We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ribs ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mississippi Sweets

Mississippi Sweets
2399 N Federal Hwy, Boca Raton, FL 33431-7768
(561) 394-6779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 682 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Redding, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Ribs ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Have been going to this barbacue resturant for years. Consistently excellent service and outstanding ribs and pulled pork. It is usually very busy so takeout is a good option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    38
    17
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I put away more than 2 full racks of the baby back ribs and probably could've eaten more (I'm just glad the rest of my family didn't finish their racks so I was able to eat so much). My wife who never eats ribs ate a half rack and a bbq chicken breast and she loved it. If even she is enjoying bbq (especially ribs) then they're doing something right because she usually won't eat anything besides bbq chicken. The baked beans side are some of the best baked beans I've ever eaten. Our server seemed like she was in a bit of a rush, but the food more than made up for it. She wasn't nasty or rude, it just looked like she would've rather been elsewhere. Service in the past has been good though so I'm not deducting any points for that and generally when I write a review about a restaurant it's about the quality of the food unless the service or time it takes to get the food is so bad that the quality is outshined by the bad. They don't serve St. Louis style ribs which is fine by me, I'll eat any kind of ribs. You will generally have a wait to be seated, but the food is worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“don't miss the "sweets"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We eat here everytime we are in South Florida and every person we've ever taken here loves it as much as we do. Ribs, chicken, wings...all delicious. The BEST sweet potato chips ever and great applesauce, too. Somehow, we never have room for dessert. The people who work here are always friendly and although there is often a wait for a table, it's well worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“finger lickin' good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is about our 8th time eating here. When we come to visit our son, this is a great place to take a few of his friends to dinner w/o breaking the bank. great wings ( mild,medium or hot) as appitizer
( basket of 20 was $19.95). Their chicken dishes are very good. They have a variety of sauces to dip from mild to hot & some w/ a mustard base which is my favorite. Their ribs are meaty & finger lickin' good. You have choice of 2 of five sides w/ dinners. they make a sweetened ice tea & a full bar. They have a lot of great sounding deserts but have always stuck w/ the key lime pie. Dinner for 8 was $170.00

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very good but inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

the place is always crowded, and the tables are squeezed together but the food is plentiful, generally very good, and reasonably priced. The ribs are not for everyone; they are the smallish Canadian back ribs and, depending on the night, the ribs can be cooked perfectly or overcooked and end up dry with burnt ends. I suggest you ask for them cooked without any sauce to limit their time on the grill. BBQ chicken was tasty and wings were outstanding. Pace of service is hectic with a goal of turning the tables as quickly as possible.

Generally a 30/40 minute wait and don't even think about going with a group larger than four. Parking lot can be a free for all with only one entrance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Sweets also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Sweets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mississippi Sweets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.