We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure along with art” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Museum of Art

Boca Museum of Art
501 Plaza Real, Mizner Park, Boca Raton, FL 33432
+1 561-392-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Attractions in Boca Raton
Type: Educational Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Boca Museum of Art celebrates, presents, interprets, collects, preserves, encourages, and inspires creativity.
San Salvador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasure along with art”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As out of town visitors, we had to pay $10.00 per person which you would pay gladly if what you get in return is worth that amount. We recognize the effort of the city of Boca Ratón to have an Art Museum which in itself, kind of "erases" the feeling of havin overpaid fo access. We considered that the "balance" of the material presented would improve if they would carry a bit more of traditional art (oils on cancas of more artists and not just a very few as it was the case in this visit). THe installations were very nice and that is why we believe that it is a great opportunity to optimize them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    21
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice art museum -- small size makes it easy to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

On our most recent trip, we saw a fabulous exhibit here on the history of video games -- very well set up, nice space to see it. We've been here other times, as well -- nice permanent exhibit here, and its smaller size makes it more consumable than larger art museums.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“What a nice museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I visited the Boca Raton Museum of Art during a Christmas trip to Boca Raton. I am delighted to report that it is a charming and well-appointed museum, with good permanent exhibits and (while I was visiting) two nice traveling exhibits from the Smithsonian. One was the art -- and history -- of the video game. Enthusiastic and helpful volunteers let visitors play with the games. If you are of a "certain age" you will feel really old, remembering when some of these games were under your Christmas tree, and now they are museum pieces - ha! Another exhibit was quilts - but before you yawn over this, these are quilts with a message -- freedom from slavery, quilts that celebrate certain events, etc. Very nice display and each one is well documented.

The museum itself is contemporary in nature and includes a lovely sculpture garden -- don't miss it! The gift shop is just so-so -- I would like to see a few more original items and less souvenir-type stuff.

It is located in a busy shopping center -- Mizner Park. Lots of places to eat there, and lots of upscale shopping.

Be sure to look at the collection of various paintings and drawings given to the museum by a local couple. The collected for YEARS and must have had art hanging in their basement, bathrooms, and garage -- Picasso, Miro, wow -- a varied and extensive collection. Nice to see all of that in one place!

If you have a membership at your local museum, show your card upon entry to this one. I happen to have a North American Reciprocal sticker on my membership card and got in free!

A nice place to get a good culture fix.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very dissatisfied”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Very dingy. Not very many toys and the ones they had weren't very interesting. We lasted about 15 minutes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not my favorite museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The exhibits are so poor, I just don't want to waste my time and money going there. So many things you could do but you don't, very dissapointing ...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Boca Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.