staff. Thank you again for your stay and please keep us in mind for any future hotel needs you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had to come into Fort Lauderdale for a family issue unexpectedly and since it was Spring break there were not many choices in Ft. Lauderdale. Yes the cranky old man and woman still work the front desk but they certainly are not members of the Adams Family. The rooms are clean, bathrooms same and all rooms have refrigerators. The location is ideal with many restaurants, malls and other attractions. The guests are friendly. I had a good experience here. Breakfast is free as is wifi. Not the case at the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floors 3 or 4. Ground level has a motel feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We have a great location 30 minutes North of Ft. Lauderdale and rates that are not as high ! We pride ourself in our friendly staff and next time you come into town please stop in and try the afternoon cookies. They might just make your stay even nicer. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Until a few years ago we had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Boca West, Boca Raton, Florida at least once a year, and I'd reviewed it very favorably. After a few years when circumstances led to us staying in private accommodations nearby, we returned to this property for a week, and I can continue to recommend this property as a very good choice in the western Boca Raton area.

I now rate it 4/5, not because it has dropped in quality, but because I believe standards have increased for properties in this category. (Actually, if it were available, I'd score it 4 1/2 out of 5.) The property continues to be very well maintained, and housekeeping/cleanliness continues to be excellent; so what, if anything, is missing? Well, the roomy units are still, as they were, very good, but nowadays travelers have generally increased their expectations in this level of lodging and most Holiday Inn Expresses, as well as most Hampton Inns and Fairfield Inns, as examples, seem to include an in-room refrigerator, microwave, and wired, as well as wireless, internet access, but the Holiday Inn Boca West offers only a refrigerator and only wireless internet. The refrigerator is one of the largest small refrigerators we've seen in a motel room, and while it does not include a freezer compartment, it was both quiet and effective. Only one ground floor ice machine serves the four story building, but that does make for less noise and foot traffic on floors 2-4. The HVAC in-room unit worked well and was unusually quiet, and all rooms have opening windows (or doors to balconies) which allow one to admit fresh air, which we consider a great, (and unfortunately increasingly rare,) advantage.

The breakfast is a fairly standard Holiday Inn Express offering, and the room and supplies were well-maintained.

Local and toll-free calls are free. Staff are generally pleasant and helpful, and cookies are on the reception desk each afternoon. The location is very convenient to the Glades Road exit of Florida's Turnpike and there are plenty of retail outlets and eateries close by, including some within walking distance.

If you need accommodations near this exit of the Turnpike, or even from I-95 a bit further east, or in the vicinity of West Boca, including Century Village Boca West, this would be a very choice.

On room choice, note that rooms in the two-story wing each havea terrace or balcony, but also note that this wing is not served by the elevator, unlike the four-story wing. It might be worth one flight of stairs for the pleasant balconies.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the four-story wing and on the south side of the two-story wing face away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. Everyone's time is valuable and you help to make our property more attractive. We are happy that youn have returned to stay with us and we all agree, the cookies are very tasty. Thanks again for the positve thoughts and we wish you safe travels in the future. Look forward to seeing you again....and again.....and again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

First the positive and that is I was only staying 1 night, otherwise I would have left right away.
The hotel looks like a motel from outside and not like somewhere you want to stay. When checking in I was greeted by a large male and a cranky old lady. Both grunted at me and seemed aggravated that they had to do they're job. They barely spoke just putting paper down and pointing at the signature line before handing me my keys.
Walking to my room, I was instantly caught by the damp musty smell and a dehumidifier in the hallway. The property looked very old and almost like a converted super 8.
Entering my room, the smell was worse and humidity off the chart. This was confirmed by the fact that every paper item in the room was curling up and anything that could rust or corrode had so.
Despite this, the linens and bathroom were clean, and it was late, so I decided to just suck it up.
Later that night going to the bathroom the carpet made a squelch sound and was soaking wet and a puddle around 18"s wide had appeared in the corner of the bathroom.
Other issues, the carpet was worn beyond death and was begging to been removed. The AC unit had 2 settings, on and off.

On the plus side, beds were comfortable, it was dark so I slept well and breakfast was typical of HIE. Internet was fast.

Room Tip: There is a Marriott on Military Tr, pay extra and go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West

Address: 8144 Glades Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 hotels in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton West. We offer: Free Express Start breakfast bar, Free local calls and Priority Club Rewards benefits. We are situated in west Boca Raton at the Lakeside Shopping Center. Just 2 miles from Town Center Mall and 2 miles from the Evert Tennis Academy. Only 1 block west of the Florida Turnpike. Visit Boca Raton, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West Hotel Boca Raton
Holiday Inn Boca Raton
Boca Raton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.