We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun visit, great animals, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Limbo Nature Center

Gumbo Limbo Nature Center
1801 North Ocean Blvd, Boca Raton, FL 33432
+1 561-544-8605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 67 things to do in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: View sharks, native fish, and other local marinelife in four outdoor sea tanks ! Take a stroll through the butterfly garden, walk through the hardwood hammock along a boardwalk, and climb a 40 foot tower for a spectacular panoramic view! Stop in our nature-themed gift shop for imaginative and environmentally friendly gifts. This 20 acre coastal preserve is an experience you can't miss!
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun visit, great animals, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a great time! We were lucky to find that we had arrived minutes before feeding time in the huge tanks, so all the creatures were extremely active! Also, the staff people were available, knowledgeable, friendly, and happy to chat with us. We learned a lot about all the animals there, the local wildlife, and the turtle rescue operations.

The highlight, after the sea turtles: the huge and creepy moray eel Mortimer. Try to get there at feeding time so you can watch him move!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    164
    33
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Free and fun for the whole family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A trip to Gumbo Limbo is a must every time I visit South Florida. A little gen in Boca Raton very close to beaches and shopping too! Make sure you dress for the outdoors as most of this experience is walking outside. There is no formal fee, but this place runs entirely from donations, so anything helps. All the volunteers here are very helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife. On my last visit a sea turtle was brought in that had a fishing hook stuck in it. we were able to see the turtle up close and watched the removal!!

A must see if you enjoy the ocean wildlife of South Florida!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Educational and Thought Provoking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Gumbo Limbo was an interesting place where we met large sea turtles who were being rehabbed. We saw a large variety of sea life in mock habitats. The workers explained how and why the sealife was at the center. There was good information about trash and the life expectancy of each type. Made a thoughtful experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nature Center is Growing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Gumbo Limbo Nature Center is growing. The butterfly garden trail is great. The temperature was cool for the butterflies when I was there so I only saw a couple of butterflies. But on a warm day you would probably see many. The sandy beach for kids to play on looks fun too. If you need a place to sit in the shade the tiki hut is available but no picnics allowed! The rescued turtles are looking healthy but the tanks seem a small for such huge loggerheads. The reef tanks are awesome and saw lots of fish from the area. The nature center takes donations and be mindful that they close early 4:00 PM. A fun place to visit if you are in the area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a couple hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is nothing fancy, but is a good place to go for a couple of hours. We went during the holidays, so it was quite busy. They have a decent amount of parking, but it was very full. No charge for parking. People park in the grass along the road if spots are full, and they don't seem to have a problem with that.

There is a small nature center with a few creatures (snake, large hermit crab, etc.), as well as an interesting bird identification game. They have a little corner with a bunch of butterfly specimens. Those dead butterflies give me the creeps, but they are pretty. There is not an admission fee, but they do have a "suggested donation" of $5 per person, I guess. I think that some people pay, and some do not.

We walked along the boardwalk, which goes around in a circle. It took longer than expected. We saw some interesting trees, but no animals. Well, there were some pretty big spiders hanging out in their webs along the walk. They have a wooden tower/lookout point you can climb up, where you get a view of the bay side, as well as a bit of view of the ocean. There is a place where the boardwalk goes out into a parking lot that is along a large canal area. There were people fishing there. The parking lot is not a part of Gumbo LImbo; rather it's part of a Boca Park. I was told that, when the tide is high, you can see manatee in the waters along here. When we wound up here, we realized that we were across the street from Red Reef beach, so we walked across the street, and over the boardwalk there, and checked out the beach briefly. It's a lovely beach, by the way.

We headed back to the boardwalk and finished our walk. Then, we enjoyed the pavilion covered open tanks. There were several types of creatures in the tanks, and the volunteer there was very friendly and helpful. You can view them from the top, as well as from the windows down below. My children and the adults alike really enjoyed looking at them. There is some type of baby sea turtle research facility on the grounds. They have these big tubs with little baskets in them, with a turtle in each basket. I think that they get the turtles when they are hatched on the sand, and then try to increase their likelihood of survival by keeping them here for a while. The turtles are SO cute! You watch them from above.

We did not venture into the butterfly garden area. There is also an area for rescued sea turtles. There were a few there, and they are in big tubs with a window on the side so you can see them. They have information about the turtle beside the tub. It's a good lesson for children about taking care of living creatures here.

The place is fairly small, and it's not super fancy. However, it is very clean and the people who are visiting it are having an obviously good time. It isn't expensive, so it's a very nice place to visit with the kids for a couple of hours. So many places you go to charge a lot to enter, so this is a nice change. You and the kids can see and learn a lot here and can have a nice morning or afternoon. Afterward, go to one of the beaches with a picnic lunch in the cooler (the parking across from Red Reef charges $2 or $2.50 an hours for parking) and spend some time snorkeling. We didn't do that today, but I'd recommend it. Makes for a GREAT day!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Limbo Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Limbo Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Limbo Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.