We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ke'e Grill

Ke'e Grill
17940 Military Trl, Suite 700, Boca Raton, FL 33496-2499
(561) 995-5044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 695 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“just go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

the clientele is old-school Boca, so not the hippest room in south florida -- but the staff is excellent, and when you've had poor inattentive service you appreciate the difference. Food is also top-knotch -- well worth it

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    49
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome food no matter what you order”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food is awesome no matter what you order. Attention to detail (presentation) is not dropped no matter how busy they get. Reservations are a must or you will wait, along with many others. Service is excellent though less attentive when they are crowded, which is understandable.
Expect very large portions in appetizers, salad (enough for two) and main course which you will take home if you ordered the apps or salad. It's focus is on seafood so I can't attest for the meats or chicken dishes, but i feel confident they do a great job there as well. I've been there several times with groups of six or seven and everyone wants to go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always busy, always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We're six-month "snowbirds" and dining out is part of what one does down here. We try to visit Kee Grill two or three times during the season and are always rewarded by excellent food and good service. It is a "tough ticket" during the height of the winter season in that one must call a week or so in advance for a prime time reservation. "Prime time" runs from about 6:30 on. Prior to that, the place is jammed with early diners, taking advantage of their lower priced promotion.

We have never been there when the place wasn't full, yet the noise level is quite tolerable because I won;t go to restaurant, no matter how good the food if you feel that you are in the middle of an auto body shop.

The menu is primarily seafood-loads of fresh fish dishes and crab cakes, prepared two different ways, that are the best I've ever eaten in Florida. In fact, one can do quite nicely with the appetizer size. The full dinner, with two crab cakes is a bit much because they are so flavorful (not overspiced) and a lot to eat. Entrees come with two sides, a specialty being a small casserole of creamed spinach.

Service is efficient, but not brusque and the servers know their stuff and will do their best to accommodate special needs. We have a frequent diner friend who is allergic to dairy products and she has been helped with food prep descriptions and special preparations several times.

There are a lot of restaurants in the Boca Raton area. Some have excellent food but are as noisy as a subway tunnel. Some are so dark that you have to slide the table candle over to read the menu. Some have wait staff that make you feel as if they are doing you a favor by coming to your table.

Kee Grill is none of these. It's just a damn good restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Always great taste and vale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed scallops, sweet mashed potatoes, creamed spinach and Cesar salad. Other guest had maple mustard salmon. Garlic rolls as well. Food was very tasty and served hot and promptly. Waiter was professional. Ambience is fine. Only negative comment is that courses are served a bit too rapidly. Early bird price is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fish as fresh as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Found this place via Frommers, but was concerned both about location (in a strip mall) and some of the reviews we saw. Tried it anyway, and while I can understand the negative comments about turning tables and not respecting reservation times, we had a wonderful evening.
Location: yes, it is in a (small) strip mall, not in "downtown". That makes for easy parking, and once inside, the strip mall is completely forgotten.
Décor, ambiance, etc: a large room, with a mellow pseudo-tropical vibe (the name, Ke'e is from one of the Hawaiian islands). We we seated in a u-shaped booth, but there are also round tables seating anything from 4 to 10. Lots of multi-generational dining all around us, but some younger couples as well. (We were there between Christmas and New Year's on a Sunday evening.) Noise-level was a pleasant change from places in Delray Beach - the place was full, buzzing and "happy" but you could have a conversation without shouting, and you didn't have to listen to the neighboring table either. The way a restaurant should be, in my h. opinion!
Wait: we did have to wait about 10-15 minutes past our reservation time (6:30). We had a drink at the bar (few folks seem to be choosing this option as the long bar was mostly empty) and got tips about what to eat from the bartender, who had been working there for 9 years. A much more pleasant experience than a previous evening in Delray Beach where the wait was more like 30 mins, the noise off the charts, and no space to sit at the bar.
Food: absolutely the freshest seafood (we had clams to start, then grouper and snapper), cooked to perfection. The menu doesn't change - and the specials weren't that exciting (although a 16 oz veal chop isn't to be sneezed at!). So, it isn't the "chef-driven" (for lack of a better term) kind of place that my husband and I often prefer. But my oh my everything is extremely tasty and perfectly cooked. The onion covered yellowtail and sweet potato crusted grouper were outstanding.
Service: While I can understand how some diners can feel that they are being "rushed" to turn tables, we did not experience this at all. Our appetizer in fact took quite a bit of time to appear - and the waiter apologized for the delay. Indeed, it is clear that the restaurant is extremely well run, and the wait staff, whether "veterans" or "youngsters" knows exactly what to do. We never felt rushed to finish, and indeed we watched a table of 6 next to us sit and talk for some time after their food had been cleared, with no pressure from the waitstaff. (Perhaps those who complain are all eating the earlybird special?)
Prices: in line with S. Florida. So, not cheap, but not the highest prices we saw either.
Wine: The one "low point" of the evening. The wine list is full of inexpensive wines (our everyday drinking choices in fact!) that have been marked up to a considerable degree. I am sure they know their clientele, and so "safe" names are the way to go, but it is unfortunate they don't have anything more interesting, or at a more interesting price point.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ke'e Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ke'e Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ke'e Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.