We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Dining with Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chops Lobster Bar

Chops Lobster Bar
101 Plaza Real South, Boca Raton, FL 33427
561-395-2675
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chops Lobster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 683 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chops Lobster Bar in Royal Palm Place is a true destination, offering Boca Raton’s best quality USDA Prime meats and a wide selection of pristine seafood. It boasts two levels: Chops, a luxe steakhouse setting, and Lobster Bar, a chic seafood bar with mosaic tile and extensive raw bar. The hip bar features live music and an extensive, award-winning wine list.
East Hampton. NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lively Dining with Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We dined here twice and enjoyed the Oyster Bar inspired decor and the open kitchen. The steak, lamb and seafood were all well prepared. It can be hectic and lively on a busy night, but the staff does its best and is very pleasant. It is an enjoyable, fun experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    40
    27
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Chops Not Tops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

An average meal at best. Like many restaurants in Boca this place provides average food in nice surroundings. The service is friendly, professional but they can't be as attentive as they should be because they are serving so many tables. The $49 three course meal sounded like such a good deal and had lots of choices we would enjoy that we ordered it. My gatzpacho soup was pretty good, but my husbands shrimp and crab appetizer was a joke. Two little skinny shrimp and a couple of tablespoons of crab meat on a huge plate looked ridiculous and didn't taste great. We both had the surf and turf (filet and lobster tail). It was enough food, tasted ok. I, like other diners, had to send my steak back as it had been over cooked. The dessert was good. We thought that Chops was going to be one of our best meals (unrushed, fine dining). It wasn't. We won't be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Grand Central in Boca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Visiting from New York, I was immediately struck by the Gustovino ceiling (re Oyster Bar) in the main dining room. This architectural detail was beatifully carried out throughout the venue, accented by the magnificent lighting fixtures. The television above the bar was unnecessary.
The food and service was excellent. We had the $49 price fixed menu (Sunday - Thursday) which was a welcome surprise. My companion had the same food, which cost more, at other times. The crab and shrimp appetizer (with two sauces) tasted like the fish had just come out of the sea. The fillet mignon was delicious, accompanied by two sides of crispy sweet potatoe fries and corn, one for each of us, and shared. The chocolate and ice cream desert should not be missed. There was a higher noise level as the restaurant became more crowded, but this only detracted a bit from what was a very memorable and delicious evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, good service but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Boys night out was a treat last night. We made a reservation at Chops. Everything was first class, the food and the service. The place could use some acoustic tiles as the volume of the discussion at the tables increases with time. Their 49$ menu including appetizer, main and dessert is good value. The Onion Soup is as good as I had anywhere except in Lyon France, the steak was done as ordered and was very tasty, the dessert was to die for-hot chocolate cake with a small scoop of ice cream to cut the richness of the chocolate. One of our group had the cheesecake. The portion was huge. The only downside occurred at the end of the meal when the bill arrived the server informed us that there was an 18% gratuity added because we were 5 people. That was fine and we probably would have added more had he not then said increasing the tip is appreciated. This remark was and is very unprofessional.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Happy Valentines dinner !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My carnivore brother said he had the best steak dinner in years here. We celebrated valentine day with a family dinner. I had french onion soup. Excellent, and not salty. Others had a chopped salad, caesar salad, and spinach salad. All raved about them.
For main courses we had new york, and filet cuts. As recommended , the steaks were perfect. Sides of mac and cheese and truffle drizzled fries also very good.
Service was prompt and courteous. We will return forsure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chops Lobster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chops Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chops Lobster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.