We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusion corrected!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8144 Glades Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 26 hotels in Boca Raton
Pearl River, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Confusion corrected!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really like Holiday Inn Express. And Tay frequently in different locations.
We are platinum priority members, so expect upgrades etc.
We had booked. A king room for four nights.
There were two reservations. These were made online with priority plus.
Somehow thre nights were booked as generic room, only the last night was the king as ordered.
We complained on arrival and were told that the hotel was fully booked and we could not be given the king almost ion, but would be moved. In two days.
This occurred seamlessly. With the staff mong our luggage up a floor and settling us into the much larger and more comfortable king room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to stay with the Holiday Inn Express brand and we do appreciate your opinions as our valued guest. During season we try our best to move guests to specific rooms however there are time we are unable to do so due to availability. I'm glad we are able to take care of your particular situation in a timely manner. Please stay with us again when in teh Boca raton area. Safe travels and keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
32
12
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not nearly as nice as some of the Holiday Inn Express properties I've stayed at. Hotel was full (I saw them turn someone away), so we were in the older section of the hotel on the second floor. No elevator access to this section. I suspect this property barely passes the Holiday Inn Express minimum standards.

Nevertheless, good hotels are very expensive in this area, and at $162 inc. tax, I got pretty much what I expected. I would guess my room was redone over 6 years ago. It was quiet and clean enough and breakfast was fine.

If you're picky, expect to pay more than $300 for a decent room in the Ft. Lauderdale, Boca, West Palm area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to reply. We are constantly working hard to create positive guest experiences and our staff is very friendly and everyone looks forward to your next visit. We all hope you enjoyed your stay and will join the club of repeat customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is just west of the Florida Turnpike exit on Glades Road. Super convenient to that area, and practically across the street from a Starbucks.
We had a room on the third floor in what has been called the "newer section" of the hotel. This section was actually new a long time ago, and has lost a bit of luster over the years. When I made the reservation three months in advance I requested two adjoining rooms on the fourth floor. Several times I was told that this request would be considered, but could not be guaranteed. When I checked in I got two rooms neither adjoining nor on the fourth floor. So much for their consideration.
The rooms were pretty standard. One actually had pictures on the wall over the beds. The second could easily be labeled spartan. Bathrooms were clean. There was free wi-fi very easily accessed. The breakfast was adequate but limited. The breakfast area was pleasant compared to many in similar motels.
My most serious complaint -- the beds. The matresses should have been replaced many nights ago. The sides closest to the center lamp were several inches lower than the outer sides, and the springs on the inner sides gave little support. One was forced to the outer edge of the matress (away from the light) for comfort, there to grasp the edge preventing a return to the depths.
Staff was fine. Their uniforms reminded me of bus driver from the 1960's.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Glades Road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. As a seasoned traveler, I am sure you understand hotels. We are constantly upgrading and remodeling our facility in an effort to meet our guests needs. I hope you will consider our property in the future. We are proud of our staff and are fortuneate to be located in such a vibrant part of Boca Raton. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 206, and the room was a disappointment from the very start. The first thing I saw when we opened the door was the corner of the wall in front of us had a large, badly repaired gouge in it.

Once we entered the bathroom we noticed a pube on the floor and a yellow stain looking like a drip on the outside of the tub. The shower sprayed on the floor, the sink wasn't seated properly under the counter in the bathroom, the fridge was warm, and the room was so bright from the parking lot lighting that my very sleepy toddler asked me if it was getting to be day time at eleven pm. It was also extremely noisy, not only with road noise, but hallway noise.

If we come back to this area again, we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear akmacbell,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that we were not able to deliver up to your expectations especially with the room accommodations that you were given. I understand the discomfort that this caused you and I appreciate you bringing these issues into our attention as this is our best resource of improving what we can offer.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

And that is exactly how you feel as soon as you enter this hotel. The ambience is something you have to feel for yourself. The set up of the lobby, the breakfast area make you feel so comfortable.
The staff here are extraordinary - nothing is a bother for them.
You will not, repeat, will not go wrong with your stay at this "home away from home".

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool so as to avoid any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your glowing response. The entire staff appreciates the oppurtunity to welcome our guests and make them feel at home. We have many repeat customers and it is with great honor that we get to see so many nice people from around the world. We strive to be our best and we encourage all our guests to provide feedback . Thank you again and until next time, you have yourselves a wonderful winter season and feel free to come back anytime, any day of any year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I must admit, I do not like Holiday Inn Express hotels. The quality is inconsistent. This hotel was good. The room was well appointed and updated. The bathroom was small as usual for an HI Express. The breakfast was of limited quality but the selection was good. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Top floor in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We take pride in the service we provide to all our guests and it shows. The hotel has been nicely decorated for the holidays and we look forward to seeing our repeat guests year after year. Please come again when in the South Florida area. We are a great limited service property in close proximity to most everything in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While the hotel was clean and convenient, as noted in the other reviews, I would not stay there again (unless I don't want to get any sleep). The wing we were in was ground level at the front of the hotel. There was lots of noise late at night from the parking lot outside (which the hotel staff did nothing about when we complained), in addition to the considerable traffic noise from Glades Avenue. The walls in this part of the motel must be very thin, as we heard all the "plumbing" noises from the adjacent rooms.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, get a room on the 4th floor of the back wing - do not accept a room that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond. Your opinions are very much appreciated and we do value your business. Please keep us in mind for future stays and perhaps a poolside room may be more to your liking. Safe travels and thank you again for responding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West

Address: 8144 Glades Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 hotels in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton West. We offer: Free Express Start breakfast bar, Free local calls and Priority Club Rewards benefits. We are situated in west Boca Raton at the Lakeside Shopping Center. Just 2 miles from Town Center Mall and 2 miles from the Evert Tennis Academy. Only 1 block west of the Florida Turnpike. Visit Boca Raton, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West Hotel Boca Raton
Holiday Inn Boca Raton
Boca Raton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.