We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room substandard, front desk staff not helpful to resolve problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8144 Glades Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Boca Raton
1 review
“Room substandard, front desk staff not helpful to resolve problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 206, and the room was a disappointment from the very start. The first thing I saw when we opened the door was the corner of the wall in front of us had a large, badly repaired gouge in it.

Once we entered the bathroom we noticed a pube on the floor and a yellow stain looking like a drip on the outside of the tub. The shower sprayed on the floor, the sink wasn't seated properly under the counter in the bathroom, the fridge was warm, and the room was so bright from the parking lot lighting that my very sleepy toddler asked me if it was getting to be day time at eleven pm. It was also extremely noisy, not only with road noise, but hallway noise.

If we come back to this area again, we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear akmacbell,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that we were not able to deliver up to your expectations especially with the room accommodations that you were given. I understand the discomfort that this caused you and I appreciate you bringing these issues into our attention as this is our best resource of improving what we can offer.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
14
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

And that is exactly how you feel as soon as you enter this hotel. The ambience is something you have to feel for yourself. The set up of the lobby, the breakfast area make you feel so comfortable.
The staff here are extraordinary - nothing is a bother for them.
You will not, repeat, will not go wrong with your stay at this "home away from home".

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool so as to avoid any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your glowing response. The entire staff appreciates the oppurtunity to welcome our guests and make them feel at home. We have many repeat customers and it is with great honor that we get to see so many nice people from around the world. We strive to be our best and we encourage all our guests to provide feedback . Thank you again and until next time, you have yourselves a wonderful winter season and feel free to come back anytime, any day of any year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I must admit, I do not like Holiday Inn Express hotels. The quality is inconsistent. This hotel was good. The room was well appointed and updated. The bathroom was small as usual for an HI Express. The breakfast was of limited quality but the selection was good. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Top floor in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We take pride in the service we provide to all our guests and it shows. The hotel has been nicely decorated for the holidays and we look forward to seeing our repeat guests year after year. Please come again when in the South Florida area. We are a great limited service property in close proximity to most everything in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While the hotel was clean and convenient, as noted in the other reviews, I would not stay there again (unless I don't want to get any sleep). The wing we were in was ground level at the front of the hotel. There was lots of noise late at night from the parking lot outside (which the hotel staff did nothing about when we complained), in addition to the considerable traffic noise from Glades Avenue. The walls in this part of the motel must be very thin, as we heard all the "plumbing" noises from the adjacent rooms.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, get a room on the 4th floor of the back wing - do not accept a room that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond. Your opinions are very much appreciated and we do value your business. Please keep us in mind for future stays and perhaps a poolside room may be more to your liking. Safe travels and thank you again for responding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Overall this was a fairly typical Holiday Inn Express, but somewhat run down and ready for refurbishing. My bathroom had moldy peeling wallpaper (approx 1 square foot was dangling and the back of it was black). It is a convenient location, with a pleasant lobby, decent beds and basic breakfast. The linens and towels were good. The toiletries were very basic but did the job. If it weren't for the wallpaper issue I would have rated this as a "4" or an average Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very good stay. Right off exit 75 Turnpike. They honored a coupon from one of the magazines you get at the Turnpike's rest stop, and I ended up paying $69 a nite ($75 with tax). Super clean. Friendly front desk attendant. Safe area. Has a shopping center right next door, including a supernarket and a Marshalls and a Burger King right across. They are doing some kind remodeling though. However at the room I stayed (103, first floor), I did not hear any noise. The breakfast was great! Loved the variety, and very well presented, (6:30 to 10:30).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
So glad you took advantage of our listing in the coupon book. We are located in a great spot and do appreciate our guests taking the time to respond. Our staff is very loyal and takes the time to get to know our guests. Chances are they will remember you next time you stay with us. In the meantime, have a great day and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have a fantastic time here! The room is clean and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed for a night but the room was in such a great location that we decided that extend our stay a couple more nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. We are very proud of our staff and our location makes us the perfect spot to visitors to the area. Travel safely and please keep us in mind for future visits tto the South Florida area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West

Address: 8144 Glades Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton West. We offer: Free Express Start breakfast bar, Free local calls and Priority Club Rewards benefits. We are situated in west Boca Raton at the Lakeside Shopping Center. Just 2 miles from Town Center Mall and 2 miles from the Evert Tennis Academy. Only 1 block west of the Florida Turnpike. Visit Boca Raton, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West Hotel Boca Raton
Holiday Inn Boca Raton
Boca Raton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.