We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Artworks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Museum of Art

Boca Museum of Art
501 Plaza Real, Mizner Park, Boca Raton, FL 33432
+1 561-392-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Attractions in Boca Raton
Type: Educational Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Boca Museum of Art celebrates, presents, interprets, collects, preserves, encourages, and inspires creativity.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Artworks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you love museums and artwork, this place has quality art done by both professionals and locals. I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and the refreshing change of art from space to space, hence, boredom did not set in as it would if you were looking at repetitious art. Nice place to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    21
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We like to take out of town guests to see this great little museum. Very nicely done and a pleasure to visit. The parking is easy and a lunch in the plaza makes for a pleasant day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
519 reviews 519 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Marvelous, Welcoming Local Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Delightful and creative temporary exhibits enliven a broad-guaged permanent collection, Nice gift shop, easy parking, a delightful couple of hours whenever you want near Mizner Park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Maybe it's just that I haven't been to an art museum before, but I found myself asking repeatedly, "THIS is art??" Granted, upstairs, there are some beautiful oil paintings that are masterpieces. BUT...across from those are some very odd pieces of art, if you want to call them that. One display looked like a bunch of black Ikea boxes that were stacked in a pyramid. another was an orange canvas about 8 feet tall, and on the canvas was a round circle, and several black lines coming from it. That's it. Another, on the wall nearby, looked like just the lid of an old wooden casket that you might see in an old dracula movie. It was painted a solid color, and that's it. A casket lid looking piece of wood on the wall. I fully expected to walk into one of the exhibit spaces and just see a pair of shoes under glass and someone calling it art. I just don't get it the attraction, I suppose.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A cute museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was a nice museum to visit on our trip. The modern art was pretty cool and while we were there they had a competition of local artists so it was cool to see people from the area and they art that they created.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Boca Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.