We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Houston's

Houston's
1900 NW Executive Ctr Cir, Boca Raton, FL 33431-7300
+1 561-998-0550
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 624 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Houston's has all the typical characteristics of a Boca restaurant: busy, noisy, average food, good service. Make reservations if you're going as wait times can be quite long. The menu is not extensive, but there is enough choice. If you're thinking Houston's is a fine steak house where you will enjoy a slow, high end meal you will be disappointed. The limited menu and the fast service ensures a quick turn of the table. The food is okay, nothing special. We had to ask for bread, it doesn't come to the table otherwise. I ordered salmon and it was good. When I asked about sides I was told it came with brussel sprouts. I ordered a baked potato a la carte. When the salmon arrived it came with mashed potatoes. When I mentioned to the waitress that I would never have ordered the baked potato had I known that mashed potatoes came with the meal she explained to me that the mashed potatoes are considered a garnish ( a garnish?). Anyway, they took it off the bill. The brussel sprouts were undercooked (very hard). My husband ordered a steak and it was good. Key lime pie for dessert was huge (great for sharing) and tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    105
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not stellar this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We love to eat at Houston's but today it wasn't up to par. Grilled artichoke was undercooked but still okay. Trout was undercooked. Brussel sprouts almost raw. Waiter was not attentive or responsive--we tried to engage him to no avail. Very surprising--we normally have a fabulous meal and wonderful service here. Disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Too pricey for what we got”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Houston's charges way too much for their average food. the service was great but the food was just mediocre.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Love the atmosphere and the food! If you like the skinny shoestring-type fries, they are excellent! Ordered the plain hamburg patty (trying to cut calories) and it was not as expected. However my friend thoroughly enjoyed her salad.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“We never miss Houston's while in FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

As always, our most recent visit to Houston's did not disappoint. We look forward to dining here every time we are in town. Houston's has the BEST ribs of any restaurant I've dined at, including it's sister restaurant, the Palm Beach Grill.

The ribs are perfectly cooked, tender and falling off the bone, with just a slight "char" from the grill (not blackened by any means). The BBQ sauce is delicious and they will gladly bring you additional sauce upon your request. The loaded baked potato side dish is very large and very flavorful. Don't miss the 5 nut brownie a la mode for dessert. Even if you think you don't have room, you'll find it when you see this dessert!

The service is always excellent and we've been told by more than one server that it is due to their extensive training program. It is very nice not to have to ask for refills, or flag your server down from across the restaurant, however they are not intrusive and allow you to enjoy your meal.

Highly recommend Houston's, especially for the ribs. Make a reservation if you prefer to avoid waiting upwards of an hour. It has never been anything but busy, even during the week, in all the times I've dined there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.