We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value when traveling unexpectedly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8144 Glades Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Boca Raton
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good value when traveling unexpectedly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had to come into Fort Lauderdale for a family issue unexpectedly and since it was Spring break there were not many choices in Ft. Lauderdale. Yes the cranky old man and woman still work the front desk but they certainly are not members of the Adams Family. The rooms are clean, bathrooms same and all rooms have refrigerators. The location is ideal with many restaurants, malls and other attractions. The guests are friendly. I had a good experience here. Breakfast is free as is wifi. Not the case at the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floors 3 or 4. Ground level has a motel feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We have a great location 30 minutes North of Ft. Lauderdale and rates that are not as high ! We pride ourself in our friendly staff and next time you come into town please stop in and try the afternoon cookies. They might just make your stay even nicer. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
36
16
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Until a few years ago we had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Boca West, Boca Raton, Florida at least once a year, and I'd reviewed it very favorably. After a few years when circumstances led to us staying in private accommodations nearby, we returned to this property for a week, and I can continue to recommend this property as a very good choice in the western Boca Raton area.

I now rate it 4/5, not because it has dropped in quality, but because I believe standards have increased for properties in this category. (Actually, if it were available, I'd score it 4 1/2 out of 5.) The property continues to be very well maintained, and housekeeping/cleanliness continues to be excellent; so what, if anything, is missing? Well, the roomy units are still, as they were, very good, but nowadays travelers have generally increased their expectations in this level of lodging and most Holiday Inn Expresses, as well as most Hampton Inns and Fairfield Inns, as examples, seem to include an in-room refrigerator, microwave, and wired, as well as wireless, internet access, but the Holiday Inn Boca West offers only a refrigerator and only wireless internet. The refrigerator is one of the largest small refrigerators we've seen in a motel room, and while it does not include a freezer compartment, it was both quiet and effective. Only one ground floor ice machine serves the four story building, but that does make for less noise and foot traffic on floors 2-4. The HVAC in-room unit worked well and was unusually quiet, and all rooms have opening windows (or doors to balconies) which allow one to admit fresh air, which we consider a great, (and unfortunately increasingly rare,) advantage.

The breakfast is a fairly standard Holiday Inn Express offering, and the room and supplies were well-maintained.

Local and toll-free calls are free. Staff are generally pleasant and helpful, and cookies are on the reception desk each afternoon. The location is very convenient to the Glades Road exit of Florida's Turnpike and there are plenty of retail outlets and eateries close by, including some within walking distance.

If you need accommodations near this exit of the Turnpike, or even from I-95 a bit further east, or in the vicinity of West Boca, including Century Village Boca West, this would be a very choice.

On room choice, note that rooms in the two-story wing each havea terrace or balcony, but also note that this wing is not served by the elevator, unlike the four-story wing. It might be worth one flight of stairs for the pleasant balconies.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the four-story wing and on the south side of the two-story wing face away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. Everyone's time is valuable and you help to make our property more attractive. We are happy that youn have returned to stay with us and we all agree, the cookies are very tasty. Thanks again for the positve thoughts and we wish you safe travels in the future. Look forward to seeing you again....and again.....and again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

First the positive and that is I was only staying 1 night, otherwise I would have left right away.
The hotel looks like a motel from outside and not like somewhere you want to stay. When checking in I was greeted by a large male and a cranky old lady. Both grunted at me and seemed aggravated that they had to do they're job. They barely spoke just putting paper down and pointing at the signature line before handing me my keys.
Walking to my room, I was instantly caught by the damp musty smell and a dehumidifier in the hallway. The property looked very old and almost like a converted super 8.
Entering my room, the smell was worse and humidity off the chart. This was confirmed by the fact that every paper item in the room was curling up and anything that could rust or corrode had so.
Despite this, the linens and bathroom were clean, and it was late, so I decided to just suck it up.
Later that night going to the bathroom the carpet made a squelch sound and was soaking wet and a puddle around 18"s wide had appeared in the corner of the bathroom.
Other issues, the carpet was worn beyond death and was begging to been removed. The AC unit had 2 settings, on and off.

On the plus side, beds were comfortable, it was dark so I slept well and breakfast was typical of HIE. Internet was fast.

Room Tip: There is a Marriott on Military Tr, pay extra and go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When you turn into the parking lot you thing that you must have miss the turn to Holiday Inn Express; for it doesn't resemble any other Holiday Inn Expresses. Gentlemen at the front desk needs to take lesson on how to be friendly from the lady who checked us in and the housekeepers. The decor of the room was very bland but clean. They do have an area where you can purchase a few snacks. The basket filled with peanut butter, oatmeal raisin and chocolate chip cookies that they put out late afternoon are very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. We respect our guests opinions and we value each and every one of you. So glad you like the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. Please stay with us again next time you are in our neighborhood. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I needed to be in the area and found very few hotels from which to choose. I took the LAST room, which happened to be a smoking room. I am non-smoker myself, but thought how bad could it be for only one nigh? Well, I soon found out...it was plenty bad. The room positively reeked of smoke! I awoke at 2 am, unable to return to sleep because of the offensive odor. The following day I thought I might have a cold with symptoms of runny nose and frequent sneezing bouts. But by the next day, my symptoms had completely disappeared so I attributed them to my unfortunate smoking room stay.

Had I been able to choose a non-smoking room, I would have rated the hotel higher. It was comfortable, with nice amenities and a decent breakfast. Perhaps my review will encourage the owners to make the entire hotel non-smoking in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear lizlubee,

We appreciate your feedback of our property. I am happy to read that you found our location ideal to your needs. However, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the room accommodations that you received. I appreciate you letting us know about this circumstance as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your review. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really like Holiday Inn Express. And Tay frequently in different locations.
We are platinum priority members, so expect upgrades etc.
We had booked. A king room for four nights.
There were two reservations. These were made online with priority plus.
Somehow thre nights were booked as generic room, only the last night was the king as ordered.
We complained on arrival and were told that the hotel was fully booked and we could not be given the king almost ion, but would be moved. In two days.
This occurred seamlessly. With the staff mong our luggage up a floor and settling us into the much larger and more comfortable king room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to stay with the Holiday Inn Express brand and we do appreciate your opinions as our valued guest. During season we try our best to move guests to specific rooms however there are time we are unable to do so due to availability. I'm glad we are able to take care of your particular situation in a timely manner. Please stay with us again when in teh Boca raton area. Safe travels and keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not nearly as nice as some of the Holiday Inn Express properties I've stayed at. Hotel was full (I saw them turn someone away), so we were in the older section of the hotel on the second floor. No elevator access to this section. I suspect this property barely passes the Holiday Inn Express minimum standards.

Nevertheless, good hotels are very expensive in this area, and at $162 inc. tax, I got pretty much what I expected. I would guess my room was redone over 6 years ago. It was quiet and clean enough and breakfast was fine.

If you're picky, expect to pay more than $300 for a decent room in the Ft. Lauderdale, Boca, West Palm area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to reply. We are constantly working hard to create positive guest experiences and our staff is very friendly and everyone looks forward to your next visit. We all hope you enjoyed your stay and will join the club of repeat customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West

Address: 8144 Glades Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton West. We offer: Free Express Start breakfast bar, Free local calls and Priority Club Rewards benefits. We are situated in west Boca Raton at the Lakeside Shopping Center. Just 2 miles from Town Center Mall and 2 miles from the Evert Tennis Academy. Only 1 block west of the Florida Turnpike. Visit Boca Raton, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West Hotel Boca Raton
Holiday Inn Boca Raton
Boca Raton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.