We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the city, but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
225 N.E. Mizner Boulevard, Suite 100, Boca Raton, FL 33432
(561) 392-6746
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 693 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N.E. 2nd Street
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“One of the best in the city, but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have been to Ruth's Chris steakhouses all over the country, and they are all very expensive and rather pretentious, but are also very good. Most of them have excellent service and meals, and perfectly done steaks. The one in Boca, however, appears to suffer from the tourist season blues, as it compromises a bit on quality. We have relatives who winter in Boca, so have been there almost yearly. This year, however, there appeared to be less attention to the doneness of the very expensive steaks. In our party of 7, all degrees of doneness were ordered, and few came out correctly. I ordered rare, and mine was. Another ordered medium rare, and it was medium. Another didn't like rare, so ordered medium, and it was as rare as mine. With everything a la carte, it ends up being a very, very expensive meal. Glasses of house wine are $11 each, and vegetables aren't the large sharable sizes from the past. For our table of 7, the tab was close to $1000, so not having the steaks done perfectly to order is pretty inexcusable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I invited two friends to join me for dinner at Ruth's Chris in Boca Raton. As always, the service was excellent and the food perfectly prepared. I can only think of two things I don't like about Ruth's Chris - it's a chain and there are seldom surprises on the menu.

That said, the location in Boca Raton, Florida meets or exceeds Ruth's high standards. If you been to a Ruth's Chris before, you know what to expect - first-class service and excellent steaks, appetizers and sides. My New York Strip (Pittsburgh style) was prepared perfectly and the peppercorn sauce was delicious. My friends' filet and porterhouse were also just right and they thought the bernaise sauce was among the best they had ever had. We tried a Caesar salad (very good), lobster bisque (outstanding) and jumbo shrimp cocktail (excellent).

For sides we shared the creamy spinach and au gratin potatoes - both were very good and the portion size was more than enough for three.

We chose the house Merlot rather than trying to pick from the extensive wine list and were not disappointed.

You're always going to pay more, but I always have felt it was worth it. The Boca Raton location would make Ruth proud. They're doing a great job of replicating the level of service and food she demanded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nearly always consistent..but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went to the Boca location to celebrate my mothers 80th birthday. Service a a bit slow but overall, we were all satisfied. I was a bit disappointed with my NY Sirloin as it lacked taste and wasn't as tender as I've experienced in the past. RC is still by far one of my favorite steakhouses.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nothing compares if you like steak!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great food, and ambience.
A bit pricey; nice for a celebration.
Enjoyed the atmosphere and all the attendants.
Prefer to reserve this as a place to REALLY TREAT !!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CHRISTmas was never better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My son invited us for dinner with his girl friend. The meal could not have been better. The steak I had was full of flavor, cooked to perfection, and as tender as could be. I can't wait till he invites us for dinner again. It was great 5Star

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.