We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovenella - CLOSED

499 South Federal Highway, Boca Raton, FL 33432 (Formerly Ocean's 11)
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 5th Street
Transit: Yes, nearby on Federal Highway.
Description: Recently renovated, Ovenella has modern but comfortable booths and tables. A medium size bar separates two dining rooms for ample seating and privacy. The Open kitchen has a large glass window to keep noise at a minimum, but shows off the beauty of the coal fire oven. Outdoor seating is available and renovations to include a cover are coming soon.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We meet at Ovenella once a week for happy hour. Food is always outstanding and the staff is friendly and efficient. Our group may be as small as 4 people and as many as 16 people. The management is always accomodating and eager to please. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Such a good surprise. Unpretentious from outside but a very pleasant atmosphere after you walk in. I had a short ribs with mushrooms and truffle risotto and it was fantastic. Excellent draft beers selection as well. They even have Magic Hat from Vermont, one of my favorite beers. I will certainly stop by again and try their pizza next time...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food but sometimes you have to call them out on all the little things”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had lunch here last year and decided to come back for dinner on a cold evening. Very good food. Pea soup with ham excellent, mussel appetizer perfect, rigatoni pasta delicious and special seafood pizza good. But food is not the only thing. We arrived early with a 6:15 pm. reservation, the place was empty and were seated at a 2 topper by the door to the patio. During dinner we were blasted with over 50 bursts of cold wind from waiters coming through the patio doors. The manager/owner told us as we paid the bill that it was a poor location for a table and acknowledged the constant bursts of cold air. During the entire time there was always an open 2 topper where we could have been seated. Why would a hostess not be trained to use this table last? Instead she gave it to the first diners of the evening, right in front of the manager who knew about the problem. When we enquired about happy hour and were informed that it was only available at the bar went ahead and ordered (gigantic watered down) cocktails. Two ladies were seated directly behind us who immediately asked the manager about happy hour and he said it was at the bar only but said he could get it no problem for them. We enquired again about it and after much fluff and flux from the waitress and 'special permission' from the manager we received our second happy hour round of cocktails. (They were not watered down like the first ones. Seems like the bartender used a cocktail shaker for the first round with melted ice in the shaker - sloppy. He would immediately have known they were watered down as they came full to the brim but didn't seem to care.) Then later were informed that they always really honor the happy hour at the tables until 7 pm. (We arrived at 6:15). Why all the hassle in the first place? Also I do not like to be able to view the kitchen area and see four chefs working, one with a baseball hat on backwards and the other three with nothing covering their hair. In fact the chef or sous chef was working with a mustache and long hair directly over the plating. Another one licked his forefinger for whatever reason. Gross. We definately got the notion that the staff was not particularly organized or trained. We had a total of 6 different people attend to our table. Everybody seemed busy running around doing whatever. The manager/owner barked orders to all of them until the place started filling up at 7pm. The food overall was very good but we left feeling we had just eaten in the middle of the frigid arctic gold rush in the mess tent. Word to the owner, if your customers can see open food sanitation violations in the open kitchen, what other violations exist? Please get your act together management!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Helpful? 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tries hard but misses the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am very conflicted about this restaurant. It deserves a lot of credit for trying to elevate itself above the pack of Boca ho-hum Italians. The menu is packed with ambitious (but sometimes overreaching) creations, and there are winners among the pastas and pizzas. But I am ambivalent about the service and the ambience. The servers are friendly enough, but they should not be trying to "upsell" so much. The decor almost tries too hard to be hip, and the extremely casual vibe does not seem to match the sophistication of the food. Overall, I would have to put this restaurant in the "disappointing" category.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One hour and 20 minute wait to get dinner served!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After reading reviews on this restaurant we decided to try it and found that the food was generally very good, especially the meatball appetizer stuffed with cheese. The swordfish was very good and the beet salad was exceptional. The veal marsala was not as tender as one would like but the sauce on it as well as the spaghettini was very good.

That's the good part. The bad part was service. It took more than an hour and 20 minutes to get our dinner when it was ordered. During that time our waitress never came to the table to see if we needed more water or drinks, which our glasses were empy. There were busboys but none came around to check water or anything. Our waitress did come once around 50 minutes after our order was placed and indicated the kitchen was backed up even though by this time the restaurant was only half full around 9:00. Even then we waited another 40 minutes notwithstanding her assertion at the 50 minute mark that our food was just about out. So hopefully this was an exception to their service. They need a lot of improvement on service!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Helpful? 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ovenella also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovenella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.